We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic wedding venue but guests need Sat Nav to find rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabra Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cabra Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Cabra Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Kingscourt | Co Cavan, Kingscourt, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mullingar
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A fantastic wedding venue but guests need Sat Nav to find rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

From the long winding avenue to the magnificent bedrooms in the Court Yard Cabra Castle has it all. The amazing decor the friendly staff this is a must go to spot. The only reason it doesn't get excellent from me are the following it's difficult to navigate your way about, some of the stair carpets are shabby and the sheets didn't match up to the quality of rest of the bed linen. I would certainly go back and would recommend it to friends.Enjoy your stay. Thanks to the management and staff

Room Tip: The Castle or the Court Yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    184
    53
    26
    15
See reviews for
130
390
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012. We found the castle easly.
It is very large and it seems like there is a wedding here every day!
We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms - quite a walk from the main building. Walls were VERY thin between the rooms. I could hear the people next door to us walking around all night. Same with the people above us - especially with the creaky old floors.
My husband asked if we could change rooms, but the receptionist said taht the only other won available was said to be haunted - we stayed where we were.
Breakfast is a la carte - and actually slightly limited in menu. there is a small cold buffet with some buns and fruit.
the restaurant/bar is VERY busy, so if you are eating here make sure you give yourself lots of extra time - only 2 waiters/waitresses working here.

Room itself was very nice - comfortable bed. Cool stone walls on exterior only. Update bathrooms with cool LED lights in the shower - these really have no use except aesthetics though.

My husband went golfing - was free with your stay.

It was a nice experience, but not sure i would stay here again. OR if I did, I would make sure to get a room in the main building, although the price is much higher.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building. Although the Courtyard rooms look nice in pictures, it is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Myself and two friends stayed here for two days... Absolutely stunning place.. We stayed in a courtyard room... Clean, tidy and very warm.. The castle itself is a sight to see.. Loved it so much that we're going back in May for our birthdays.. Food is great.. Staff are friendly and efficient...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed two nights at this charming castle in Kingscourt. Our Courtyard rooms were situated in the old Coach House, behind the Castle and bit away from the action. Initially I was a bit disappointed not to be in the Castle itself, but our room was beautiful with all the modern amenities. And it was a fun adventure heading through the Castle to get to the main lobby, keeping an eye out for any ghosts (Cabra Castle is the 2nd most haunted hotel in the world)

The beds were extremely comfortable, the linens high quality and the bathroom had all the modern convinces. The room had a great sitting area and opened up into a courtyard, which in the warmer weather would be a wonderful spot for tea.

We actually eat at the Castle both nights, one night in the restaurant and one night in the bar. Both were excellent deals, especially the prix fixe in the Courtyard restaurant which on a Monday night included a complimentary bottle of wine for each couple. And the food was delicious and very varied. The Derby Bar is a great spot to hang out and we made ourselves at home in the Paddy Bar portion, playing cards and drinking excellent drafts.

The staff of the entire hotel could not have been more warm or welcoming. The women at the front desk were extremely helpful. They made sure when we left the hotel we had something in our stomachs, even though breakfast had not yet been served. The staff in the Derby Bar and Natalia in Courtroom Restaurant were lovely.

There were no weddings at the hotel while we were there and the place had a nice, quiet feel about it. I'm not sure if you have the same coziness if there was a large wedding taking place, so I might recommend going in the off season as we did.

Oh and the huge Irish wolfhound in the lobby is very friendly!

Room Tip: The Courtyard rooms are large and quite modern but with a great rustic feel to them. They are set ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were at Cabra Castle as wedding guests.when we were booking our room we were told that we would be staying at the Courtyard. When we checked in that day we were told we would be staying at the Cottages which is a 5 min walk from the hotel. It was raining that night and we got soaking wet. The room was lovely and warm the only problem was the light kept clicking out. My husband had to keep pusing down the switch in the fusebox. Got up next morning and there was no hot water in the shower. I had a cold shower. It was very dissapointing. There was a few complaints from people staying at the cottages. The receptionist apologised and reduced our bill

Room Tip: Would not recommend the cottages 5 min walk from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

When we went to get breakfast there was a queue of people already waiting outside the breakfast room, as there weren't enough tables. We gave our room number and waited 30 minutes to be called. Although a staff member came once and apologised for the delay, we were not even provided with tea and coffee during the wait.

When I complained to the management, I was told that breakfast was available since 7AM and it was a pity a crowd had arrived between 9.30 and 10am to put them under pressure. In other words, its the punters fault. An inadequate excuse for an inadequate service.

We were booked on a Murder Mystery event. Despite requesting a twin, we were given a double room. The event itself was held in four separate dining rooms, so those of use not in the main room missed much of the entertainment. Another reviewer made the same point - I advise anybody thinking of attending a mystery event, verify that it is being held in the ballroom and not in the separate small dining rooms - which happens when there is a wedding on the same night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had requested a twin room in the back of the castle, what we got was almost like two rooms with twin beds and television on one side and a large 6ft bed and another television on the other side, setee, card table and two dressing tables. We also had a fine bright shower/bathroom.
All of the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, they had a great sense of cameraderie amongst themselves which was infectious.The murder mystery evening proved to be great fun and encouraged everybody to meet and get to know everybody at your table. We are both coeliacs and were well catered for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabra Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabra Castle Hotel

Address: Kingscourt | Co Cavan, Kingscourt, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Kingscourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kingscourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabra Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive through the 100 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and parkland to the magnificent 19th century 4 Star Castle Hotel set deep in the Cavan countryside you will feel totally welcomed and thoroughly spoiled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Cabra Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabra Castle Hotel Ireland/Kingscourt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabra Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.