We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Short Break in Farnham” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cavan
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Short Break in Farnham”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had heard so much about this place, but was very disappointed with our experience. The staff we dealt with at reception were foreign (I have no problem with foreigners at all). We couldn't understand her. Why are they employing front house staff like this ! It was very cold and windy, so parking places at the actual hotel very limited so you had to wait to be picked up. A lovely man did this, but you had to wait to be picked up.

Room Tip: All the rooms. I do however cannot understand why there is not more insulation because you could hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear gorgeousgael

Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review in relation to you recent visit.

I am sorry that you had problems when checking in and on arrival to the hotel.

I do hope that overall, you enjoyed your visit and that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    393
    163
    57
    39
See reviews for
155
924
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roscommon, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay!
I was up-graded to a room in the "old house" (the Waldron Room) and this was simply sublime! The hotel itself never ceases to amaze me; such hospitality, such warmth from the staff. Food, as before, was wonderful. Just a terrific place to stay. Had a swim on sunday morning and the pool area is marvellous.
So Farnham....take a bow! It's well-deserved. I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear swissinfo

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review and delighted that you enjoyed your visit and our Irish hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate when next in Ireland.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having never known the region or the hospitality of Ireland before, this hotel has to be the most modern, professional well presented hotel I have encountered and in country where you are not sure what to expect, not really knowing the quality of this hotel by just reading the previous posts on this website, it can sometimes lead a person to have a little uncertainty, well we can certainly say that it was soon put to bed on arrival and the welcome on our first night of our hotel stay to the departure was fantastic. The employees are very warm welcoming and are always available to assist, you really feel that you have been catapulted into another world of luxury, with the excellent quality of food and service provided by the both the employees working here, the Spa is definitely worth the visit and it was free! the only thing missing was pool bar. I would like to thank all the employees and especially one grey haired old gentleman who valet parked our hire car came to our room several times to assist with minor problems, for example where is the safe? great place to put the room safe we would never of thought of it? and why could we not open our bedroom window for ventilation? he very kind moved us to another room within a moment of just seeing the problem, that's what we call a great service.

We were a little surprised also to learn that the property was also being used by members to the G8 meeting not far away in Northern Ireland, the hotel had relaxed atmosphere and you would not really think anything is happening near by, great place! great scenery! great service! lovely Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel has the X factor. The rooms are comfortable, the staff courteous , the setting idyllic . The spa is one of the I have ever been to. It would be difficult to get a better breakfast anywhere . The choice is amazing. Have been twice and will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Ann M

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review and your kind comments.

Deilghted that you enjoy Farnham Estate and it's facilities so much and we look forward to welcoming back sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We used Farnham Estate for a Corporate Offsite for over 100 employees. The whole experience was excellent, Patsy was extremely accomodating of our plans and very helpful with the organisation of the event. The event itself was excellent with the hotel pulling out all the stops for check in, Elaine and the girls were excellent getting the group checked in as quickly as posisble, and Jonathan and Rachel looked after all of our requirements for the day from providing teas and coffees earlier than advised to being able to handle all ad hoc requests. There were a few small problems with the in house projector for the presentations, but there was someone on hand to assist.

Everyone loved the hotel, the grounds provided the perfect spot for afternoon outdoor team building activities. The food for dinner in the ballroom was also excellent. Overall I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Aoife2327

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review.

Delighted that your corporate event went so well and I have passed your thanks to all concerned, Patsy, Elaine, Rachel and Jonathan in particular.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Our friends discovered the Radisson and kindly gave us an overnight stay as a wedding present. From the moment you turn into the drive that winds it's way through beautiful grounds to the house you will be captivated. We were greeted by friendly efficient reception staff, always a good start!

Our room was on the ground floor, large glass doors led on to a small patio area with seating and a table overlooking the golf course. The only sound was from the birds singing... Bliss. Rooms are comfortable, spacious and spotless, robes and slippers supplied.

The Spa, again greeted by friendly professional staff. The Spa is fantastic with 3 different steam rooms, sauna, ice fountain, fabulous indoor and outdoor infinity pool, snail and foot showers etc. All the beautiful aromas of lavender etc to calm the senses. The lounging areas around the pool are really relaxing and quiet. Everyone seems to sense the need for quiet, it does help that children under 16 are not allowed in the Spa. There's an a area with fresh flavoured waters - mint, lemon, cucumber etc There are also fresh juices and tea/coffee offered in a seating areas upstairs. You can even have have your lunch in the Spa restaurant so no need to change from your robe if your are there for the day.

There are plenty of beautiful planned walks through the woods and around the lake. Take hiking boots or wellys it can be a bit muddy! There is a side door out of the hotel for walkers where you can clean your boots, bags are supplied for your muddy boots and there are slippers to walk back to your room. Clever idea!

We ate in the Cellar Bar. Its quite dark and narrow we felt quite closed in but it is a cellar after all! I have to say we were not that impressed with the food. The portions were very small, I had a steak which was fatty and tasteless but the desserts were good! We thought it was expensive for bar food and if we were staying again we would go into Cavan to eat.

Breakfast was fantastic. A wide selection of cereals, juices, fruit, nuts & seeds, breads, yoghurts the list goes on we have never seen such an excellent breakfast buffet. There was also a good selection of cooked food available. The dining room has beautiful views over the Estate, free newspapers are available and there is an endless supply of tea/coffee.

All in all we would highly recommend staying here. You will come away feeling rejuvenated. We went mid week as it seems to be quieter. I have already booked to go with a friend at the end of June.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Joynel

Thank you for your lovely Trip Advisor Review and we are delighted that overall, you enjoyed your visit.

Apologies for the fact that you found food portions in our Cellar Bar to be small and I have passed your comments to our Executive Head Chef and thank you for your feedback.

Delighted to hear that you are returning and we hope you have a lovely visit.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We checked into Farnham Estate on Sunday 9th June 2013 by Kim who was really friendly and helpful - she quickly made a reservation for us in the restaurant and offered assistance to have our bags taken to our room.
We checked into room 304 - which was enormous and really beautiful. Almost instantly we felt completely relaxed. We took a walk in the fabulous grounds and sampled the health spa and pool which was spotlessly clean. The staff were so helpful and nothing was too much for them to assist with.
We went back to our room for a quick snooze - but unfortunately feel asleep as we were totally relaxed (the huge comfortable bed and peaceful surroundings were to blame). We woke at 9.15pm in a complete panic as our Restaurant booking was for 9pm. We called the Restaurant to explain - only to be reassured by Tomek that this was no problem at all and that he would have an even better table available for us by the window - we were so grateful that they were so accomodating as we understand that Sunday evenings can be extremely busy. We were served by Magda and another girl who were really professional and friendly. Nothing was too much hassle for them. We had a little problem with the Monkfish as it was slightly cold when arriving to the table. Tomek was such a gentleman by returning it to the kitchen and ordering the Trout for us instead. The meal was wonderful and the service so quick and friendly. The food was good and the portions enourmous. We went to the Cellar bar afterwards for a drink which was busy and full of friendly locals. The bar staff seemed a little under pressure as there were only two staff serving about 60 very thirstly people!! Breakfast the next morning was very plentiful and there was of great quality. Yet again, the staff were so friendly and remembered our names from the evening before (now that's service!!) We requested an extra hour for check out so that we could experience the spa for as long as possible. Unfortunately we are back to work - but feeling incredibly rejuvinated. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Stephen127

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review.

Delighted that you found your visit to be so relaxing and that you enjoyed the hotel's amenities.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate sometime soon!

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Address: Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.