We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the special of the day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hard Boiled Egg Cafe

Hard Boiled Egg Cafe
Dublin Rd | Cavan, Cavan, Ireland
353 (0)49 432 6523
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Cavan
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Coffee Shop, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: this is a family friendly cafe with a lot to offer the hungry traveller,with foods from all around the world form the american eggs benedict made famous by the waldorf hotel,to fajitas to fish and chips this cafe loves what it does and constantly update the menu to please as many as possible. so if you only need to take the waight off with a latte, or want to fill up on an american grill we cater to all. but if you feel you want to try a bit of history why not try our Guinness world record "World largest commercally available full irish/english breakfest" its not for the faint hearted.
Cavan, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Try the special of the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The wife and I eat here about 2 times a month, as this has become a hidden gem in Cavan and the American wife is a picky eater. We walked in and the wife asked the chef if she could suprise her, she usually has the patty melt but wanted to try something diffrent, the chef said "sure, I know just what to make you". I ordered the Irish Breakie and the wife...she wasn't sure what she was going to get. When our meal was delivered, the waitress said that she was getting the special of the day, Tennessee Hank burger. She was nice enough to "share" ONE bite of the burger with me. It might of been becouse the flavor of that burger was melt in your mouth, a million diffrent flavors, yummy in the tummy, WOW! We usually don't try out the special of the day for some reason, but that will be changing after today. It was so worth it...even though I only got one little bite of it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    37
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“savage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Huge clean breakfast/lunches at the right price. Had the club sandwich shared between two persons.
class

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Have been to the Hardboiled egg on numerous occasions and have never been disappointed, food is fab. There is a great choice on the menu and sometimes it is hard to choose! Try the salads as these are great! Staff are always pleasant and friendly.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is definately my favourite place to go for breakfast in Cavan. There's a great selection to choose from on the menu . The service is always fast and efficient and the prices are very reasonable. I would highly recommend the French toast for breakfast, and for lunch, the burritos and the garlic cheese fries. My husband and two sons love the chicken dishes and the burgers! If you are not totally stuffed after the very generous portions, end your meal with a sundae, they are amazing!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnygmeath, Owner at Hard Boiled Egg Cafe, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
thanks Jessica, really appreciate the comments and really glad your family enjoy what we do. we have recently updated our ice cream toppings, and there better than before. thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth a detour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Very tasty food spotless place very friendly staff will definitely return if anywhere near cavan

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnnygmeath, Owner at Hard Boiled Egg Cafe, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Thanks appleaa, hope your back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hard Boiled Egg Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hard Boiled Egg Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hard Boiled Egg Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.