We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“murder mystery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabra Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cabra Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Cabra Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Kingscourt | Co Cavan, Kingscourt, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“murder mystery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We had requested a twin room in the back of the castle, what we got was almost like two rooms with twin beds and television on one side and a large 6ft bed and another television on the other side, setee, card table and two dressing tables. We also had a fine bright shower/bathroom.
All of the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, they had a great sense of cameraderie amongst themselves which was infectious.The murder mystery evening proved to be great fun and encouraged everybody to meet and get to know everybody at your table. We are both coeliacs and were well catered for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    185
    53
    26
    15
See reviews for
131
390
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was the perfect getaway that we have been looking for and only an hour's drive from Dublin. We had the most comfortable, beautiful room I have ever stayed in, and the heat was on! (unlike our last hotel experience!)
The food was excellent and the service was very efficient. We were at a murder mystery experience which was very well run and very enjoyable.
The breakfast next morning was just perfect!
All in all, Cabra Castle was a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable experience. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are absolutely gorgeous, and much much bigger than some of the hotel rooms. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our room in the courtyard was gorgeous . Very spacious , warm and cosy .
Recently refurbished with a lovely bathroom ensuite .
There was actually a free-standing bath in the bedroom too !

The staff were without exception helpful , friendly and obliging and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one .
Nothing was a problem and the service was excellent .

I had forgotten to pack a dressing gown and I phoned reception to ask if they could provide me with a bathrobe . Within minutes , two lovely white , fluffy robes were delivered to the door by a very charming and smiling member of staff .

Breakfast was a very relaxing affair looking out over the beautiful golf course .
If I had a criticism about the hotel it would be that they didn't have real fires . The fires were just those artificial ones that don't have the same effect but then you can't have everything , can you !
All in all , Cabra Castle is a lovely place to stay .

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed overnight for a murder mystery evening. The murder mystery was great fun a sit was done more as a comedy sketch than a mystery. Real murder mystery afficionadas might have been a bit disappointed.
The main hotel building is a great building with turrets and there are lovely grounds. Most rooms are away from the main building so if you want a 'castle' room you'll have to specifically ask. We stayed in the courtyard area in what was originally the milking parlour. The room was large and comfortable. The floors creak a lot so don't expect to be able to creep around at night.
Food was very good and service was pleasant and efficient. Breakfast was a bit slow so if you're in a hurry you might need to let them know.
Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: If you want a room in the main castle building you'll need to ask specifically.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel..We were staying in a Cottage with two other couples.The cottage was about a five minute walk from the castle. When we arrived the rooms were cold but reception had no problem putting the heat on constant when we told them. The food was excellent. We were at a Murder Mystery night there last saturday. The room where the acting took place was the restaurant. Unfortunately this room was divided in three with arches as a result the people in the middle room were the only ones who could see what was happening. When we told the person on reception, who I think was a manageress, Margaret, she said it was nothing to do with her it was the actors. The actoros agreed the room was all wrong but they were only told that night, they blamed the hotel who in turn blamed Living and Social. It was a pity that that part of the night was such a flop. Would recommend the hotel for a stay including the cottages (these are three bedroom houses with lovely kitchen/sittingroom. Very tastely furnished.) Food is really excellent in the restaurant and the breakfast. Service in the lounge very slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

stayed here on NYE with another couple, had the dinner, B&B offer at avery reasonable price. Dinner was superb, service impeccable and the food to Michelin standard, with very generous portions. Courtyard rooms are very big, would be ample for the three double beds which was in ours!

Evening was quiet, though we had great craic. Bar could be better stocked. Beautiful venue overall and would certainly re commend it for a romantic enclosure. ;)

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are massive. Ask for one close to the entrance if there are none left in the main bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at Cabra Castle on 30th November for close friends wedding. The whole experience certainly exceeded my expectations!!! From the breathtaking grounds, to the castle entrance, to the courtyard accommodation, to the food was a real treat. You could definitely feel like a lady here. But most important, the staff! Nothing was a problem, the staff went above and beyond the call of duty and all of them actually looked liked they enjoyed their job and enjoyed working at the castle. The rooms were beautiful and very warm (which was important because I come from Australia).
I actually booked two further nights at the castle and brought my parents and daughter up to stay and once again my expectations were exceeded. My father thought he was the Lord of a manor his room was that grand. This time we were accommodated in the castle itself, a decision made by the staff due to the elderly nature of my parents!
I could go on and on but I recommend you stay here and judge for yourself!
Oh yes, if I was ever getting married again this would be the number one spot to book.
Go Raibh Mile Maith Agat! Thank you! Thank you!

Room Tip: Castle rooms cannot be booked, you can only request them at time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabra Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabra Castle Hotel

Address: Kingscourt | Co Cavan, Kingscourt, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Kingscourt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kingscourt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cabra Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you arrive through the 100 acres of beautifully manicured gardens and parkland to the magnificent 19th century 4 Star Castle Hotel set deep in the Cavan countryside you will feel totally welcomed and thoroughly spoiled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabra Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabra Castle Hotel Ireland/Kingscourt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabra Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.