We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Irish B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay View B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay View B&B to your Saves list
Bay View B&B
O'Connell Street, Kilkee, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Kilkee B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Traditional Irish B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Great little B&B in a perfect location in Kilkee. The family room was huge and very comfortable. Free WiFi worked well from the room. Lovely hospitality and the best black pudding I've ever had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    41
    14
    11
    6
See reviews for
56
88
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My Boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at the Bay View B&B (and in Kilkee!). On arrival Mary gave us a choice of two rooms, which was very nice. We choose a town view above Hickeys Bar as it was a lovely room and we knew we would be out that evening. The rooms were very nicely furnished with beautiful cream plush carpets. The bathrooms were also brand new and everything was spotless. We had just come from another hotel in Clare and commented that this B&B was far superior.
During our stay, we went on the Cliff walk as recommended by Mary. We had just come from the Cliffs of Moher, however we were pleasantly surprise by this breathtaking walk. We Irish really need to get out of our daily/weekly routine and (re)discover the beauty of our own country.

That evening we went for a pre-dinner drink in Hickeys Pub. We both really like the pub as it was quaint, nicely decorated and well run. We actually met Mary coming back with the shopping for next morning’s breakfast. Speaking of Breakfast, we enjoyed our ‘Full Irish’ with a wonderful view of Kilkee beach – beautiful!

We would recommend this B&B to anyone. What a lovely getaway!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Bar are quieter if you are not planning on partaking in the local nite life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Really a small hotel than a B&B the Bay View manages to provide extremely pleasant rooms, great bathrooms and fantastic power showers, while retaining; through Mary's attention, the personal touch of a B&B. There's much praise for the breakfasts, which is well earned (particularly the Irish pudding).

A caution - the whole town in tourist season can be loud and rooms at the front that benefit from the sea views can also suffer the the noise from the street and the downstairs lounge bar. Also the cleaning staff have a very indiosyncratic way of tidying the rooms and stuff gets shuffled around - its all there, just not where expected!

In summary - we had a great stay and would recommend (particularly the quieter rooms at the back!).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Wonderful B&B located in the heart of town with a breathtaking view of the beach and harbor. The ensuite rooms are spacious, nicely furnished, and bright with windows. The breakfast room was very comfortable and the food was delicious. Smoked salmon was offered as an alternative for those who were a bit weary of the Irish fry, and it was amazing. The B&B is located close to a nice variety of restaurants and pubs. Easy walk to one of the nicest beaches in Ireland. Don't miss the cliffs south of town!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Bridgwater, Somerset, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Eight of us stayed in June 11. Nicely refurbished rooms and ensuites, an ironing board and iron supplied in room, no tea facilities in room, but when we asked down stairs, a fresh brew and biscuits was immediately forthcoming foc for all of us. Booking via email with John very swift and easy and Mary works very hard (she stayed up until 3.00am one night that I know of and was back on duty at breakfast). Nice full Irish breakfast, clean and central. It was a bit chilly when we arrived (this is the west coast of Ireland after all) but the heating came on early evening to take the chill off and you don't need over heated stuffy rooms in June. Parking was on street, but not a problem. We would recommend this friendly B & B.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

After reading some of the reviews on here we weren't sure what we should expect. But we were delighted with the place. The rooms were clean and ours was a very good size. It was a great location with views of the Kilkee beach. We just stayed in the pub below the hotel on the first night and it was great craic all together. They had a live band and the place was packed. I will say that if you wanted an early night it would be hard to get sleep as you could hear everything going on below you in the pub downstairs crystal clear. But we weren't there for an early night so it wasn't a bother to us. The breakfast each morning was delicious. You had your choice of a full irish, eggs with salmon, cereals, croissants, etc. We're planning on doing the same weekend next summer and will definitely be staying here again. The owner Mary was as nice as can be and gave you a good country welcoming. Overall, perfect spot in a great little town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

stayed at the bay view in june for two nights lovely room and very clean over looking the bay.breakfast was great.Mary john and the staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome.thanks jackie uk Mavis Australia

Room Tip: room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay View B&B

Address: O'Connell Street, Kilkee, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilkee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kilkee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bay View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.