We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oak Room Restaurant

The Oak Room Restaurant
32 Main Street, Cavan 049 437 1414, Ireland
049 4371414
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Cavan
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Myself and my partner visited the Oak Room during our stay in Cavan town. Our visit to this restaurant turned out to be a refreshingly brilliant experience. The food was tasty and well seasoned and the service brilliant. There was even a nice crowd dining in on a wet Thursday evening in Cavan. Surely a good sign. Very well priced too. If I'm back to Cavan, I'll be coming here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    36
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cavan, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Dinner - Will come back again and again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had been here only once before, during the fleadh of 2012 where we felt that we were given very poor standard food, small portions for too much money. We had said we would not go back again but due to others opinions we decided to try it again.
We are so glad we did.
The girls who worked there were lovely, very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant was lovely and warm without being overpowering.
The toilets were clean and fresh smelling.
But best of all - The food was great and very good value.
I had the brie to start, my husband had the cod goujons. Then I had duck whilst he had chicken. He ended with apple crumble while I had the sorbet basket. All washed down with 2 glasses of a lovely sauvignon blanc. We thought it was great value for €71.00 all in. We weren't rushed at all, were able to enjoy our meal at our leisure and had a really lovely time.
This restaurant is well worth a visit.
Will definately come again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We went there for a romantic dinner on Valentine's Weekend. First class service, plenty of staff, didn't have to wait long for food even when was nearly full. Food very nice - my partner didn't like the burger but he's always fussy:) Overall lovely!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, Northern Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“First class restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were staying at a local hotel on the outskirts of Cavan where we had a lovely meal on our first night. On our second evening we intended visiting the highly rated restaurant of another local hotel only to be told that it was now closed during week nights. This turned out to be to our advantage as a local shop owner recommended The Oak Room. What a find. Whilst the entrance stairway is located between two shops once you get upstairs the decor is very nice and the restaurant had a nice atmosphere. Our waitress, Siobhan, was more than helpful particularly as my wife requires a gluten free diet. On many occasions we have had to leave restaurants because there were none or few gluten free options. Food was excellent. My wife had a nice chicken dish and I had a superb fish pie,served in it's own little pan and brimming with several types of fish. The baked Alaska was a triumph and my wife had a specially made gluten free chocolate roulade which she also enjoyed.
We will certainly return on our next visit to Cavan.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Had the joy of exeriencing the Oak Room a couple of weeks ago. The food is quite simply fantastic, great service and really relaxing atmosphere. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Room Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Oak Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oak Room Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.