We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Station House Hotel Letterkenny to your Saves list
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newbliss, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2nights at the end of August 2013.

Overall, we had a great, enjoyable experience staying in this hotel. I personally would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place/hotel to stay in, in Letterkenny.

The room was very spacious and very clean.The interior was beautiful infact that of the hotel as a whole was gorgeous. The bathroom in the room was also stunning and again very clean.

Just on the edge of the town it is the perfect walking distance from the cinema and the retail parks. It is also within walking distance from the town centre and shopping centres. I would advise if anyone was looking to do some shopping take the car or a taxi as ita a bit of a walk with lots of bags.

Top service - We had dinner in the restaurant on our first night and the food was absolutely beautiful everything was cooked perfectly and there was more than enough food. Breakfast was lovely with choice of continental or cooked food and again plenty of food. The service provided by waiters/waitresses was great. They were all a huge help.

Reception again were very helpful and it was nice to see a friendly face after a long trip up the road.

I would advise anyone looking to stay here to check out the hotel website for some great deals. Our deal proved to be great value for money and we certainly weren't disappointed.

We've stayed in a few hotels around Donegal but this has stayed with us and we hope to visit again in December. I personally can't wait to go back.

All in all a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Nikita

What a fabulous review! Thank you for taking the time to post the same and for advising other traveller's about the top class service you received at the Station House.

Thank you also for your very kind and encouraging comments in reference to our food, service, cleanliness and attentive team. We are indeed ideally located with close proximity to all the amenities that our delighted town has to offer.

A warm welcome awaits your return in December, continued personal attention guaranteed.

Yours truly and with Warmest Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    115
    30
    18
    18
See reviews for
68
165
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownstewart, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the weekend, 25 - 27 October 2013, and have to say we could not fault this hotel at all. Receptionist Carol Ann, very gracious and helpful, check in was very quick. Rooms were spotless, spacious and very comfortable, controlling our own room temp was great. Very useful information folder in room. We ate a few times in the hotels restaurant, lovely food, quick service and exceptional staff, especially bar manager Shilou, who always remembers what her customers are drinking,....invaluable to a hotel. Overall a great hotel and we will be returning with friends........Thank you again.....

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd or 4th floor are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Karen G

We are delighted to be in receipt of your fantastic review. On behalf of our team, thank you most sincerely. We take huge pride in our guest service standards and thoroughly enjoy looking after our valued guests. Your kind reference to us as being a great Hotel is testimony to our passion and commitment.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House in the near future with your friends, assuring you of our continued personal attention.

Thank you once again, Warmest Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here sept 2013 , first impression was very good, but only on the surface,,on checking out,
Stripped the bed, to my horror, found I,d been lying on badly soiled mattress, obviously, urine,
I,ve photo,s and witnesses to prove, but ,management tried very hard to convince me, it
Was a coffee stain!!! the biggest cup of coffee anyone has ever seen,covering, most of the mattress! Also, that all their rooms are to the highest standard !! I don,think so,
Thank god mine are higher. What about the health risk??

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Lorna T

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.

It is with great disappointment that I am replying to your review for the simple fact that prior to your departure from the Hotel you were delighted and completely satisfied. We apologised for the inconvenience you suffered and as a good will gesture we offered complimentary dinner which you gladly accepted.

Your acquisitions are completely inaccurate and unfounded. We carried out a thorough investigation and the stain on your mattress was definitely coffee.

Our standards of cleanliness are excellent and this is clearly evident from the reviews before and after yours.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your experience and thank you for choosing the Station House.

Yours Truly

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed for 1 night whilst visiting family.

Check in was efficient and friendly. Rooms are very comfortable - with the weather becoming very chilly the ability to control the heating was welcome. The bathroom was clean and modern with good shower.

Breakfast was excellent quality (not included in our room rate, but EUR10 each was a good price). The free car parking was also appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Martin M

On behalf of our team thank you kindly for your delightful review. We have a very dedicated team who strive to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay.

Thank you for your kind reference to our efficiency and our clean and modern facilities, this is testimony to our commitment.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House in the very near future.

Warmest Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Clean, central location. Great food prompt service and reasonably priced food and very friendly staff. Free parking . Comfy beds. Would stay here again and would recommend it to people travelling to letterkenny.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Sheila

It is with sheer delight that I am responding to your wonderful review. Your enticing comments epitomise what our core values are about and we continue to strive for perfection. Thank you for your kind reference to our great food, cleanliness, value and friendly staff.

Team Station House are dedicated and passionate about ensuring excellent guest service satisfaction and thoroughly enjoy going the extra mile for all our guests.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the Station House in the future.

Yours Truly

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel was of a good standard, rooms were a nice size (except we were given a twin, but no problem), it had a lovely restaurant, and breakfast especially was impresive as it was a help yourself with ceareals, fruit, meats, and a hot table for cooked breakfasts.
We especially enjoyed the entertainment in the evenings from a couple on Monday playing a nice mixture & all dancing, and on Wednesday there was a local Irish Folk group that were extremely good.
The hotel is situatred at the bottom of the Main street with nice shops and Bars/restaurants, and the other way from the Hotel approx 500 -700 yards there is a retail park with the usuall stores, and a Lidl food store.
All in all a lovely hotel and well situated

Room Tip: check sleeping arrangement to siut your requirement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Will

On behalf of our team thank you for posting a review regarding your recent Station House experience, we were delighted to have you as our guest.

We are extremely well situated and an ideal base for exploring Letterkenny and our wonderful county of Donegal and all that it has to offer.

Thank you for your kind reference to our Live Entertainment and excellent food. We are a family owned and directed Hotel and hugely popular with our local community so we always ensure that we have a great variety of entertainment to suit all our guests.

A warm welcome awaits your return visit to the Station House which we hope will be in the near future.

Best Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is close to the Main Street in Letterkenny as well as all the shops. It is very comfortable, the food is excellent and the price not to bad. Rooms are comfortable and spacious.The food is also very nice and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Chillen

Greetings from the Station House! Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review your recent with us and for advising other travellers about your excellent experience.

We pride ourselves on our ability to meet and exceed our guests expectations by continuously going the extra mile to ensure a memorable and flawless stay. Thank you for your kind reference to our comfortable surroundings, value for money offerings and our friendly team.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House in the very near future.

With Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Station House Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Address: Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Station House Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional family run boutique style hotel located in the heart of Letterkenny. Conveniently located within walking distance from the high street shopping area, theatre, multi screen cinema and all the culture and night life that makes Letterkenny such a delight. Offering year round entertainment, Letterkenny is the perfect base for exploring the diversity and magnificent beauty of County Donegal. We endeavour to provide you with an unforgettable stay, let our family take care of your family! We look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Station House Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Letterkenny
Letterkenny Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station House Hotel Letterkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.