We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor from the start.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Station House Hotel Letterkenny to your Saves list
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor from the start.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Had the misfortune of staying in this faulty towers last week. Check in was friendly however it was painfully slow as the receptionist who checked must of been only new. Waited 10 minutes at bar to get served and made the mistake of ordering food which was horrible. Never stay here!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Rocker21

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay although we are at odds at to whether or not you are a genuine guest.

You are claiming that you received slow service, and really is is so bad that we gave you a warm and inviting welcome on check in as we do with all our guests, your problem being that it wasn't speedy enough for you!

In relation to your comment about our food, I believe you are not in a position to make a comment like that because we can't be sure that you even ate in the hotel, all our other reviews make constant reference to our great food offerings.

I would be happy to discuss any of the above with you, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Station House in the future.

With Kind Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    104
    29
    17
    17
See reviews for
59
150
21
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I travelled here last weekend for one night with a group of friends as we had all purchased a Living Social voucher for our stay at the hotel. The deal itself was great value, and the hotel was spotless. Clean reception, bar, toilets and rooms - all very modern and first class finish.

The location of the hotel is perfect - close to the bars and nightlife of the town, yet far enough away so that you're not disrupted by the noise. The guests staying here were quite young like ourselves and obviously visiting the town for a drinking weekend. This made the hotel a little rowdy, but staff constantly checking rooms and roaming halls made this a little more controlled.

I also forgot items in my room and the hotel have acted accordingly and are posting them to me.

Only downside was the business of the restaurant for dinner, as we were unable to book a table. We ordered room service instead, which wasn't great at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Fiona H

Greetings from the Station House and thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.

It was our pleasure to have you as your guests and I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience. Thank you for your kind reference to our excellent quality and value, our levels of cleanliness and ideal town centre location.

We take huge pride in ensuring that all our guest service standards are at the highest level so we are looking into our room service operating procedures, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward very much to welcoming you back to the Station House in the near future, assuring you of our continued best personal attention.

Yours Truly

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

On a business trip to west Donegal my wife and I decided to stay overnight and take a day in Derry. Stayed midweek on a deal including Muffin and tea on arrival, free bottle of wine with 3 course meal and breakfast. Location great and easily found with free car parking nearby if available. Wife went shopping while I did some work on free wi-fi with a fast service. We ate in that night and I had salmon which was fabulous and my wife had steak equally as good on the set evening dinner menu with free wine at a cost of €50 which including starters and deserts was outstanding value. Staff, 4 or 5 only, were brilliant and very attentive with our waitress, coupling with bar duties along with a waiter both of whom were very pleasant. After a hearty breakfast in the morning the receptionist was very helpful and could not do enough for us giving us directions right into the centre of Derry, probably saved us al least an hour searching. The hotel is certainly on my list for a return when in he north east as the staff are so friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home.

Room Tip: We were overlookind the road on the 2nd floor and I was a little worried. Need not have worried good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear BoyinGreen

It gives me great pleasure to respond to your magnificent review, on behalf of our team, thank
you. We take great pride in our outstanding customer service standards and we thoroughly enjoy going the extra mile for all our guests.

Thank you also for acknowledgement of our brilliant team, great value and great food. We look forward very much to welcoming you back to the Station House in the near future, I can assure you a warm welcome awaits.

Best Wishes and Fond Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Jus returned from 2nite stay, couldnt fault it, clean and bright. rooms an en suite spacious and spotless and never heard a sound from corridors or other doors, breakfast very good, and dined there both nights early bird menu excellent value. Staff friendly and polite.

Room Tip: Room321 overlooking Dunnes, very quiet, didnt even hear the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear LazySusan

Thank you for taking the time to post a review advising other traveller's about your recent stay in the Station House.

We strive for perfection at all times and thoroughly enjoy looking after our guests. Thank you for your kind reference to our friendly and polite staff, clean, bright and spotless bedrooms and our excellent value.

Thank you for choosing the Station House, assuring you of our continued personal attention.

Warmest Regards

Siobhán Barrett -Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

we arrived on friday for 1 night on a deal that included breakfast and a coffee and muffin on arrival.
the room was spacious and nice.
the shower in the morning was weak and inadequate.
good wifi throughout the hotel.
we ate in the evening an early bird 3 course meal with free bottle of wine which was good value at a total of 36 euros.
went for breakfast next morning to be greeted by being told by the waitress that breakfast was not included on our deal. i advised her it was included and after checking this out she confirmed that it WAS included... very embarassing which annoyed us... a very basis error that should not happen.... and it was not as if the hotel was that busy... it was not.
breakfast was plain but adequate in our opinion.
some of the hotel had some wear and tear and could do with a freshening up.
all in all an under par experience which could easily have been so much better.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iNorthern Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have just had a weekend with my very good friends in this hotel, and would like to say it was great. The hotel staff and service was excellent, the hotel was very well equipped and spotless. We only had breakfast there but it was amazing everything you could want and so well presented.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Nuls

On behalf of our team thank you for taking the time to advise other traveller's about your Station House experience.

We are consistently reviewing our customer service standards to ensure service excellence. We continuously receive compliments about our standards of cleanliness, thank you for your reference to the same.

I am delighted that you had a great weekend in the Station House, we look forward very much to welcoming you back very soon. A warm welcome awaits.

With Kindest Regards & Best Wishes for 2014

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trillick
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed there for one night over the weekend, the rooms are very nice, with a good amount of space. Liked the shower too. We had a meal in the restaurant and it was good, although there was a mix up with the desert, although remedied quickly. The breakfast was very good with a wide range. Not the first time we stayed at this hotel and probably won't be the last.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Aaron D

On behalf of team Station House thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. We were delighted to have you as our guest and thank you for your kind reference about our guest bedrooms and great food.

We strive for hospitality excellence and work diligently to continuously improve on our standards. Thank you for being a loyal guest and we look forward to your return very soon.

Kindest Regards & Best Wishes for 2014

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Station House Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Address: Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Station House Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional family run boutique style hotel located in the heart of Letterkenny. Conveniently located within walking distance from the high street shopping area, theatre, multi screen cinema and all the culture and night life that makes Letterkenny such a delight. Offering year round entertainment, Letterkenny is the perfect base for exploring the diversity and magnificent beauty of County Donegal. We endeavour to provide you with an unforgettable stay, let our family take care of your family! We look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Station House Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Letterkenny
Letterkenny Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station House Hotel Letterkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.