We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely sets the standard! Fabulous hotel, beautiful location and friendly staff..ill be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cavan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Drogheda, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Truely sets the standard! Fabulous hotel, beautiful location and friendly staff..ill be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed in Farnham for a wedding and decided to make a weekend of it after all the excellent reviews we read on tripadvisor and heard from people in general. Upon parking up in the picturesque grounds our first worry was the distance between the hotel reception and the car park (espically when wearing a dress, heels and carrying bags and suitcases!) but we were pleasantly surprised when a courtesy mini cab pulled up to shuttle us to and fro when needed. Check in was quick and friendly, and I must say throughout our visit the pleasant and friendly staff were a credit to the hotel, we were also pleased to hear breakfast ended at 11 on the weekend giving us a little extra sleep after the wedding on our first night! Room 237 was an elevator and a small walk away. The room was gorgeous, everything you'd expect in a modern hotel room..exceptionally clean throughout with flatscreen tv, hugh extremely comfortable bed, wide windows to let lots of light in during the day but blackout curtains to keep it out in the morning, dressing gowns and slippers, and a fan for the rare but occasional warm Irish day. There was also a very generous bathroom with shower and bath and a section of the wall sliding to allow conversation between the person in the bath and the person in the bedroom. If I was to have some small criticism it would be, wifi in our room was nonexistent and there was no free bottled water or biscuits for dunking in your cuppa, both of which are a norm in hotels now.

Farhnam as a wedding venu was beautiful and spacious. I espically loved the vast floor to ceiling windows at the drinks reception and the dance floor in the venu which mirrored marble but had tiny glistening lights dotted around it. The soup starter was also very tasty. A wonderful day was had by all. My only negative of the venu was the drinks reception area really could have done with more seating, as I noticed a lot of people standing who probably would have sat but there was not enough seats for them.

The breakfast both mornings was tasty with a good variety of hot and cold buffet items. Everything tasted nice and fresh and was obviously replenished regulary to spite the fact both mornings we went down half an hour before the end of breakfast. I would however advise that the oranges for the fruit salad be not only segmented but also each segment cut in half as they were a little hard to manage. The facilities in Farhnam are some of the best I've experienced in any hotel. There is golf, walking and a spa and leisure centre. We enjoyed the 40 minute walk to the lake and sat on the swing chair taking in the scenery, it was so beautiful and peaceful. The thermal suite which can be used by all guests was a fabulous extra most hotels do not offer unless you are getting a spa treatment, there was everything from foot spas, snail showers, steam and salt rooms to ice fountain and sauna. Truely relaxing and pampering. The pool was large spanning both indoor and outdoor, it was fab, but the outdoor part should have been warmer I felt as you could not really enjoy the views without feeling quite cold. I also did not see a jacuzzi which was a pity. I vastly enjoyed the pool and thermal suite though, so much so that the lady on reception let us check out 2 hours later just to spend some time in it! We did not have spa treatments this time, but after our wonderful first experience I will be returning hopefully some time in the near future to relax and enjoy a treatment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Dara P

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review and delighted that you enjoyed your visit for a wedding.

Thank you also for your comments/suggestions, which have been passed to the Management Team.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    435
    181
    63
    44
See reviews for
177
1,022
27
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

32 ladies from our golf club enjoyed a super weekend at Farnham. It has everything on site that you could want. Food good, live music in the bar on Saturday night and the swimming pool leading outdoors was beautiful even in the rain
I can only compliment all the staff who bent over backwards to help. Very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Siobhan B

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review.

Delighted that yourself and your group of lady golfers enjoyed your visit to Farnham Estate so much.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our Golf Course, Health Spa & staff and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fermanagh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hi just back today from a wedding we attended yesterday at this fabulous hotel well!!! From start to finish it was excellent the meal at the wedding was the best we have ever had at a wedding an this has been our 5th wedding this year alone the staff both waiter/ess bar staff an reception first class we had the pleasure of an over nite stay albeit didn't spend much time in the room wat we did was again a first class experience of luxury breakfast again best I hv ever had so farnham estate well done will deff be back can't comment on spa as it was a wedding so didn't get the chance to try

Room Tip: Don't think there is a bad room because I was in a few an all seemed hv a view if some sort
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Der geo67

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit for a wedding and thank you for your lovely comments regarding staff and hotel facilities.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulster
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a five star experience here. We attended a wedding and the wedding venue is simply stunning. Rooms were fabulous and food was really top notch. Wow! Beautiful summer evening out on the lawn. Absolutely delightful! Well done to the staff - everything was so professional!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear AMFUlster

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much for a wedding and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for a one-night mid-week break. Check-in and check-out were very quick by a very pleasant receptionist. Room was very clean and very warm - but the use of a fan which was in the wardrobe sorted that out! Had something to eat and a few drinks in the Cellar Bar that evening which was very nice. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast the next morning was very nice as well. Plenty to choose from. Will hopefully be back in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Babes-Ire

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

Delighted that you had an enjoyable visit to Farnham Estate and thank you for your lovely comments.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Amazing hotel, staff, location and facilities in the hotel everything was perfect and food was great! Only thing is the rooms are still nice but started to get a little bit dated and would have preferred if the sliding window over the bath had a lock as it was a twin room and it kept slightly opening which was quite irritating but all in all an amazing stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear IRISHBOYS

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit and thank you for your feedback.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here recently as a guest at a wedding . The rooms were great and the breakfast was really good. The function room for the wedding was decorated lovely. The staff were great . We had a guest at our table who had special dietary needs who was catered for without any fuss or reminders. A wonderful day! We will be back to check out the Spa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear MaryMc04

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review. Delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Farnham Estate for a wedding.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Address: Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.