We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the spot in Killaloe...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flanagan's on the Lake

Flanagan's on the Lake
Ballina/Killaloe, Killaloe, Ireland
061 622790
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Killaloe
Price range: $6 - $40
Cuisines: European, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This is the spot in Killaloe...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Well,

Just writing a quick note to convey my utmost appreciation for the dining and all round experience I had at Flanagan's last Saturday night.

This fine establishment situated right on the water in a beautiful setting catered for a group of thirty of us without batting an eyelid. The food was very tasty by all accounts and all arrived promptly together. Their service was carried out with a smile and they endevoured to help out wherever they could. Not only were we treated to this wonderful meal they also foolowed up with some stellar live music by a Bluegrass band that kept us from moving onto the pub, which we might've done had the entertainment not been so good.

Fair play to Cathal & Co. had an absolute ball!

Would highly recommend...

R. Boland

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    35
    9
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good with the potential to be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We visited Flanagan's recently as a group of four, and had an enjoyable evening meal. The waiter/barman was most helpful and ensured that we got a good seat, and that we were attended to promptly.

The group shared starters of prawns, spicy chicken wings, and 3-dips accompanied with fresh bread. All were excellent. Three of the four of us had sirlion or fillet steak, and found that while cut / quality of meat used was one of the best eaten for quite a while, the temperature of the meat was slight colder than what it should have been. It was as if the kitcken got the timing of the preparation wrong and had the steaks ready before everything else. The french fries that accompanied the steaks were the standard frozen type, which was a little disappointing. The breakfast cafe around the corner manages to serve fresh cut chips with each breakfast it serves with no issues, so why cant Flanagan's? Despite this, it was still tasty and nothing was left befind. The fourth person had chicken curry, which was very good.

Flanagan's has a good wine selection, which provided excellent options to accompany the meal.

Top class venue, great service, decent food & drink with the potential to be better at a decent price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mullingar
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

over priced for what you get, steer clear of the pizza, lovely place tho, friendly staff, lovely sitting area in from of the restaurant

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We dined with some friends last Saturday and experienced first class service and a first class meal at a table overlooking the river. Good value for money in a marvelous setting and we will certainly be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Looking for a nice lunch before taking a boat trip on Lough Derg, and we found it. Service was friendly and prompt without being rushed, food was very good, generous portions and reasonably priced. We enjoyed the burger, the steak and Guinness pie with mash topping, and fish & chips in a light beer batter. We'd happily go back again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flanagan's on the Lake also viewed

Killaloe, County Clare
 
Killaloe, County Clare
Killaloe, County Clare
 

Been to Flanagan's on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flanagan's on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.