We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing camp site” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Purecamping

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Purecamping to your Saves list
Purecamping
Querrin | Kilkee, Co. Clare, Kilkee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing camp site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have just come back from spending an amazing week with Purecamping, it is by far the best camp site we have ever stayed in, we felt so relaxed and welcomed, there is a lovely atmosphere, our kids had so much fun, they played in the playground and in the lovely woodland, our youngest two loved the big dome and played with the toys in there, the camping kitchen was great we loved it and a great social spot, we had a great night with other campers we met over pizza from the clay oven. we also had lovely evenings with a camp fire and roasting marshmallows, you are not allowed cars down to were you camp which is great, nothing worse than worrying about playing children and cars. all I can say is, I would highly recommend PureCamping to anyone, you have lovely bell tents with stoves for glamping, or like us pitch your own tent, great place, great owners so friendly and nice, we can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Killorglin,Kerry
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

I'd highly recommend pure camping as one the nicest camp sites I have ever visited.

The site is car free (there is a fleet of wheel barrows for bringing things from your car to your pitch) which makes it very quiet and child friendly. There is also space for 2 camper vans near the car park.

The location is good (but no pubs or shops in walking distance), short walk to good swimming spot at Querrin pier and short cycle/drive to Kilkee.

But the thing that makes this site so nice is the atmosphere. Whether it is the craic in the communal kitchen, the camp fire or the pizza oven there are lots of nice places to hang out.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for two nights in a bell tent. The tent was lovely and clean inside with rugs on the floor and our bed was ready and made for us. The tent also included a little stove for heat. There was a supply of wood there and the owner gave us a lesson in lighting the stove, but as the weather was warm enough we never actually used it. The owners of the site were really welcoming and helpful; they go about their business with a wonderful calm efficiency. The view of the Shannon Estuary is lovely and there is a huge area of woodland beside the camping area which is brilliant for exploring with children. The toilet and shower block are basic but clean. The site is a good ten minute drive from Kilkee and civilisation generally but that only adds to the peace. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were a party of five women aged 28-59, most of whom had not been camping for many a year. This was a surprise trip organised by the youngest of our gang. The softer ones in the party were enticed to Querrin with the promise of glamping while the hardier ones were told only that there were tents. What we found was a cosy yet spacious bell tent complete with beds and wood burning stove, with a view of the Shannon estuary and enough distance from other tents that our occasional giddy laughter didn't disturb the other campers. I won't say the beds were the most comfortable in the world but then I'm a big sook who likes her comfort and in any case, the early morning yoga with Trea was more than enough to stretch any stiffnesses out. Don't expect chandeliers and champagne, instead there are fire pits & eco-living & chooks running round the gravel floor of the kitchen shack. It's perfect.

There is an odd review on here that jars with me a lot. We are a gang of muckers from Tipp. We are not latte-sipping Hunter-toting precious suburbanites. We were welcomed and made to feel completely at home (as much as one can feel at home under canvas with 4 women). Trea could not have been more helpful, advising us where to go & what to do. If you come expecting 5 star glamour you'll be disappointed but happily (& in contrast to what the rather snobbish reviewer said) the place is unpretentious, chilled out and fairly hipster-free. It doesn't have access to the shore but the shore is only a short walk away and the fabulous beaches & rockpools of Kilkee are only a 10 min drive away.
We also went to Thallasotherapy spa in Kilkee & went horse riding in Querrin with Carmen - highly recommend both. The whole thing made for an amazing weekend.
I'm already making plans to return with Himself & the smallies, the place is very family friendly too.

5stars for the whole experience. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was a lovely way to spend a weekend away. Very relaxed atmosphere, beautiful tents and yoga classes in the morning. Trea was really helpful advising us where to go when one of our activities was cancelled due to sea conditions and she knows everything about the locality. As someone who is used to festival camping and slumming it, this was a very glamorous camping trip for me! But I was with my older sisters and aunt who area bit more upmarket and they thought it was great craic. Definitely a good experience for people from all walks of life.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Ireland
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I was drawn to this place by all the rave reviews and although it was quite nice to camp there i feel there needs to be some antidote to the hype as the place is far from the perfect utopia of camping that people are making out .If you are an obviously working class tourist or a backpacker on a budget then the welcome mat may not be rolled out so readily for you as it will be for middle class eco wannabies or D4 champions of cappucino culture. laundry facilities were refused to me , the children's slide was dangerously defective with a long piece of metal sticking out at an angle which could have been fixed with a 50c half inch nut and bolt but it was broken when we arrived and was still swinging in the wind when we left. the toilets had some interesting plumbing work with taps and plughole present but no piping going in or out so that some sinks could not be used at all .There was no beach access and the kitchen facilities could have been better. We personally felt a bit shunned and although trumpeting themselves as an eco friendly campsite it is blatantly obvious that every ecological issue that arose when building this place was not fixed in a fully ecological way but rather by throwing a pile of cash at it and so the experience felt more than a bit fake. All in all not a bad place but wear your best clothes and speak in a Dublin 4 accent if you want to be welcomed in pure camping.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

All the fun of camping with none of the hassle. We had an amazing stay, real earthy fun, topped off with a fabulous yoga session Saturday morning. Fantastic facilities, the shower/toilet facilities are as good as at home. Will definitely be going again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Purecamping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purecamping

Address: Querrin | Kilkee, Co. Clare, Kilkee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kilkee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Purecamping, experience nature, and renew your energy. We offer a step back in time camping experience. The site, with its 10-acre native woodland, is south-facing on the Shannon Estuary. Luxury furnished bell tents, complete with stoves. Standard pitches in the main field, or for the more adventurous, in the woods. Eco-technology: solar panels/wood boiler, rainwater harvesting, well water, and reedbed Standard and compost toilets. Campfires allowed. Recycling and composting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Purecamping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purecamping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.