We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4star on paper but not inside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cavan Crystal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cavan Crystal Hotel to your Saves list
Cavan Crystal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dublin Road, Cavan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cavan
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“4star on paper but not inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed in this hotel - outside it look good, inside is very tired and need a good coat of paint on doorways & skirtings, everywhere , carpets dirty, seating areas leather looked grubby and worn, the bar area was very dark, boring bedroom, the only nice part was the bathroom was fresh and clean, four coat hangers between two guests. Fire doors on bedroom landing, and hallways always left open when they should have been closed.
The restaurant food was good and the service there was excellent though slow.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    142
    48
    14
    11
See reviews for
92
131
13
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Only stayed for one night, but the receptionist was very friendly and very helpful about what was on in Cavan - enjoyed the evening thanks to her recommendation !
Room was very comfortable, slept well and enjoyed a hot buffet breakfast -
would definitely recommend this hotel - it's near enough to the town, without the noise !
New hotel, so everything is top condition !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My wife and I recently celebrated our anniversary with a 2 night stay in the Cavan crystal hotel and we both agree it was a lovely stay in a very classy hotel. From the outside,the hotel looks deceptively ordinary but that said, it was easy to find and there is ample parking . Its only when you step inside that you get the "Wow" factor. The reception area is very stylish ,a wide open space with high ceilings,loads of comfy seating and funky water features. The bar beside it is lovely,again with comfy chairs and plenty of space. Check in was friendly and efficient but the room we were originally allocated had a distinct smell of cigarette smoke so we asked for a new room. This request was met with a smile and an apology and we were given a new room with the minimum of fuss. The room was huge,the bed was comfy and the bathroom was also excellent,tastefully decorated and spacious. Bathrobes were provided,which was a nice touch. We also ate in the hotel restaurant and the food lovely,no complaints. The hotel also has a spa and leisure/fitness centre which we didnt use or visit but it looked busy all the same
Overall,if you find yourself in need of a hotel in Cavan,this would be my choice,comfy,friendly and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Really a lovely hotel. Yummy breakfast. Comfy room. Very Modern. Loved it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

A magnificent and truly perfect setting for your Wedding!! We had our wedding at the Cavan Crystal Hotel on the 8th of July 2011 and I must say it exceeded all our expectations! From the very first day we visited Cavan Crystal and met with Chris, one of the Wedding Planners we were very impressed. All the staff are so helpful from all the Wedding planners, Chris, Yvonne, Irene, Una and the General Manager Siobhan, to the bar and restaurant staff. Our Wedding day was truly spectacular! From the minute we arrived at Cavan Crystal Hotel we were greeted by the staff on the red carpet with a lovely glass of champagne and canape's. The reception was so well organised and the meal was simply superb! The service was brilliant! All our guests even commented on the delicious food and service and were very impressed. We were absolutely delighted and really enjoyed our day from start to finish. I cannot recommend Cavan Crystal Hotel for your wedding or a weekend break! The bridal suite is amazing and the night after our wedding we stayed in a Junior suite. We had a delicious dinner in the opus one Restaurant in Cavan Crystal and the following morning had a delicious breakfast delivered to our room - what more could you ask for!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at the Cavan Crystal hotel on a 2 night break - 2 B&B & 1 Evening Meal and when booking I was told that we would get a 3rd night B&B Free.

We had a 5 month old baby with us so the hotel was ideal.
We were allocated a room on the 2nd floor with lift access and as promised a cot was provided.
The rooms were clean and had all amenities required.

The food - was excellent (both breakfast & evening meal)
We used the pool in the hotel and I was impressed when one of the attendants advised me to only keep the baby in the pool for 20 mins max as it is cooler than what she would be used to ( when she attends her aquababes classes - water in nursery pool is body temp)
On our 2nd day I visited the spa at the hotel and had a lovely package called just for her which included a express facial, tension massage and hot stones back massage - this was heavenly and the therapist was lovely

Overall a very enjoyable break and we would recommend it for a quiet family break away

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We got married in June and had our Wedding Reception in Cavan Crystal Hotel. The attention to detail was second to none! The Staff were brilliant in the run up to our day - nothing was ever a problem. On the day itself, the Staff excelled! They catered our every need. We were made to feel so Special - all of the staff addressed both ourselves and our bridesmaids/groomsmen/parents personally - they knew all our names! The food was exceptional - there is no other word - in both presentation and taste! And was piping hot! Our guests are still talking about it!! We had a perfect day! We are so so delighhted that we happened on this "gem" of a hotel on the outskirts of Cavan town!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavan Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavan Crystal Hotel

Address: Dublin Road, Cavan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Cavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cavan Crystal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cavan Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavan Crystal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.