We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“barbaric” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barberstown Castle

Save Saved
You added Barberstown Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Barberstown Castle
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Straffan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“barbaric”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We received a voucher from a family member to have dinner at Barberstown Castle and having looked at website decided to stay overnight. So excited as it was our first visit. Our confirmation booking advised dinner in Bartons Rooms Restaurant. It turned out we were the only couple to have dinner in the bar. I pointed this out and was asked would we like her to try swap tables. As we were allocated the table we didnt want to disrupt anyone else. People standing around have a drink while waiting on their table, looking down at what we were eating, not a great ambiance. Moaned again at check out time but got nowhere. We sent a letter and basically were advised it was our fault, we should have taken her up on swaping tables. In their response letter they couldn't even get our surname correct.
There will never be a second vist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    31
    17
    11
    11
See reviews for
31
64
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maynooth, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had a lovely 1st wedding anniversary break here last weekend. Stunning room, gorgeous food and the staff couldn't do enough for us, so genuine and helpful. Such an amazing place, very special. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed in one of their premium rooms, you could live in it it was so roomy. Big four poster bed, plenty of storage, authentic sash windows that actually opened and closed. The bathroom was huge and had all mod cons. Authentic castle feel without the musty smell and do withouts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent one night in Barberstown Castle in September. On arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite which was a nice surprise. The suite was luxurious (antique furniture, four-poster bed & tasteful decorations) with plenty of space in the room & bathroom. Our dinner was included in the price of the package but we could select anything from the al a carte menu which was very nice. Food was excellent and service very good. My only criticism which is small, is that the wine list was mostly French & a little pricey but the house wine was good. The bar is a little small but is atmospheric and cosy. Had a very comfortable nights sleep in the affor-mentioned four-poster. Breakfast was delicious - really fresh and tasty and with friendly service. There isn't a whole lot to do in the hotel (no spa or other facilities) so if you were staying longer you would probably travel to Naas or Newbridge for activities. However, there are lovely grounds and nice tea rooms so to switch off and relax with a book or good company it is perfect. I will be back.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite (room 44) on ground floor - it was lovely and quiet with beautiful furnishings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed overnight and enjoyed outstanding food in the "Tearooms" followed by a few drinks in the sumptuous residents bar. Accommodation and food was fantastic value and staff were very welcoming and accommodating. After a sound nights sleep I found the choice of food at breakfast was comprehensive and the quality 1st class. The Chief should be well please with the quality of food provided. I recommend this hotel for the food alone. Well worth a detour for a visit. I especially liked the little things like the fold down service and the thoughtfulness of the staff with the placement of sufficient fresh drinking water in the room.

Room Tip: Go for a 4 poster bed if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Barberstown Castle is situated just outside the pretty village of Straffan, not very far from a local road which leads to the N4. It is quiet and bucolic, surrounded by green fields beyond the property grounds. The grounds themselves are beautifully maintained, and include wonderful plantings, and old trees - oak, sycamore, ash - whisper in the breeze along the entrance walls. Inside the place is fairly impressive: an airy reception area created in recent years is maintained in a timelessly elegant style, and a bistro-cum-tea-room just off to the right, with vibrantly painted panelling is both spacious and welcoming. The essence of Barberstown is its comfort and warmth. We came to dine and therefore have no opinion on the wedding experience at the Castle, which one gathers is a major part of the business but which takes place in a different section of the hotel. The restaurant and dining-area will appeal to many for its Victorian beauty, its carefully chosen ornaments, several important oil paintings, and its ambience of relaxation. I have visited several times and in autumn, winter and spring, fires blaze all evening, with plenty of comfortable armchairs or sofas available so that one can nestle in and get warm. The hotel includes a Castle Keep, and this is the oldest part of the building, very atmospheric and authentic. The bar is charming, and the bar staff equally so. The place will appeal on a purely visual level to some visitors: colour abounds, tasteful yet colliding, so that the senses are appealed to. The service is excellent and the very busy staff miraculously manage to remain good-humoured despite busy-ness! Our meal the last time we visited? It was good, although steak-lovers might prefer a less well-done steak when it has been ordered medium - but vegetables are superb, seafood excellent, game divine. Desserts - a special interest - are tasty and varied, and a dessert platter is also available for those who want to sample all. The wine list is quite good and will accommodate most palates and pockets from the casual tippler to the genuine wine buff. There is a pianist outside the restaurant most nights, and between the music and the flickering candles, and the grandfather clock in the hall area, the atmosphere is decidedly romantic and likely to make you forget your cares. This really is a charming place for a special evening, and lifts you out of the world of ordinary indifferent meals. It is a place to linger in, not to rush through, and the staff and management ensure that one is allowed to do just that.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family and I traveled all over Europe and the UK this summer and our one night at the Barberstown Castle was our favorite stay. The owner showed us to our room and treated us like we were long lost friends. He gave us a personal tour of the castle later that evening. My wife and I had a glass of wine in the Green Room where Eric Clapton spent many an evening playing music with friends. The breakfast was the best food we ate anywhere hands down. Really a special place. The staff was warm and friendly and the rooms were immaculate.

Ben

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barberstown Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberstown Castle

Address: Straffan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Straffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberstown Castle 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Barberstown Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barberstown Castle Hotel Straffan
Barberstown Castle Ireland/Straffan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barberstown Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.