We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opus One

Opus One
Dublin Road,Cavan | Cavan, Cavan, Ireland
049 4360600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 35 Restaurants in Cavan
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Opus One is at the Cavan Crystal Hotel
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Really nice food. Well cooked and nicely presented, staff were busy but helpful and friendly. Bar has a nice feel about it and is clean and tidy.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“More people should eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Really gorgeous food, and great service in a beautiful restaurant. I can not understand why it was not busier! Good value too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Won't be coming back here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We decided to eat in the bar of the cavan crystal hotel. I asked the waiter could I have a vegetarian curry as appose to the chicken curry he said he would ask the chef. The waiter returned to say no the chef wouldn't do it. So I asked if I could have a vegetarian stir fry again he said he would ask the chef. He returned & said no the chef wouldn't do it. He said they had a ravioli pasta dish on the menu. It's not hard to prepare a veg stir fry!! As there was nothing else on the menu suitable for me my partner canceled his steak & we left. And enjoyed a beautiful meal in a nearby hotel.
Won't be going back to the crystal in a hurry!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Always a nice treat for myself to visit here. Food is always delicious. Staff are friendly and know what they are at. Always good to see Irish staff in a restaurant and especially ones who can recommend a good wine!
Will be back again. Dinner is a must. Lunch is tasty and nice but dinner is the real experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty Grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I visit here as often as I can afford, usually with my partner and usually for lunch. The grub is yummy: very tasty food and nicely presented too. The staff work very hard but there seems to be a shortage of floor staff so make sure you catch their eye, speak up or you might be forgotten, albeit not on purpose. I don't like the vegitables, presented on a small plate usually hard or crunchy as the chefs will have it. I love the soups, beef and excellent salmon dishes as well as fish & chips, and of course desert and coffee. The service can be a bit slow at peak times but the staff do their best and seem to be up to the job for the most part. In summer or anytime the weather is dry, meals can be served al fresco on the large veranda adjoining the lounge bar. Yep, Opus One is one of my favourite eateries.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opus One also viewed

 
Cavan, County Cavan
Cavan, County Cavan
 

Been to Opus One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opus One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.