We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit for a King!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabra Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cabra Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Cabra Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Kingscourt | Co Cavan, Kingscourt, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fit for a King!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We stayed here for 1 saturday night and it was brilliant.
When I booked on the phone I was told there was a wedding on and they would put us in a courtyard room away from any function rooms so it would be very quiet. Fair enough.

However, when we booked in they had upgraded us to a suite in the main castle. Wow, It was beautiful!! Huge bathroom and bedroom with high ceilings, antique furniture, huge bed and amazing views. (Looked like something out if the Tudors, but comfortable and warm!) Lots of nice touches too such as the chocolates on your pillow when beds are turned down.

Went for a long walk in the National Park/Forest just outside the castle grounds which is lovely too and very easy to get to.

After working up an appetite we had dinner here too which was also excellent. Varied menu, nice wine list, helpful staff and great quality.

Slept like babies after dinner and never heard a sound from any wedding party!

Would definitley go back. Have stayed at Dromoland Castle which cost a bomb and Cabra Castle is streets ahead in terms of quality and service and value for money.

  • Liked — it's authenticity
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    169
    51
    25
    15
See reviews for
117
345
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2008

I won a voucher for one nights DB&B at the Castle and as we only live about 30 mins away we stayed there on Saturday night (27/9). The approach to the Castle is lovely and outside it looks great but the inside leaves a lot to be desired. The hotel bar isn't very nice at all, the lack of atmosphere, the decor, the seating arrangements aren't up to standard. Some of the public rooms upstairs and the restaurant are much nicer and feel cosy. Our bedroom was in the courtyard and although large it was very basic but comfortable. If they'd only spent a bit more money on fitting out the room it could have been lovely. As part of our voucher we had dinner at the hotel and at €47.95 pp it wasn't cheap but the menu was varied and we enjoyed the meal itself. Breakfast was a continental buffet with hot choices cooked to order. My only complaint is that the buffet wasn't replenished and we came down at 9 and they didn't stop serving until 10 but many plates, stands etc were empty. As our break didn't cost us anything I can't really complain but I would have been bitterly disappointed if I'd paid for the night out of my own pocket. The whole place lacked atmosphere and in my opinion it's a 3* hotel definately not 4*. If you want the Irish Castle experience and your budget allows it, spend a few more Euro and stay somewhere else.

  • Liked — The drive up to the Castle
  • Disliked — Everything else I'm afraid
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

We stayed at Cabra Castle for one night while we were travelling through Ireland and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The front desk staff is very friendly and efficient and check-in was smooth and quick.
Our room was large, in the courtyard part of the castle/hotel, with a lovely little courtyard outside of our door. The room amenities include in-room coffee and tea, safe, and very nice bathroom amenities. The bathroom was large and clean.
We had dinner in their dining room and it was delicious! Although our server wasn't knowledgeable about wines, she quickly sent over someone who could discuss our options. The service throughout the evening was great. It was our anniversary dinner and we thought it was as good as some of the most exclusive restaurants we've visited to celebrate the occasion in the past. The prices weren't cheap by any means, but reasonable for the elegance and quality of the meal. We had breakfast included with our room and it was very good as well. There was a continental buffet and an a la carte menu, both available as part of the package. It's well worth including breakfast.
The only negative comment I could make is that at the pub in the hotel they only have one type of vodka that was not to my liking, but I managed just fine without it! Also, there was a wedding there (on a Wednesday evening) and the guests were loud at about 3:00a outside of our room, but they didn't linger.
The grounds are really nice and worth strolling around if time permits. We would have liked to stay longer at Cabra Castle, but had to move on to Wicklow after just one night there.
I'd recommend this hotel to friends and family, but stay at least 2 nights if possible!

  • Liked — Large, nicely appointed room
  • Disliked — No good vodka on hand
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We stayed here for two nights with extended family. As we were booking for six people - we chose to stay in the cottages in the hotel grounds. We booked what we thought was a three bed cottage - when we made the booking - that was what we asked for anyway! We arrived to discover that the cottage was actually just five separate bedrooms - not a three bedroom self catering cottage. Only some of the cottages are self catering apparently - I wish reservations had made this clear to us on booking!

The cottage therefore had five bedrooms - two of them accompanied by other visitors. Having other people staying there meant that we had the pleasure of hearing one party arrive in very late at 5am in the morning (guests of a wedding in the hotel) and we had the pleasure of all being woken up! The following morning we were woken up early again by two guests leaving to catch a tour bus. The cottage has one entrance - a very heavy front door and anyone leaving or entering makes a very loud noise!

We were so disappointed - having booked what we thought was a cottage and all that entails - we only had 3 bedrooms and no other benefits - we had assumed a living area and kitchen area would be included. It was a very wet weekend - we had two young children and elderly grandparents and a full self catering cottage would have been ideal. We would have been better staying in the castle itself - at least we would have had a communal area to sit and would not have got wet every time we wanted to eat.

Breakfast in the castle was okay - as was the bar food. If you are booking the cottages make sure you ask plenty of questions beforehand.

  • Liked — bedrooms were good size with good size ensuites
  • Disliked — was not the self catering cottage we thought we had booked!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

This is a fabulous place for a quiet getaway. Rooms are amazing and the whole place is really quaint and cosy. Food Great!

  • Liked — Room & Food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

I have stayed at Cabra castle a few times over the past couple of years. It is an affordable castle, for those who want to try a castle. I would not recommend it for the last night as getting to the airport in the morning can be hectic and you would have to get up very early for most US flights home.

I have stayed in the main castle as well as in the other building behind it. I think the rooms in the building behind the castle are more spacious and comfortable. The rooms in the actual castle building are very cool though. It gives you more of a feeling of being in something as old and historical as a castle.

It is a haunted castle and if you ask, the staff can give you information on the ghosts and history and you can walk around in search of phucas (ghosts). I have to admit, that although I didn't see any apparitions there are certain areas that can give you the willies if you are alone in them.

I also enjoyed walking the grounds at night. I didn't see ghosts then either, but I did have quality time with an Irish Wolfhound named Oscar. He is the biggest dog I have ever seen and his heart matches his size. We Love Oscar!

The pub in the castle has a very comfortable back room that is great for little social gatherings. The food was good. It is pretty far away from town so you probably will stay at the castle for most things.

  • Liked — Oscar the dog.
  • Disliked — a bit out of the way
  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shankill, Ireland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

We got married in Cabra Castle a year ago and were delighted with the service, the meal and everything else.
We came back here on our first anniversary. Cabra Castle is doing a wedding a day for most of the year so you can expect that it will be busy and noisy ! We loved the restaurant. We had a lovely meal in it and the level of service was friendly and efficient.
The main trouble was that we were staying in the Castle and were woken up to the sound of loud singing outside from drunken revellers from 3.30am to 5am. We had been warned about this at reception and had more or less expected it from our oown wedding experience as well. The only other alternative to staying in the Castle is to stay in the Stables at the back of the castle. The walls here are paper thin and you can hear clearly what is going on in other rooms. It is no addition if there are drunk people around. I noticed that they have built self catering cottages at the back of the estate so that will be another option for those that want peace and quiet. Not sure when they are launching them. No sign of life down there yet. We weren't expecting a freebie weekend on our anniversary but we thought that the bill was very steep on checking out. We were charged €200 for one night's B&B and €145 for a five course meal with a bottle of house wine. My advice to anyone coming here is to bring some earplugs or get drunk and you won't notice the noise. If you are coming here for a quiet relaxing weekend away - forget it. Looks are deceiving. It's the victim of it's own success ! Mind you, if you are planning on getting married here, I couldn't recommend the place highly enough. It's reasonably priced and the bars don't close !

  • Liked — The castle is lovely, the atmosphere is easy going and the Irish wolfhouse is very tame
  • Disliked — Noise from wedding revellers, the price of accommodation on our first anniversary
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabra Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabra Castle Hotel

Address: Kingscourt | Co Cavan, Kingscourt, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Kingscourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kingscourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabra Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive through the 100 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and parkland to the magnificent 19th century 4 Star Castle Hotel set deep in the Cavan countryside you will feel totally welcomed and thoroughly spoiled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Cabra Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabra Castle Hotel Ireland/Kingscourt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabra Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.