We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jackie and Dave Cork” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View B&B

Save Saved
You added Bay View B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay View B&B
O'Connell Street, Kilkee, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Kilkee B&B and Inns
Cork, Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Jackie and Dave Cork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We are just back from our stay at the Bay View April 2013. It was a most enjoyable stay in a B&B ever. The hospitality of Mary and John was super. It had all the ammeneties of a 5 star hotel, the room standards are superb, modern and pristeen. Our room overlooked the bay, just nice to relax and look at the ocean. Thank you Mary for the late night pot of tea. We would definately go back to Bay View without a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at Bay View B&B, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Jackie and Dave,
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at the Bayview. Thank you also for the glowing review of Bayview, Mary will endeavour to ensure her guests enjoy there stay, so a late night pot of tea is not a problem but we soon hope to have tea\coffee maker in the room.
Regards,
John Hickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    33
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
73
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Bay View on March 22, 2013. We had a beautiful family room with views of the bay. It was immaculate, spacious and had a big bathroom. The owner, Mrs. Mary Hickey couldn't have been nicer. She even helped us to find our relatives in the next town, Kilrush. I knew my mother had cousins there but had not been able to connect before we flew over. She made a phone call and the next day we met our cousins which was the highlight of our trip.
She went above and beyond for us. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and her staff were friendly and helpful at all times. It was delightful and we would love to return one day. The pub attached is also very nice inside and completes the whole experience.

Room Tip: The Family room was spacious and just perfect for us. We were a family of 4 and had plenty of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Owner at Bay View B&B, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear KathleenW430,
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Bayview. I am delighted you enjoyed your whole experience while staying at BayView, Mary will try whatever is possible to ensure her guests enjoy a pleasant stay. We hope you will return to stay with us in the future.
Regards,
John Hickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed one night here in February and found it delightful. Great value for the price and just plain great value. It was dusk and I needed a place to sleep but this truned out to be a good experience. Staff was most helpful with my suitcase and overall pleasant.
The restaurant across the street was great too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at Bay View B&B, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear lleanaM180,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at BayView and would love to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
John Hickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at lovely Bay view at the start of March. Basically it is like a 5 star hotel, but with a warm and super friendly atmosphere. Mary and John the owners were just wonderful to us. Its worth going just to be pampered by Mary....it was like having a loving mum take care of you at breakfast and then you went off for the day and enjoyed the lovey surrounding area. The whole place was spotlessly clean. The bedrooms were so pretty and large and the heating was on, so after a cold day out, it was lovely to go bk to your super pretty, clean and warm room. We were lucky enough to have a view of the sea, so you could sit in and just watch the waves come and go . You could totally un wind there.
It was one of the best pints of Guinness, weve ever had aswell.
it was a shame that we could not eat at night there, I bet Mary would be able to cook a wonderful pie or other home made foods.
We will defo take the children next time, as Mary says they have family rooms also.
all in all, we had a wonderful time there.
There was great live music every sat night.
We felt it was super value for money.......the rooms and service really are worth a lot more than 80 euros a night.
weve paid a lot more before, for some truly horrid place.....
We would defo recommend staying there to any one.
Bay view is warm, friendly, sweet, clean and loved.
definitely a 5 star accommodation in our eyes.
Thank you lovely Mary and John.......it truly was a delight to stay at your lovey b&b.

Room Tip: the one with the bay have the best views of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at Bay View B&B, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear sasandstevie,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Bayview. I would also like to thank you so much on behalf of both Mary and I for such a glowing review, it makes all the hard work seem worthwhile. We would be delighted to have you and your family return in the future.
Regards,
John Hickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

stayed here late march 2013 with my family and in-laws. Spotlessly clean hotel. Clearly has been refurbiished and to a high standard. Rooms are well appointed and spacious.

Good heating in the rooms - requried given the time of year. We spend the evening in the on-site bar which is part of the hotel. Nice crowd, warm fire, nice deco.

Fresh Irish breakfast the next morning. No hesitiation in recommending this hotel - especially to US visitors who are touring the West of Ireland on vacation.

Room Tip: Great family room - attic conversion, very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at Bay View B&B, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear itsmspadge1,
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Bayview,we value all feedback and are delighted you enjoyed our product. I do hope we have the chance to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Reegards,
John Hickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Kilkee in Ireland is a great family resort that myself & my brothers used to go when we were children.My mums family is from there & myself & my brothers came back here for a weekend to bring back ours mums ashes.We travelled over & didn't get to Kilkee till quite late but we still received a warm welcome from Mary & John Hickie.This place is a fabulous little guest house.I say guest house but more like a boutique hotel.There are some rooms with sea views of the horseshoe bay & the room I had was very spacious.massive bathroom.very recently decorated with new carpets that your feet sink into.Nice comfy cosy bed with some nice furniture & plenty of storage space.They also have some slippers & dressing gowns.Breakfast was fab,good choice on offer from a full Irish breakfast to pancakes with maple syrup or omelettes.Brown soda bread,plenty of tea & coffee.The polish waitress who does the breakfast is lovely as are Mary & John.Nothing is too much trouble door them.There is some parking outside the hotel but I don't know what it would be like at a busier time of year.The hotel does have live music at weekends & is open quite late & you do hear the music but it didn't bother me too much.There are some rooms I think that you don't hear anything.You may be better to ask for a quieter room if you have a young family.If there is anything at all you need you are better to just ask John or Mary they can accommodate you.We loved staying here & would definitely stay here again.Thanks guys for your kind hospitality at a difficult time.It made it so much easier for us,

Room Tip: i think there are some rooms at the back of the property which maybe quieter if you have a family.ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at Bay View B&B, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear MrsThirsty1,
Thank you for your glowing review, we thrive on all feedback but are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced Bayview at its best. Regards,
J Hickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in the family room while visiting family. The family room we were given was 5 star quality, huge, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable . The staff were so friendly and welcoming and we had an unexpected great evening in the adjoining bar as a great band played. All in all cant wait to go back! Weldone to all who work there as we have high standards!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jhick, Manager at Bay View B&B, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear kiernat123,
Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Bayview. Thank you very much for our kind review, we look forward to having you return to the Bayview. Regards,
J Hickie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View B&B

Address: O'Connell Street, Kilkee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.