We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stella Maris Hotel

Stella Maris Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kilkee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stella Maris Hotel
O' Connell St., Kilkee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Kilkee
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a Family run hotel and from check in we where very comfortable , the rooms where very clean the food was wonderfull and the welcomed children and even accepted our dog , Pauline was so good at looking after us and we will definately visit agian .
The location of this hotel is the best in the town .

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor as less stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    20
    1
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
22
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I have never been moved to write a review of a Hotel before but I could not let the weekend that we had, pass with out comment. We and by we I mean my Father my Mother (whom both are 80) my sister and myself stayed in the Stella Maris Hotel in Kilkee for the Easter weekend, Our bags were taken to the rooms for us,the rooms were spotlessly clean, then we sat down to have dinner what a wonderful menu and the food was only beautiful, we spent the weekend relaxing, taking in the view of the bay which was just outside the windows, and walking about, as the Hotel is in the centre of the town. All the Staff were so, nice, and very polite, which really made our stay a weekend to remember they were very helpful in every way and they had a wonderful attention to detail in regards to my parents. The cost of this weekend was reasonable, We are all looking forward to staying again, Thank you so very much Patricia and the family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my partner went here in feb 2012 . We never booked anywhere and we found this hotel right beside the waterfront in killee co. Clare. When we went to book hotel we were shown the room which was quite spacious and very clean so we took the room. The price was quite reasonable as well. We went down to dinner and the menu was well priced with a lot of choice. We had decided that if the food was food we would stay the next night which was valentines nite. The food was gorgeous which good portions do we booked the second night. As it was valentines night we also booked dinner which was a very good price of 25 euro per person for three courses and a glass of champagne. We went to the bar and had a great chat with the friendly barman who told us lots about the area. The next morning we had a lovely breakfast and headed off for the day. Our meal the next night was suberb. We will definitely go back to this hotel as it is little gem in kilkee . Thanks very much for a lovely two days. Hope to return in the near future
Deirdre and Paul

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talkeetna, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I stayed here with out a reservation ahead of time and loved this hotel! Everyone was very nice and it was spotless. They served meals and the food was delicious. Even locals were coming in for dinner. It is located very close to the beautiful beach and this time of year it was very quiet in Kilkee. It was a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This review is a bit late but the experience is still quite memorable. My husband and I traveled to Kilkee and stayed at a lovely B&B in town about twenty years ago. We wanted to revisit when we were back in town about four years ago but found it had since changed hands and was not longer running as a B&B. Fortunately enough we needed a place to stay and came across this lovely hotel. The location is great, the staff were very pleasant, and the meals were delicious. There is a lovely pub onsite with a very inviting fireplace where we had some enjoyable conversations with other patrons. We were pleasantly surprised when we found out that the woman, Ms. Prentigras, who had originally run the B&B twenty years back was still living in town came down to meet with us one evening. This is definitely a place to return to.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, the room was more than big enough for a family of four: it had enough space to dance in!!
The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of the seaside town which enabled the children to have more independance than usual.
The food was fantastic and the breakfast was more than substantial to start the day.
The staff work extremely hard in this hotel and deserve every bit of credit!
The only problem was that our stay couldnt be longer.......Thank you Ann & family & staff!!!!
See you again next year. Ellie, Martin & boys x

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have just returned from a fantastic stay in the Stella Maris Hotel in Kilkee. This is an excellent establishment offering real value for money in a fantastic location. The Hotel is located right in the center of Kilkee and two minutes from the breach. Our room was large modern, very clear and we had an excellent en-suite bathroom . The only thing we could fault was the lack of a remote control for the TV which were told had been stolen. This aside the staff were excellent. The breakfast was very good and we were offered a wide choice to select from with lots of toast and tea and coffee. We had dinner there on two nights and we really enjoyed it. While this does not claim to be a 5 star hotel it provides everything that is required for a very comfortable and enjoyable stay and I would be delighted to return again.

Room Tip: I don't normally recommend hotels, but I would recommend this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stella Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Hotel

Address: O' Connell St., Kilkee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Kilkee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Kilkee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella Maris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stella Maris Hotel to your Saves list