We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food , friendly staff and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallaghers Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gallaghers Hotel to your Saves list
Gallaghers Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food , friendly staff and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed on 4th August. Had a great time. The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Adam who served us our food. Lunch was excellent and great desserts. Will be staying again for sure on our next trip to Letterkenny

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Gallaghers Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Tirconnail,
Delighted to read your review the team in Gallagher's appreciate your feedback , hoping we can welcome you back to Gallagher's in the not too distant future.
Many thanks again.
Sincere Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    134
    61
    32
    17
See reviews for
36
133
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle under Lyme
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Looks like a nice hotel. Rooms nice, but issues with the tv remote control which did some things and not others...strange. Restaurant service very slow. Too few staff doing their best, but coach parties seemed to be given less staff than the bistro area next door, which was less populated. Annoying when there are also two people behind the bar, and one person doing their best to serve a meal alone, which means food sometimes arrived cold. Menu repetitive, and food sometimes very overcooked. No vegetarian choice. Part of a coach party probably isn't the best way to be a guest here.Things featured on the printed breakfast menu that never seemed to be on the actual menu. On the last day, when breakfast was very busy, definately a case of first up best fed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Gallaghers Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Lynn,
Many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us, I am disappointed to learn you experienced a few issues during your stay, we have leisure groups staying with us on a regular basis and with all guests we assure everyone our best attention at all times and I apologize on behalf of the whole team if you felt this was different with your group .
Please feel free to contact me if you world like to discuss the matter. I do hope Lynn you will be in Letterkenny again and give us the opportunity to restore your faith in Gallagher's Hotel.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
00353749122066
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here over weekend worn my inlaws. Great food,location second to none as we didn't have to pay for any taxis. Staff couldn't do enough to help, rooms were very clean and comfortable. Excellent value. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Gallaghers Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you Jim for your recent feedback on your stay with us here in Gallagher's, delighted to read your lovely comments about the team and the Hotel in general we really appreciate it, the Hotel is in an ideal central location to enjoy a few days with family members and we look forward to your next visit in the near future.
Sincere Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while attending a funeral. We found in difficult to find parking and it was limited but that is the only fault we could find with the place. The receptionist was very pleasant and allowed us check in as soon as our room was ready as we needed to freshin up after a substancial drive. We stayed in a twin room which we couldn't fault. The hotel itself is located right in the town which made it very easy to get around. Breakfast was served from a carvery style buffet and everything was pipping hot and fresh. Staff were extremely helpful with any queries we had. We needed directions a few times as we couldn't figure out the layout of the hotel. The next Morning we requested a late check out as we had mass and would miss the checkout time. Unfortunately they couldn't accommodate this as they were fully booked for that night however we were allowed to keep our car in their carpark for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Gallaghers Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Lolo,
It was lovely to read your recent feedback on your visit to Gallagher's in Letterkenny, and I pleased and delighted you enjoyed everything we had to offer, we indeed have upgraded our breakfast service recently and I am truly delighted we were able to assist you with an early check after a long journey it was our pleasure, and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back very soon to Gallagher's in the near future.
Warm Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

me and my husband went in for dinner one day it was quite in the restraunt it was mid week the staff was very nice the food was very good my husband is very picky about where to eat and what to eat but they were very accomadating for him we will return again with the rest of the family someday they should try putting on maybe a midweek deal

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Gallaghers Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Martina K,
The team in Gallagher's are delighted to read your lovely review on your recent visit in our dining room and your kind compliments on our food and service we have just introduced our New early Bird Menu which is running each day Sunday-Friday and I hope we will have the pleasure to serve you again very soon.
Many thanks & Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We are a training company and we use Gallaghers Hotel conference rooms on a weekly basis.
Their service is next to none and their conference rooms are equipped with excellent projector screens and air conditioning. Our participants always comment on the quality of the rooms and refreshments. We have a quality system that we deliver all our training programmes on and Gallaghers Hotel consistently keep the standard raised for us and our participants. We would have no hesitation in recommending Gallaghers Hotel for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: All of Gallaghers Hotel conference rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Gallaghers Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Maria,
Thank you so much for your recent feedback on our business services in Gallagher's, we are delighted to host your conferences and training in our well equipped conference suites and look forward to working with you in the future, yes indeed all our rooms are fully air conditioned and it was a welcomed bonus for all delegates during the hot spell of weather we experienced recently.
Warm Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just back from a weekend at Gallaghers Hotel,really enjoyed the good food and great service.The room was clean and comfortable. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend if you are looking for a good hotel in Letterkenny.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoinette C, General Manager at Gallaghers Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of entire Team, may I extend our thanks for your lovely compliments on our hotel and we are truly delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Letterkenny and Gallagher's Hotel.

Many Thanks & Kind Regards,
Antoinette Coyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gallaghers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallaghers Hotel

Address: 100 Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gallaghers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the newest hotels in Letterkenny, Gallaghers Hotel is centrally located in the heart of this bustling town with state of the art facilities including the Ard na gCeapairí Bistro, Inis Meain room which serves a full bar food menu, Mc Carry's bar and top entertainment hotspot, Milan nightclub. This Letterkenny Hotel boasts the elegant Gaoth Dobhair Suite, which can accommodate up to 180 guests, ideal for the perfect Donegal wedding. The executive boardroom and the Gola Room facilitate smaller business meetings, which makes Gallaghers Hotel in Letterkenny an ideal conference and banqueting location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gallaghers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallaghers Hotel Letterkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallaghers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.