We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to see why it is number one.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Save Saved
You added Station House Hotel Letterkenny to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Letterkenny
belfast
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Easy to see why it is number one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Three of us in the family stayed in two rooms for one night during a quick sightseeing tour of North Donegal. Hotel is easy to find with good car parking -it is located right in the centre at one end of the main street. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful, the rooms were a good size, clean and comfortable. Although on the street side on the third floor we were not disturbed by noise and had a good night sleep on the firm supportive bed. We had the three course set dinner which was excellent both in quality and value. Breakfast was delicious with the hot items kept beautifully fresh. We have never stayed in Letterkenny so we cannot compare with other hotels however I can fully understand why this hotel is number one and would highly recommend it. The package they provide is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBDLetterkenny, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Worldwideflyer

It gives me great pleasure to respond to your very warm and encouraging review, on behalf of our team, Thankyou! We strive for perfection in all areas and our core values are about providing a memorable first class stay for all our guests.
We are a professional family run hotel offering tradition, style and ambience thus creating the perfect home away from home with the added luxury of a fabulous hotel experience. Thank you for your kind reference to our standards of cleanliness, delicious food and value for money. We look forward very much to your return as soon as travel plans permit. Assuring you of our continued commitment.

Warmest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    94
    24
    14
    15
See reviews for
48
137
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tyrone
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We arrived at the hotel on Saturday 9/2/2013 to meet up with family members for 30th birthday celebration. Right from the moment we entered the hotel until Iwe left our experience in this hotel was excellent. We were greeted by a very pleasant, friendly and helpful member of staff CarolAnne. After a very speedy checkin we made our way to our rooms. The room was spacious and spotless. Floors wooden which gave a real sense of cleanliness. The bathroom again was spotless and bright. Loved the walkin wet room shower. We made our way down to bar and the staff there were very pleasant. After having a few drinks in the bar we made our way out for the night. .
On arrival back at the hotel the night porter was very nice. Infact getting us sandwiches at that time of the night was an added bonus!!
The next morning we went down for breakfast and what a spread!! The food was in abundance and very tasty and hot. The staff again were lovely and infact before they started to clear away the breakfast food they came around the tables giving us all the opportunity to top up our plates again.
I definately would recommend this hotel to any one wishing to stay in Letterkenny.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBDLetterkenny, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Pauline

Team Station House are smiling from ear to ear .... everyone has read your very kind review! Thank you for taking the time to advise other travellers of your fantastic first experience. We strive to ensure that all our guests have a truly memorable, warm and welcoming stay, your presence is our pleasure. Carol Anne is an amazing ambassador for our hotel, her kind and caring personality is infectious and she is an invaluable member of our team.
We do hope you can visit us again very soon, a warm welcome awaits...

Yours Truly

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just a quick reminder of a review, this was my second visit here and standards are still very good having reviewed it last time it's great to see this hotel doing so well and doing the right things well.

Highlights of the one night stay were the meal in the restaurant, top quality steak cooked to perfection and well served by attentive and friendly staff, another plus is you get the traditional accompaniments for a steak with none of the pretentious nonsense some restaurants seem to think is fashionable, the choices from the a-la-carte menu were wide ranging along with a reasonbably priced set dinner menu options.
.
Thanks also to Carol Anne on reception who stitched all the bits together to ensure our business was done and dusted in a very professional and friendly manner.

Strongly recommend this hotel again if you are in Letterkenny.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBDLetterkenny, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Neil

Greetings from the Station House and thank you most sincerely for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us. It is with great pleasure that I am responding to your encouraging comments, we have a spring in our step and we are embracing a wonderful season ahead. We have an amazing team here in the Station House and we strive for perfection thus ensuring the ultimate experience for all our guests. Carol Anne thoroughly enjoys going the extra mile with a continuous smile, thank you for the acknowledgement of her dedication and commitment.
We look forward to inviting you back to the Station House very soon.

Best Wishes

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenariffe Co. Antrim
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Spent weekend 8th and 9th Feb at Station House Hotel Letterkenny on a winter break with my wife. This is an excellent hotel and would recommend to anyone.The rooms were spotless,the staff generally were very pleasant and breakfast was fine and plentiful. Parts of the bar could do with a little updating. Only minor pitfall was the service while eating in the depot restaurant. The waitress knocked our bottle of wine to the floor but as it was half used she replaced with a small bottle. This seemed to leave her nervous and some parts of the order we had to ask for. The food itself was lovely.

Room Tip: Stayed 3rd floor overlooking the rear of the hotel. It was very quiet and had a really peaceful slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBDLetterkenny, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Meercat

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, guest feed back is invaluable to us. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay and we exceeded your expectations. We have a very dedicated team who are extremely passionate and thoroughly enjoy creating a memorable stay for all our guests. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience suffered regarding the spillage of your wine.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Station House very soon, as soon as yout travel plans permit.

With Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Lovely Hotel, we were surprised. Seemed to be the closest to the Cinema and Shops, and walking distance from city center too. Only downside was having to pay for watching a movie on TV, but overall lovely experience. Very Friendly Staff.

Room Tip: Parking spot hidden, little confusing. Sign can be seen from street at one side, but there are no di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBDLetterkenny, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Christa

On behalf of team Station House, thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations as you were pleasantly surprised by your experience. Our location is indeed perfect for exploring Letterkenny and all the wonderful amenities that it has to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future as soon as your travel plans permit.

Warmest Regards

Siobhan Barrett-Doherty
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Booked in for one night on a B&B deal. The room was fine, if a little worn (split seam on the sofa). Both bedroom and bathroom were clean. We were told that there was free wireless internet available all over the hotel, but were unable to connect using my little HP mini, a machine that has previously connected flawlessly to over 30 wireless networks around the world. When I raised it with reception early in the evening, they sent a gentleman up to the room who showed me that the network was indeed working on his Nokia handheld device. Well, so it was, but it still wasn’t working on my laptop. The gentleman saved the day by going back down to reception where he borrowed the office laptop for me to use for a couple of hours that evening. Well done to him, although it didn’t solve the problem of my laptop not being able to connect (the error was that someone else on the network had the same IP address). I’d suggest this gets sorted out. Otherwise, apart from noisy late night guests, the hotel was fine. Breakfast was good, staff were polite, the place was clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBDLetterkenny, Sales & Marketing Manager at Station House Hotel Letterkenny, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Suagilo

We were delighted to have you as our guest and on behalf of our team thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. We apologise for the inconvenience that you suffered because your laptop would not connect to our wireless network. The gentleman who took the time to show you that the wirleless network was working flawlessly was Frank, who is highly proficient and extremely knowledgeable in this area. Frank kindly explained to you that the problem you encountered was nothing to do with our network, the problem lay with your device. Your ip address was not dynamic and therefore unfortunately would not connect, perhaps your firewall settings were updated and in turn your connection to our network was barred. The office laptop that Frank offered you for a few hours worked perfectly for you so we are glad that you were not prohibited from your tasks. Thank you for your kind reference to all other areas of the Hotel, we strive to ensure that we deliver excellent customer service standards at all times.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Station House in the near future, assuring you of our best personal attention at all times

With Kindest Regards

Siobhan Barrett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Station House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is modernly decorated both in the common areas and in the bedrooms.

The rooms were perfectly clean with wooden floors and a high quality feel. Really excellent.

All the staff that I came into contact with were friendly and helpful.

The only area that I could suggest for improvement would be the breakfast. The first morning most of the hot food was actually perfectly cold! The second morning was better but still could be improved.

Choices for vegetarians were limited, and some additional bread choices, or some cheese/natural yogurt etc would have been good.

However overall the hotel was first class and I'd highly recommend it. I had a really pleasant stay and would certainly choose it again if returning to Letterkenny.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Station House Hotel Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Station House Hotel Letterkenny

Address: Lower Main St, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Ramada Encore)
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Station House Hotel Letterkenny 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Professional family run boutique style hotel located in the heart of Letterkenny. Conveniently located within walking distance from the high street shopping area, theatre, multi screen cinema and all the culture and night life that makes Letterkenny such a delight. Offering year round entertainment, Letterkenny is the perfect base for exploring the diversity and magnificent beauty of County Donegal. We endeavour to provide you with an unforgettable stay, let our family take care of your family! We look forward to welcoming you soon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Station House Hotel Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Letterkenny
Letterkenny Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Station House Hotel Letterkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.