We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marine Hotel

Marine Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Marine Hotel to your Saves list
Marine Hotel
Circular Road, Kilkee, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Kilkee B&B and Inns
Laytown Co Meath
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Simply Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

When a colleague and I arrived at this hotel we were extremely disappointed. Our first sight after travelling for 5 hours was a huge metal cage that surrounded the bar and a very disgusting damp smell (this was at 7pm in the evening) as we entered the premises.

When we approached the reception area there was a sign telling us "if we required assistance that we had to phone ********* when we did this a girl appeared. When we asked the girl about our booking she had no knowledge of it despite the fact I had previously given my credit card details to someone posing as a receptionist, she then informed us that the rate for a single occupancy room was €79.00 which did not include breakfast. I was shocked at this as we had previously agreed €59.00 per night.

I then enquired about the restaurant and we were informed that the restaurant closed over a year ago. Needless to say it is then we informed the girl we simply could not stay on these premises and left. When you view the hotel on booking.com the hotel lists it's facilities as having a restaurant but there is none so beware there are much nicer places located in Kilkee for a much better rate. This premises is now a shell of a hotel that I would not stay in if I got a room for free. (See Bay View Bed & Breakfast)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    2
    3
    9
See reviews for
8
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Arrived after working nearby, hotel was pre-booked at agreed rate (they had no record of this). When we arrived they had no resteraunt, no breakfast on offer (despite the fact they advertise this on their website) and wanted €79/night (this was during the week) just for a bed. Its basically a scabby pub with a few rooms and apartments. The place reaked of damp and had no one on reception when we arrived, we didnt bother staying but found an excellent B+B nearby for €40 a night that incuded breakfast. A disgrace to Irish Tourism! Suprised they are in business at all, the prices are outrageous. Avoid at costs.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My stay at Marine Hotel and Apartment Complex went terribly. They did not know about my reservation. They were able to find an apartment for us to stay in which was adequate, but the water pressure was terrible. For awhile I was afraid that we were not going to have a room, which is inappropriate considering how much in advance we made reservations.

As it turns out, it is probably good that they did not have a hotel room for us as it would have been directly over the bar where there was loud partying until late into the night.

There is a gate with a metal plate across the bottom that my daughter tripped over and hurt her knees.

This was our worst accomodation on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location beside the beach and main street where the bars and restaurants are located.

The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

We were a group of lads staying for a weekend and were very well looked after. No issues with late checkouts or late breakfasts. They also provided a BBQ for us.

Great choice for a group. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We booked in advance for one night Sunday 7th August. Requested room on ground floor.
Was told only one left.
The room (105) was really lower quality than would be expected - no wardrobe, one bedside locker. Bed needs to be binned.
There was a musty smell and rather damp. Our clothes smelt like the room the following morning.
We would have asked for another room but was told on booking that there was only one left on the ground floor.
breakfast was a joke - no hot breakfast - just the remains of some breads and hamandcheeses open to the elements - no cover!. We wer not told on booking that they do not do hot breakfasts on weekdays - even the croissants were not available - person who makes them never turned up!
Tables were filthy with no cups butter side plates - I could go on but for €79 it was not very nice.
I complained but Manager was less than apologetic and was more interested in blaming us for not bringing the shortcomings to his attention earlier.
Wont be back.

Tables were left dirty from other patrons.
I knocked on kitchen door for service - peeped in and called out - silence!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed for one night in The Maine Hotel in Kilkee. Have to stay at the start that all the staff were very nice and helpful, no complaints there. However, the room (a twin room) was far from ok. It was dirty, the beds were small and very uncomfortable and the pillows were a disgrace. Small and flat with no support, it was more like a worn out piece of sponge than a pillow!! This hotel seems very out-dated!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineKilkee, Public Relations Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Hi Alang1990. thank you for choosing to stay at the Marine Hotel Kilkee and for taking the time to submit a review. Its good to hear that you thought our staff were helpul and friendly on your arrival. I was disapointed to read that you thought our hotel was out dated. the Hotel has recently being renovated and we try to keep our rooms to the highest standard. I will ask our housekeeping manager to perfrom a comfort check on all the rooms to ensure they match the standards expected by our customers. I would appreciate to hear from you directly to discuss your visit in more detail and to identify which room you stayed in.

Kind Regards,
Des
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Had a great time here, travelled over for a wedding of friends of ours with a big gang English drinking lunatics. Guiness was tops, the staff so helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough enough for us, the breakfast was fab. Thanks for putting up with stan the can and Dillon no brains, they are an aquired taste but didn't faze the staff. I hope you enjoyed the crack with us, especially bar olympics, as much as we enjoyed staying with you. The location is amazing, all amenities 2 mins away, beach is beautiful and coastal walk amazing, pollock holes a must. Will be back soon, Jimmy the beard and Kath xxxxx.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarineKilkee, Public Relations Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Hi Jimmy and Kath, great to hear from you.
Thank you so much for your kind review, it was an absolute pleasure to have you for the weekend. We had a great time, and will never forget the olympics! I will pass on your kind words to all the staff in the Marine. Tell Stan, Dillion and all the gang that the staff all said hi and hope your keeping well. We hope we get the chance to welcome you all again to the Marine in the near future.
All the best,
Des
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: Circular Road, Kilkee, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkee
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marine Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.