We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cavan
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Sad to say only stayed for one day & night 17th November 2012. Will try and get back for a longer stay. Food, rooms, & staff were all first class. The walk on Sunday morning with George was just what Doctor ordered, a beautiful estate. Sad to say never got to Spa Treatment areas, but will next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Quba22

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review and glad that you enjoyed your visit.

Hopefully next time, you will get to stay longer and enjoy a spa treatment or two!

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    393
    163
    57
    39
See reviews for
155
924
24
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had 2 night break here recently. Hotel very impressive on arrival, had lovely large bedroom also. Outdoor pool offers something very different, and lots of areas to potter around & explore in the general pool area. Also was lucky with the weather and got to do a lovely walk through the forest. I do think some of the food options could be improved, e.g. when we ate in the lobby bar/cafe on the friday afternoon, I was disappointed to find that later that evening in the cellar bar the menu was very simliar give or take a few dishes. Also, the charcuterie boards that are available in the evening is something I think should be offered all day (combined cheese & meats board) - must say after a lovely relaxing day, I would have enjoyed that with a nice glass of wine. Any food we did get however was very tasty, and the breakfast was very impressive also. Would visit again. Staff very pleasant also in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear thepremier

Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review and lovely comments regarding the hotel and its facilities. Glad that you enjoyed them.

Your comment regarding the charcuterie boards being available throughout the day is certainly something that we will consider and thank you for suggesting this.

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a SPA day with a friend of mine and was very satisfied with the services on offer. I am not a member but my friend is. I booked a facial but was able to use their pool and other spa facilites before I had my treatment. The layout and decor is very attractive and the atmosphere very relaxing. There are facilities to make tea or coffee at any time. The treatment was lovely as well. Just a fabulous place and a lovely pool. Wonderful facility to have in Cavan Town and I intend to visit it more often from now on.

Room Tip: Used SPA only
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear KiwiCharley

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review and delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our Health Spa.

Lovely to hear that you intend returning and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent one night in this hotel - excellent check in.
Myself and my partner stayed in a double room - the view was fab - the reason I gave the hotel
a 4 rating was there is far too much furniture in the bedroom - double bed, single bed, chaise long, relaxing chair, table and dressing table all in one small space - it's crazy they must not have heard of the minimilistic look - least is more.

But really overall excellent hotel - service very good. We ate in Cellar bar which had a lovely
atmosphere - again I feel they could broaden the menu a little to have some dinner on it (steak,
potatoes etc) as it stands it is more snack type meals - but very tasty.

As from all the other reviews the spa is excellent - the main pool - outdoor pool, and lots of different steam type rooms and snail shower (lovely), just soo relaxing.

Overall would definately return - lovely walks also - overall a quiet relaxing break so enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear irishMeath

Thank you for taking the time to post your TripAdvisor Review and for your lovely comments.

I am sorry that you found the room to be cramped. All items that you mentioned, apart from the single bed, are standard 4 star rating requirements.

Delighted that you enjoyed your visit, especially the Health Spa facilities.

I am glad that you intend returning and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I Found myself in Cavan late at night and in need of accommodation and got a great B&B rate at the very last minute.

The staff were mostly great, even the very stern lady at breakfast the next morning managed to break into a smile after some coaxing. I was most impressed by the lady who took my booking and by the reception staff in the spa (I did not use the spa but needed some emergency supplies and they were very accommodating).

The room was comfortable, clean and warm on a cold winters night.

The hotel grounds are well kept and it the location is very beautiful, amid the drumlin hills of Cavan. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear AngieMacEire

Thank you for your lovely TripAdvisor Review.

Delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and that we are able to accommodate you.

Great to hear that you intend returning and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards


Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed last weekend for two nights in the Deredis Suite ! The Suite is beautifully decorated and has a lovely view of the meadows from the bedroom window! The staff in the hotel are very friendly especially the older gentleman who drives the courtersy car ! The spa is unreal and the heated outdoor swimming pool is worth the vist for alone!! Had a lovely lunch in the cellar bar and breakfeast was similarly as nice ! The only negative part of the two nights was a member of staff entering our roon unannounced while we were in room!!! She was showing a bride to be the suite and were very annoyed to have our privacy intrepputed and were dissapionted not to have received a proper apology from the member of staff Overall though we really enjoyed our stay and we will be back for some more relaxation soon :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear MickImonahan

Thank you for your TripAdvisor.

Delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and its facilites. Please accept our apologies for the fact that you were interrupted in your room by a member of staff and also for the fact that you did not receive a proper apology in relation to this.

Delighted also that you intend returning to the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from an overnight stay in the Raddison Blu Farnham Estate. What an enjoyable escape. It is a quiet couples retreat. Room was excellent good size nice views over the countryside.
Food in the bar and restaurant was excellent. Services by the staff from the time we arrived to our departure was second to none. They couldn't do enough and were very friendly without being intrusive. The sitting rooms in the old house are marvelous for sitting and enjoying a good book. Real Downtown Abbey feel about the old house. The Spa was the high light of the week-end one of the best I have been to. Definitely the place for a nice romantic break or a relaxing break with the girls. Only downside to the week end was the entertainment in the bar on Saturday night not good this could be improved upon. However this was one of the best hotels I have stayed in this year. Will definitely be back. Bring your walking shoes are there are fantastic walking trails if the weather is fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew D, General Manager at Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Patricia M

Thank you so much for your lovely TripAdvisor Review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time in the hotel.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the music in our Cellar Bar and perhaps this is something that can be improved.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Farnham Estate in the near future.

Kind regards

Andrew Drysdale
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan

Address: Farnham Estate, Cavan, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farnham Estate brings centuries of the very best of traditions - hospitality, welcome, natural beauty - and blends them with contemporary comfort and service, creating a destination unlike any other in Ireland. The moment you enter the driveway at Farnham Estate, you are greeted by acres of rolling countryside and a peaceful haven that can not fail to capture the spirit of relaxation. Located in the heart of this magnificent estate, just 3 km from Cavan town, is a world class Health Spa and the very stylish Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel. Inside and out, Farnham is a playground for the senses. From the softest fabrics to the most delicate local ingredients, every detail has been carefully chosen to create a sense of total well-being. Guests may come to Farnham to experience the Health Spa. They may arrive in search of fine cuisine and stunning wines. Or some of the most beautiful suites in Ireland. But whatever they seek at Farnham, they will leave having rediscovered a sense of peace and harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan Hotel Cavan
Radisson Cavan
Cavan Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.