We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Restuarant and lovely unobtrusive service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barberstown Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Barberstown Castle to your Saves list
Barberstown Castle
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Straffan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restuarant and lovely unobtrusive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

As a family we've dined here many times , and most recently for a birthday celebration last week. Fabulous food and service as always - comfortable country house feeling, non fussy unprettentious but still fab service - long may it continue

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    39
    18
    16
    13
See reviews for
35
84
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I was brought here my my family for my birthday and the experience can only be described as fantastic. The staff are the friendliest and efficient that I have ever come across and the rooms and surroundings are absolutely top class. The food was also top class and the manner that it was served was 100%.

I totally enjoyed my stay here and will definately come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, the service was outstanding, from the very warm welcome on arrival right through to our departure. On arrival we were greeted by Sally in reception and Ken the owner, who even took our luggage to our rooms, a nice touch. We were struck by the truly open and genuine warmth of them both.
Our four poster room was palatial with amazing attention to detail and we had the most comfortable stay there, it was well appointed , luxurious and typical of the Irish Castle.
We dined on both nights, the food was second to none!, deliciously tasty, fresh and unique, our appetizers were excellent and well prepared, the steaks were meltingly tender and again cooked to order and perfection, what can we say about the deserts only that there truly scrumptous. We found all the staff very attentive and extremely friendly and we had a good repore with our waiter Norman and he contributed immensely to our dining experience. The passion for food and wine certainly through as they presented a fascinating menu, with the best of local produce.
A special word of thanks also to Gillian, Linda and Ester in reception for also making us so welcome, there were always on hand and very professional , friendly and courteous. Truly all this praise and more is deserved.
We are already looking forward to a return visit as we found something special and we know it will not fail to impress us once again.
Thank you Ken and all the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: A Haven
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011 via mobile

I attended a wedding on 30th April, despite staying down the road in cheaper accommodation came to know the staff extremely well. On the night of wedding our hire car keys went missing. I cannot thank the staff enough for going through th area with a fine tooth comb that night. We didnt find the keys that night but headed back them next morning at first light to see if they had appeared. They had not but again the staff were more than helpful in helping to arrange the AA and a locksmith to come out to deal with the car. Thank you so much for helping with this tricky situation and going above and beyond what was expected.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding in December, Beautiful hotel, The grounds are lovely it was snowing which made it extra nice, Our 4 poster bedroom was lovely, Staff were nice, It was very expensive so that would be its only downfall.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010 via mobile

It snowed and we had a four-poster bed. What more could you ask for? Oh, and perfect fillet steak and great guinness. All lovely.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

We stayed for a weekend and having been looking fwd to a breakaway, it didn't disappoint. Firstly, I was impressed with the surroundings, in paricular the furnishings. The proprietors had obviously gone to a lot of trouble to source suitalbe well perserved antiques. We had a drink before dinner every night by an open fire. The food was beautiful. I would have to say there was just enough choice for two nights, as there was a lot of game on the menu. Saying that the peasant dish and beef I had were lovely. The staff were very friendly, and made us feel at home. I believe walks are being developed around the hotel, which would be ideal as we felt we had to explore the local area. So we enjoye the Japanese gardens and Kildare Village.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barberstown Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barberstown Castle

Address: Straffan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Straffan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Straffan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barberstown Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barberstown Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barberstown Castle Hotel Straffan
Barberstown Castle Ireland/Straffan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barberstown Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.