We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you have to climb this mountain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Errigal

Mount Errigal
Dunlewy, Letterkenny, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 attractions in Letterkenny
Type: Hiking Trails, Mountains
Attraction Details
Portrush, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“you have to climb this mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

A few friends had recommend this climb and boy am I glad we did, the views from the top are truly spectacular and worth every step. the walk itself was certainly managable for most people, boggy at the start, there was really only one tuff bit which was fairly steep over loose rocks, as long as you pay attention you'll be fine. it took an hour 45 mins for us to get up and 1 hour back down, it seems we went on a bit of a detour on way up as there is no definitive path over the bog! but DO IT.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Couldn't find the bottom, never mind see the top!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

ERRIGAL THE MOUNTAIN - NOT THE HOTEL!!
Intended to climb Errigal on Easter Saturday. Have family that live 40mins from here and left the house with a little cloud in the sky, but when we got to the foot of Errigal we could barely see past the car park with the mist. Will try another weekend. Met another couple who had driven 4hrs to do it and went ahead in the mist. Would not advise anyone to plan this on a specific weekend as it is misted over most of the year. As a spur of the moment on a good day may be worth it - I'll check back in when I do it!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not the Biggest .....But ! Still a damn Good walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I love the outdoors and the views and scenery ....well go and see for yourself...and its free to walk ....

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good hike splendid views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

be prepared to walk about 2 hrs, one of which very boggy. But once there the view is incredible... make sure to leave early enough before the fog arises

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“this attraction is the actual MOUNTAIN!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

i notice that people appear to have got confused between the actual mountain and the hotel in Letterkenny. im not quite sure how a hotel could be classified as an attraction, but hey. so.... mount errigal is the hightest peak in county donegal. it's suitable for anyone with a fair level of general fitness. spectacular views on a good day. pretty dangerous on a bad day. general common sense applies obv! well worth both the views and the sense of achievement.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Errigal also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Clonmany, County Donegal
 

Been to Mount Errigal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Errigal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mount Errigal to your Saves list