We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Pantry

The Pantry
O'Curry St., Kilkee, Ireland (Formerly Pantry)
+353 65 905 6576
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Kilkee
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Bakery, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Description: The Pantry Cafe, Deli and Cookery School was established in 1982 by home economics teacher Imelda Bourke, and since then has earned a reputation as one of Kilkee's best food emporia, right in the heart of town. The cafe is open from Easter to the end of September and offers breakfast from 8.30Am, as well as lunch, soups, salads and sandwiches. All the menus feature local home-made produce and cater for coeliacs. At the side leading to the beach the deli caters for all your needs with cakes to die for and fish pies , Salads and Fresh Salmon , crab and healthy food for all your parties while holidaying in Kilkee. The Pantry is a member of Loop head Tourism and endeavour to use all local products , with Bridestone awards and Lonely Planet recommendations.
Kilkee, Clare, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Restaurant is fairly expensive and portion sizes are small. I do like their bakery but again it is quite pricey

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    33
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Kilkee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Kilkee is my favorite place in the world. I see many of my old friends at the pantry. The food is good, the bakery and the scones are excellent. The staff is very pleasant and it's a home away from home for people who know Kilkee

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really good Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I like to eat here. The food is tasty, fresh and great portions. They are very child friendly. They also have a shop where you can get great food to cook at home

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Kilkee Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Pantry adds immeasurably to the Kilkee experience. This year I served up a lunch for friends using their takeaway offerings: sublime poached salmon, varied salads with delicate dressings, home made breads and pastries. I am a regular there over the summer months for morning coffee and treats like carrot cake end enjoy the fresh quiche at lunch time. What a pity they close over the winter months, but I notice that they now offer cookery lessons where we can pick up all the tricks. Well done The Pantry for consistent high quality local food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Carrot Cake and Scones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hi I was in the Pantry in august on a few occassions , never ate any thing like there carrot cake nicest I have eaten and always get a slice in places it was lovely and moist as for the scones with Jam and cream fab cinamon ones fab other ones the same tried a good few . not good for the scales after it but was worth it

Thanks Teresa

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pantry also viewed

Kilkee, County Clare
 
Kilkee, County Clare
 

Been to The Pantry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pantry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.