We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Maris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilkee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stella Maris Hotel
Save
You added Stella Maris Hotel to your Saves list
O' Connell St., Kilkee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kilkee
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We booked our room just a couple days before arrival and so had a smaller room with a lower roof. But the room was comfy, the view lovely and the staff pleasant and eager to please. Great location for a stroll about town or down by the water.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    24
    2
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
27
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We booked this whole hotel for our wedding guests and everyone was really happy. Really nice decor, really clean, its more like s 4 star. I will recommend it to everyone, oh great food too. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I spent a last-minute easter weekend here with my family (dad, mum, 7 and 1 yr olds) and had a perfect visit. The rooms and beds are really comfortable and breakfast was scrummy. Good value too. The only downer was that Kilkee is looking like a kip. Litter all over the streets and overflowing bins. Oh well. It didn't stop us enjoying loophead.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Kilkee is lay back great stay.....and the Stella Maris is 5 star....great staff, classic old hotel that has preserved it's history and charm. Clean,comfortable, and great food. An absolute must stay.
Gerard Hughes

Room Tip: Book it early .....you will have no regrets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

The superior room was very nice and spacious, but we had to climb many stairs and pass the laundry. The room was clean and very warm. The bathroom has a separate heater. The breakfast buffet was very small and therefore left to the warm breakfast one can order.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had to go to Kilkee at short notice in early March which is well out of this seaside resorts season. Absolutely delighted to get this hotel with someone in reception who only wanted to help and get things organised for us. Nice modern fresh room, lovely food and a view from their conservatory that is second to none. Full service despite the early season.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

After getting seriously burned by Skyes Cottages on a property. My son and I asked my estate agent where we could stay for the remained of our trip. She recommended Stella Maris. We walked in and it was charming. The front desk girl was very friendly and helpful. We got a room for 3 nights and it was fantastic. Almost like a small apartment. 2 double beds with cut window seats. Each of us had our own TV and phone. Staff was amazing. Food was excellent, rooms clean and reasonable. Reminded me of the Hotel Del Coronado in California. Very Victorian. Would certainly stay there again in a heartbeat. A true gem by the Sea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stella Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel

Address: O' Connell St., Kilkee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kilkee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Kilkee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Maris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.