We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goosers is TOP KNOTCH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goosers Bar & Eating House

Goosers Bar & Eating House
Main Street | Ballina, Killaloe, Ireland
+353 (0)61 376791
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Killaloe
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Bangor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Goosers is TOP KNOTCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

My latest trip round Ireland on motorbikes departed Bangor NI on Thur 12th April, going to Dingle then on round to Ballina on Lough Derg where I called into Goosers bar and restaurant where I had ate before on a different trip. This pub is excellent value for money food wise and the staff are all very pleasant and helpful. Sometimes when you go to somewhere nice to eat you can be lucky and get it right but Goosers shows that they get it right all the time. If you arrive and the weather is sunny and you can get a table outside the view is very pleasant to sit and admire while having some food and maybe a we pint of Guinness. A very relaxing pub/restaurant to eat in I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Goosers keep up the standards. Thanks

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    37
    15
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food in a traditional Irish riverside bar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Must be one the best bar restaurants in Ireland in a super location

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kildare, Ireland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Excellent spot for a quick bite - will return for full meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My partner and I were visiting Killaloe on Sunday and decided to drop into Goosers for a light lunch - we had completely forgotten that it was Mother's day! However the friendly hostess offered us stools at the bar and we were given menus immediately. We both decided to just order a starter each as we were going out for dinner later that evening. He had a Caesar salad and I had a goat's cheese and spiced pear tartlet - both were excellent and generously sized portions. Service was prompt and very friendly - this was despite the fact that the place was very busy. I would definitely go back to have a full meal as the menu was excellent - much choice and imaginative.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Benefit of the doubt?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012 via mobile

What a shame, we must have hit this place on a bad day. Everything looked great, really cosy atmosphere , nice looking menu, good reputation , we were heading to limerick and diverted especially to eat here.

We both ordered breast of chicken with tarragon sauce. It did not work on any level . Tough chicken unseasoned sauce, old flat mushrooms that tasted awful and should not have been there in the first place, chicken served on mash and then served with colcannon, that tasted awful.chips dry and the oil needed a change. 14.95
I had a sticky toffee pud with ice cream for desert , it was lovely. I was disappointed, I know this place can be bettet

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloughjordan, Co Offaly
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent service and really friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

We've dined in the bar on several occasions and love the atmosphere and the friendly staff. The menu is good with lots to choose from but the veggie options are limited, prices are good too.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goosers Bar & Eating House also viewed

Killaloe, County Clare
 
Killaloe, County Clare
 

Been to Goosers Bar & Eating House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goosers Bar & Eating House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.