We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wooden Spoon

The Wooden Spoon
Bridge Street, Killaloe County Dublin, Ireland
+353 61 622 415
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Killaloe
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Great place!! Great Food!! Just Great! I had chicken focaccia...really good.. Brilliant coffee and attentive staff. We will be back...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    21
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My family and I visited this restaurant recently. The decor/ambience is beautiful - very clean and warm. The menu is fresh if a little limited. Delicious lamb served in a warm pitta pocket and great homemade chips. The desserts were not as captivating as the savoury offerings but were nontheless good. Service was prompt overall (perhaps a bit of a wait to order dessert) and very pleasant. I must say that we were there at a busy time and this could account for any wait. Overall I would think it might be even more enjoyable if it were warm enough to sit in their lovely outdoor seating area. The tables indoors were very close together and any kind of private conversation was impossible. We were fairly impressed in general and would return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food & cakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Had lunch here with 2 friends and we all loved it. It is decorated beautifully, very cute. All three mains were excellent and the cakes & coffee divine. Well worth stopping here!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
“Lovely Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Lovely relaxed atmosphere. Good Food, pleasant staff. Lovely place to meet up for a cuppa with friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I like the Wooden Spoon on a while but having visited about six times in total on the last two I came away thinking I was a bit dissatisfied and a little ripped off. The coffee here is great and the cakes are good but the lunch time fare is nice but pricey for what is is...cafe fare. I can't help feeling a little ripped off on last occasion when my dish of lamb in pitta was served with salad & fried potatoes the salad consisted of just rocket and the lamb was rationed ...for 11.50 seemed saucy. The service is a bit haphazard and I think if a more mature person was managing the floor it would work better. The cakes are still amazing though!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wooden Spoon also viewed

Killaloe, County Clare
Killaloe, County Clare
 
Killaloe, County Clare
 

Been to The Wooden Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wooden Spoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.