We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and beautiful grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The K Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The K Club to your Saves list
The K Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Straffan
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and beautiful grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is lovely, classic and grand. Reception people were very helpful and did everything to make our stay perfect.
We had a Superior Room that was spotless and spacious, overlooking the gardens and the river. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant the first night and at the golf club the second night, a shuttle bus takes you to the later. Both good but I personally preferred the choice at the hotel's restaurant. An impressive choice for breakfast with a cold buffet and cooked breakfast on order.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear BaronRed,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you received our wonderful 5 star service throughout your stay! We do work very hard as a team to ensure that every aspect of The K Club offers the very best for our guests.

Hopefully I will get the opportunity to welcome you back to The K Club again in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome.

Yours Sincerely,

Audrey Brophy

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    90
    49
    8
    8
See reviews for
83
235
3
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Staying 2 nights with a group of friends - celebrating birthdays and a wedding anniversary, we couldn't have had a more relaxing enjoyable time.

The building is very special and you really do feel you are stepping back in time - people have moaned that this isn't right and that needs updating - yes there were a few marks on some furniture and the curtains above the bed were a tad dusty but honestly if that is what you take away from here you really don't deserve to have visited.

It was serene and charming stately and weirdly homely all at once.
The staff are very lively lovely people - concierge and reception staff particularly good to us.

Our partners thoroughly enjoyed their golf and we enjoyed a bit of TLC
Enjoying a few drinks in the drawing room after walking the countryside and enjoying the spa - I couldn't have felt any more relaxed.

I hope to return someday until then - Well done to everyone working there & the owners for retaining traditional irish values of good food , friendship and comfort - and of course your special taste of historic charm!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed here on business and the hotel is lovely, service faultless and the spa is nice and modern.
The bathroom was very tired and old fashioned (80's style bathroom suite).
It could do with a revamp.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at 1pm as transfer from airport was quicker than expected. The drive up to the hotel is very green although as you arrive at the back (compared to all the photos you ever see) it didn't look quite as grand as we expected, although it didnt bother us! Our room was ready so we very impressed from the outset, a tone that stayed throughout our 2 night stay. Reception staff amongst the courteous we've ever come across and it was nice to see they were all irish (as opposed to eastern european....!) We were shown to our room although as it was by a work exp. student we didnt really get shown how to work anything, which actually did have a knock on as we were cold (with the extra blanket!) in the night.
The hotel was immaculate, with lovely relaxing music playing in public areas, typing this I want to be back there!!!
The room was spacious, light and airy and with a huge bathroom. The bath was the centrepiece and even had a rubber duck! It was also beautifully decorated too.
We dined at the River Room and the food was exceptional, Michelin star standard, with matching prices though, but in a hotel like this you've got to expect it! There was such a fusion of flavours with every dish, from beetroot ice-cream to champagne jelly, truly delicious.
We had a drink at Legends bar, a lovely picturesque setting at the end of the 18th hole on the Legends golf-course, i imagine on a sunny evening when the sun is out its gloriuos sitting on the balcony. We actually got a beautiful red sunset as we sat there, inside though! They couldve done with a cosy log fire in there if theres one thing I could suggest.
Leisure-wise there is such an expanse of green that you can walk on, but there isnt really a map for the ehole grounds, just the immediate vicinity of a few hundred square metres I'd say. Defo something that needs adding as the grounds (even in Winter are lovely) and so peaceful to wander through, but of a longer nature, alog buggy paths maybe, but as you dont know where they are....!! Spa-wise, very clean, quiet and chic. Pool a decent size, outdoor hottub perfect, just a shame me and the husband had to go in seperate sauna and steams in respective changing rooms!!!
All in all, lovely setting, perfect ambience and would defo recommend and we will one day return, in the Summer!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we have taken your comments on board. A map of the beautiful surroundings here is essential and something which we are sure to include in the future.

It is great to receive feedback like yours as it helps us to continually improve to offer our guests the ultimate 5 star experience. Here at The K Club we work very hard as a team to insure each guest has a memorable & enjoyable experience.

I look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back to The K Club again in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome.

Yours Sincerely,

Audrey Brophy

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed during Halloween half term with my husband and two children for two nights. Absolutely overwhelmed by the grounds as soon as we entered the gates from the main road. The hotel is beautiful and the interiors stay true to the style of the building. The staff were outstanding, polite and helpful. The hotel and room felt incredible tranquil and it was only at breakfast that we realised that the hotel must be near to full. We stayed on the bottom floor with the two children in the adjacent room. Each had a wonderful private terrace over looking one of the holes on the golf coarse (my husband most impressed). My husband and 13 year old son played a round on each of the golf courses and thought they were both fantastic and that the pro that they dealt with was very friendly and helpful. We dinned in the drawing room for lunch and one of the golf clubs for the first evening both lovely. On the second night myself and my husband had dinner in the main restaurant (included in the package) while the children had room service. My husband was very impressed with his meal but sadly I was not well and was unable to eat most of my main course. The restaurant staff wanted to take it off the bill but I explained that it was part of the package and anyway not their fault as I was feeling unwell (nothing to do with the food). They insisted on doing something to compensate and sent up some beautiful handmade chocolates to my childrens' room which they absolutely loved. I really felt this was a truly unnecessary but lovely gesture and so did my children! I cannot wait to return to the K club in the near future and know it shouldn't be too difficult to convince my husband and children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of everybody here, for your very kind comments about your Halloween trip to The K Club. It makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did and thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The K Club, it's highly appreciated by the team here.

I'm sorry to hear you were unwell, hopefully during future stays you can fully enjoy your meal in The River Room Restaurant but I am delighted your children enjoyed the handmade chocolates!

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to The K Club again.

Yours Sincerely,

Audrey Brophy

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arrived at the hotel early but within 15 mins were given the key to our room. A nice surprise. Our room was lovely especially the bathroom that was handpainted and lovely and warm. We ate in the Riverside room and really enjoyed our meal especially the lovely chocolates/ice pops served with our tea. We also ate in the bar at the Smurfit clubhouse and once again thoroughly enjoyed our very tasty meal. Breakfast was great and overall we found the service in the hotel very good especially Stephen who served us afternoon tea. Spa was also good - lovely pool and outside hot tub - just what the doctor ordered! We also enjoyed a nice walk round the grounds and golf course. Would highly recommend the hotel. We visited the Carton Hotel on our way home but much preferred the K Club.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Dawn267,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of The K Club on Trip Advisor. I am especially delighted to hear that you were happy with the service as we work very hard as a team here at The K Club to provide a 5 star service to all our guests.

I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to The K Club again in the near future where you are sure of a warm welcome.

Yours Sincerely,

Audrey Brophy

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed two days at The K Club recently - it was bought on a "deal" - its an expensive place to stay if one had to pay the full price. We were made to feel really welcome by the front of house staff - shown to our room where everything was explained i.e. the workings..how to turn the heating up/down, how to work the TV..all the nice little touches - nothing was too much trouble for them. The temperature in the bedroom was way too high but the controls sorted that out.

We decided to eat at the golf club which is a short walk in the grounds of the hotel - boy was it hot in there - we sat as far away from the fire as possible but the heat was a killer. I ordered steak "medium rare" - it came from the kitcheh "rare" - my husbands meal was very nice. I could have sent my steak back but the thought of waiting in the heat for the steak to be cooked properly was something I did not even consider..the onion rings were not cooked either. So a bit disappointing.

Breakfast was only fair on the first morning, coffee was luke warm and the service not great. However on the second morning everything was first class as one would expect it to be.

Although I have given a few downsides to our stay I would love a return visit - and will watch out for another "deal" - its such an elegant place to stay, beds so comfortable and wide (7ft), every comfort is there to enjoy. I would say "go for it" - we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheKClub, General Manager at The K Club, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear IrelandBobo,

Many thanks for your review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience & feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that in general you really enjoyed your stay with us at The K Club, but disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your dinner & Breakfast.

I have passed your comments on to the team here in the hotel to ensure that we can improve on our service and product offering.

Hopefully I will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The K Club again.

Yours Sincerely,

Audrey Brophy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The K Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The K Club

Address: Straffan, Ireland (Formerly The Kildare Hotel, Spa & Country Club)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Straffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The K Club 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The K Club, Ireland's First AA 5 Red Star Hotel, is located in the heart of the idyllic Irish countryside on the banks of the River Liffey in Straffan, Co.Kildare This long standing member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts offers the very best of pampering, leisure and golf facilities and is only 30 minutes from Dublin. Built in 1832, on the banks of the River Liffey, the original house was modelled on a French Chateau and still retains many of its original architectural features, art work and antiques. It opened as a luxury hotel in 1991 and was Ireland's first AA Five Red Star Property. To this day it continues to deliver the very highest levels of service and standards in terms of its food and beverage offerings, golf, leisure and spa treatments. The mature estate covers an impressive 550 acres and also features a stunning Victorian walled garden and fishing on the River Liffey which runs through the resort. The resident ghillees offer fly fishing on the river and horse riding and clay pigeon shooting are also available along with a range of different country pursuits. The K Club is home to two Championship Golf Courses- The Palmer Ryder Cup Course and the Palmer Designed Smurfit Course. Hailed among the world's finest golf resorts, The K Club was the chosen venue for the 2006 Ryder Cup and host to the European Open from 1995 to 2007. The K Spa, at The K Club, offers a wide variety of treatments for both men and women. The K Spa is an oasis of calm. The minimalist and contemporary decor sets the scene for pure indulgence and mind and body relaxation. The K Spa also features a secluded outdoor hot tub, aromatic herb garden, seven luxurious treatment rooms, two private suites, a Hamam, a Hydrobath, a Vichey Shower and an exotic Rasul Chamber. One of the spa products used at the spa includes, Voya which is made from organically certified seaweed, hand picked from the west coast of Ireland. A range of award winning dining facilities are available to choose from and include both fine dining and informal options. Our Accommodation is sumptuous and truly luxurious, each bedroom has been individually designed, no two rooms are alike and feature original paintings and antiques, meanwhile the bathrooms incorporate hand painted murals. Culture enthusiasts can enjoy regular art talks and tours of The K Clubs extensive private art and antiques collection with the resident art expert. The K Club is home to many important Irish works and even has a room dedicated to the Irish Expressionist painter, J. B Yeats. The Yeats Room features many of Yeats' important paintings and is a riot of colour and texture. Wine cellar tours are also available with our resident sommelier. Families are well catered for and children will love the kids club which offers arts and crafts, nature walks and games. Children will also enjoy using the swimming pool and junior golf clinics which run during the summer. A baby sitting service is also available upon request. The K Club is the ideal country venue for business and leisure travellers, families, weddings and honey mooners, incentive groups, executive retreats and of course, golfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The K Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The k Club Hotel Straffan
k Hotel Straffan
The K Club Ireland/Straffan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The K Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.