We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dillon's Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dillon's Hotel to your Saves list
Dillon's Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Letterkenny Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful weekend break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The downstairs of the hotel has recently been refurbished and looks amazing. I understand from the staff that this is just the start and the bedrooms will be next. Our room was comfortable and clean so can't wait to see what they do next.
The staff were friendly and informative and the food was fantastic.
Breakfast set us up for the rest of the day, a great choice of juices, fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals along with a selection of breads and scones. A cooked breakfast was on offer as well as continental and as much tea or coffee as you wanted.
Our evening meals were delicious, the scampi, chicken and chorizo and the seabass were our favourites.
We will be back again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

We recently stayed at Dillon's for a birthday party. What an amazing time we had! Everything from check in, to the food, ambience and the beautiful function room were spectacular.
The staff were very helpful and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. The bar was very comfortable and there was entertainment on Saturday night which was very good.
Breakfast was great with a choice of continental or full Irish, which set us up for the rest of the
day as we explored this beautiful area of Donegal.
We will be back again.
Thank you to all at Dillon's for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Dillon's last Saturday, November 8th. The friendliness of the welcome at reception continued throughout the stay. The bar and lounge are tastefully and warmly decorated and the bar food was excellent, as was the evening meal. Good wholesome Food.
The bedroom was large and comfortable and a good night's sleep was had.
The breakfast was very good indeed.
Dillon's is charming, and I will certainly be back!

Room Tip: I had room 316, if that helps(!). Spacious and comfortabe and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Dillons is just about adequate. Starting with the positive stuff, the staff are very friendly and helpful. The bar and lounge area has recently been refurbished and is pleasant enough (though not the best place to serve breakfast in my opinion). It's when you go behind the scenes that things get less pleasant. A lot of the carpets needs replaced. The hotel was formerly called 'The Letterkenny Hotel' and much of the original signage is still there including signs to Reception which no longer lead there. The bedroom was dimly lit and depressing in terms of décor. My TV didn't work although, to be fair, it was replaced swiftly when I pointed this out. I had an evening meal which was just OK. The breakfast selection is poor - no buffet selection, no cereal - a form to fill in and then they bring your order (which they managed to get wrong and which was poorly cooked - hard poached eggs are horrible!). All in all, not very impressive.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgene, Director of Sales at Dillon's Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Alex,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Having just taken over the hotel in May 2014 and following a €1million investment on all public areas it is great to have your feedback on the new areas and of course your high praise of all our staff.

Breakfast is served in the Drumlurgagh Restaurant, located on the bottom floor, which has a full hot and cold buffet selection. It is unfortunate that the morning of your stay the restaurant was not in use due to some finishing touches taking place. However, I assure you on your next visit breakfast will prove to be one of the highlights of your stay.

As stated above we started an investment project on the hotel in May 2014. The first phase was completed and Dillons Hotel was launched in late October.

We have made some changes to the bedrooms already with the introduction of flat screen TVs, installed free unlimited Wifi and triple glazed the windows to ensure a peaceful nights sleep. Don’t worry though we are not stopping there. The bedrooms are the next phase of the investment project which is due to begin early 2015. This will see an upgrade of all bedrooms and corridors and we aim to have this fully completed before Easter.

I do hope that you will return once the next phase is complete and give us another opportunity to try and impress you. Kind regards
Bridgene McKeever, McKeever Hotel Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

We spent a great weekend in Dillons and attended a function on the Saturday night. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome from the friendly, helpful receptionists to the warm colours of the foyer.

From talking to the staff we were told that the bedrooms are to be refurbished shortly but to be honest we thought they were great - spacious room, comfortable bed, clean and we could even make a cup of tea!

We ate in the restaurant when we arrived.The food and service were excellent. I must say, when I entered the function room on the Saturday night (A room that is used to serve breakfast in the mornings) I was astounded at the opulence of the décor. Each table was set with candelabra's - you could just imagine a wedding reception taking place.

We'll definitely be back in Dillons!!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dillon's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillon's Hotel

Address: Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Letterkenny Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dillon's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dillon's Hotel is located in the centre of the bustling town of Letterkenny. Restaurants, shops, bars, everything is on the doorstep. The hotel offers unlimited, fast, free WiFi access and 32" flat screen TVs. The Grill radiates with the buzz of friendly chatter, serving an extensive menu throughout the day from 12 noon until 9.30pm. The luxurious lobby is the perfect place to enjoy the freshly baked pastries and coffee. Within seconds you're immediately aware that you are staying in one of the most welcoming and comfortable hotels in Letterkenny ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dillon's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Letterkenny
Letterkenny Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dillon's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.