We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Station House Hotel Letterkenny to your Saves list
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is close to the Main Street in Letterkenny as well as all the shops. It is very comfortable, the food is excellent and the price not to bad. Rooms are comfortable and spacious.The food is also very nice and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Chillen

Greetings from the Station House! Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to review your recent with us and for advising other travellers about your excellent experience.

We pride ourselves on our ability to meet and exceed our guests expectations by continuously going the extra mile to ensure a memorable and flawless stay. Thank you for your kind reference to our comfortable surroundings, value for money offerings and our friendly team.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House in the very near future.

With Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    104
    29
    17
    17
See reviews for
59
150
21
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

clean and courteous excellent food and service rooms are well looked after and the location is well placed i will be making this hotel my place to stay any time i stay in letterkenny and i will be recommending it to all my friends. looking forward to my next stay.
WELL DONE TO ALL THE STAFF

Room Tip: ask before you book if you need or want something in room placement .the staff will be willing to he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Desmond

On behalf of our team thank you for your wonderful kind review regarding your recent stay with us and for advising other traveller's about your Station House experience.

We are a professional family run hotel and our core values represent tradition and style combined with excellent customer service and great food, thank you for your acknowledgement of the same.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House very soon, assuring you of our continued personal attention.

Yours Truly

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

the hotel is right on a corner and has parking in the back which is convenient. It seems to be popular with the tour busses, but it is convenient to downtown and there is a department store right across the street that's kind of like Walmart with a grocery store and clothing store and whatnots. This was a one night stay so we came in in the evening and left the next morning. We didn't see much of Letterkenny unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Loneexplorer

We are delighted to be in receipt of your kind review, thank you for taking the time to post the same.
I am glad you enjoyed your Station House experience and that you found the Hotel convenient to all local amenities.

We look forward to your return visit if your travel plans permit you to return to Letterkenny.

Thank you and Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyclare
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great place for a break, convenient to the town centre. service was excellent, the food in the bar was of a high standard and good value, highly recommend this place as the room was modern with a nice power shower in the bathroom

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Golftheology

On behalf of our team, thank you most sincerely for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. Your positive feedback is very encouraging and rewarding for our team.

We are very dedicated and passionate about delivering a first class memorable stay for all our guests and I am delighted that you found our customer service to be of an excellent standard.

Thank you also for the recommendation and we look forward very much to welcoming you back to the Station House in the near future, your business is our pleasure.

Warmest Regards


Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed one night on a living social deal which we enjoyed very much. Good location, nice bar, friendly staff. Was a busy night with plenty of people about which was good. Rooms were spacious but the shower wasn't very powerful. The room we were in was noisy, we could hear the outside noise and the residents near to our room. I would recommend this hotel and hopefully stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Tree373

It was our pleasure to welcome you to the Station House and I am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. On behalf of our team, thank you for taking the time to post a review advising other travellers about your experience.

We have a very dedicated team who are passionate about delivering success and strive to ensure that all our guests have a memorable stay.

Thank you for the recommendation and as soon as your travel plans permit you to be back in Letterkenny, a warm welcome awaits you at the Station House.

With Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights for a friends family function. Our room was very clean and nicely presented. The bathroom has a shower and no bath but this was not a problem. Our room had the ability to be an interconnecting room so there was a door in the room that was double locked. You could hear noise from the other room from their tv but it was fine.
We ate in the bar on Friday night and it was nice. The service was good and we didn't have to wait very long. It was very reasonably priced also. We stayed for drinks in the bar and there was a good atmosphere.
On Saturday morning breakfast was served in the bar again but at the other end. We arrived down at 9.30am and there was very very little left, it is self service so I would guess that the earlier you arrive the better the selection. They did refill some of the food again however it was close to 10am and we had finished. Having said that, breakfast was hearty and the mushrooms were our favorite. We were served coffee with our breakfast however it was very very weak. We were going into town and Costa coffee is just 10 mins stroll up the road so we were happy to go there.
That brings me to the location, Across the road is an ATM, within 10mins walk are lots of highstreet shops and on the main street there are lots of cafes and bars. Everything is within 5-10mins walk. If you are taking children there is a cinema, and a community Leisure center very very close by.
On saturday afternoon we had our friends function which was taking place in the hotel. The food was very good, soup to start, a choice of lamb, salmon or turkey for main course and a trio of desert. The only thing that looked to be left on alot of plates was one of the deserts which was like a small apple crumble. It was a little over spiced with cinnamon for me which might have been why others left it too, but again the food was very very nice. We stayed late in this function room until aprox 2am when the night manager closed the bar. We then went to the residents bar and from the moment we arrived in there we were told there were residents above us and we needed to keep noise down. Considering we were a party of 110 people on the day and maybe half went to the residents bar that is easier said then done. When the night manager came again and asked for the noise to be kept down again she advised this time that the group could not have music as there were residents above the bar. On the third occasion, she was challenged by one of the group as to who the residents were who were over the bar and she said there had been a call down.............. the only problem with her reasoning was that the rooms over the bar were filled with guests from the group in the residents bar! When this was brought to her attention she was less then impressed! Overall i felt she was not approachable, and was the only staff member who had been less then accommodating all weekend. I was not drinking myself so was able to assess the situation rationally and I can see how the hotel would have concerns for other guests, but when the rooms over the bar are occupied with those in the bar surely this is helpful and if there were other guests in rooms above, it may have been an idea for the hotel to accommodate the groups guests on the first floor in these rooms. The hotel was told that it would be a late night and they had said there would be no problem. I would be concerned that if you booked this hotel for a wedding and your group wished to use the bar after hours, it might be disappointing!
Apart from that it was very good service, two small things. We asked for an iron to our room and when it arrived we put water in it and allowed it to heat, when we went to use it, it leaked all over my husbands shirt as there was a hole in the bottom! The hotel did change the iron for us though. Also I like a very hot shower and it was not. It was warm but not hot, even at the highest I would have liked it warmer.
If I was staying again I would ask for a non joined room but that is all. We have stayed in other hotels in letterkenny with a higher star rating that would have been on par or not as good as the station house. Also we had a room over the street which was not a problem with noise, which I had heard others say might be a problem.
All in all it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Nearlythere

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave such a detailed and delightful review about your recent Station House experience.
It was our absolute pleasure to welcome you all to the Hotel and I am delighted that everyone had a great weekend. We received wonderful feedback from all guests and I hope that we will have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back as soon as your travel plans permit you to return to Letterkenny.

Once again on behalf of our team, thank you!

Warmest Regards

Siobhán Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I recently visited the Station House for a couple of drinks & a bite to eat with family. The menu is very reasonable & I had the blt trio sandwich & chips. It was very tasty, really comfortable surroundings. I'm very impressed & will call back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan Barrett D, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Caz

Thank you for your kind and sweet review regarding your recent dining experience at the Station House.
We pride ourselves on our warm and welcoming ambience, quality of food and great value. On this occasion I am delighted that you were impressed and that we met and exceeded your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Depot Bar & Restaurant in the very near future.

With Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Station House Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Address: Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Station House Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional family run boutique style hotel located in the heart of Letterkenny. Conveniently located within walking distance from the high street shopping area, theatre, multi screen cinema and all the culture and night life that makes Letterkenny such a delight. Offering year round entertainment, Letterkenny is the perfect base for exploring the diversity and magnificent beauty of County Donegal. We endeavour to provide you with an unforgettable stay, let our family take care of your family! We look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Station House Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Letterkenny
Letterkenny Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station House Hotel Letterkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.