We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a downward spiral” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paddy Harte Road, Letterkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kildare
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“On a downward spiral”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've stayed here a few years ago o a leisure trip with friends and found it expensive but comfortable and welcoming. My recent visit in August left a lot to be desired -with one exception. I booked under my club carlson account (I often stay with Radisson in Europe) for one night at the usual higher then normal price one expects to pay for RB. The value for money fell short. Upon arrival at 2.30pm my wife and two young kids were told we would need to wait for the room to be prepared. The front desk suggested we waited in the bar and they would call us. After an hour, our toddler who badly needed sleep went nuts. The staff did nothing but glare. Upon checking with the the desk, it turned out the the room had been ready for a while. It seemed they never bothered to notify us.
The room was a little outdated and grimey. The heat was phenomenal. There was no aircon and the extractor fan in the toilet did not work. A desk fan left in the wardrobe was broken. The matress was extremely noisey and our kids woke anytime we moved during the night. The toilet bowel was filthy and the clamp for the shower head was cracked and broken. It fell out and hit me on the head twice, my wife once and barely missed my kids when they were in the bath. (Pics uploaded for reference)
In general, I would not rate this hotel highly; to have the Radisson Blu brand is a joke. It's overpriced and stuffy. The decor is outdated and tired. The fittings are worn out and grubby.
The main reason I don't offer one star and give it two? The guy who served us dinner (I believe his name was Damien) was excellent. His customer service and charisma were super. He was friendly to our kids and was poilte and professional. Hopefully his skills and persona will infect the front of house staff during his tenure. Well done sir and sincere apologies if I got your name wrong. Please feel free to contact me if you ever need a reference on LinkedIn or any other medium.
In summary, it's a pity to see a nice spot go into decline.

All the best for your future, Radisson Letterkenny; we most likely wont be featuring in it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and apologise that you found the service and standards not to meet your expectations as we streive to ensure that all of our guests have an enjoyable stay with us. You will see from other reviews on trip advisor that our guests very much enjoy their time with us and find staff to be friendly and professional and the standards to be excellent but unfortunately for you it was not the same experience.

Should you wish to speak with me directly about your experience please feel free to contact me directly on 074 919 4444.

We do hope that you will return to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future to experience why so many of our guests return time and time again.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    169
    102
    37
    29
See reviews for
107
236
25
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Derry
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Radisson for a wedding. The reception room was amazing very " bling " with beautiful centre pieces and crystal chandeliers, pristine tablecloths and chair covers, and sparkling silverware and glasses. A number of my fellow wedding guests were very impressed including the couple themselves who said it exceeded their expectations.
I was also impressed with the way the top table was served. The waiting staff line up behind each person on the top table and serve at the same time. They were also very quick to clear the plates ready for the next course. The fellow organising everything was lovely and was very helpful with the children on the top table which is not always the case in other places.
I found all the staff I was in contact with who were all young, very pleasant, smiling and helpful and easy to have a laugh and conversation with.
The bedrooms were lovely and the bed very comfortable even if I did not go to bed until very late I had a great if short sleep.
I loved the breakfast which include cereals, fruit. fried breakfast and many other choices to suit everyone. The children in our group really enjoyed being able to walk along and choose their own favourite food and drinks.
The only minor complaint I have is the bathroom. There was soap scum on the display stand for the toiletries and up under the sink rim was a bit grubby but apart from that everything else was brilliant.
I would not hesitate to recommend your hotel to anyone who wants either a wedding or just a holiday. Again just wanted to stay I was very impressed with your staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny for a wedding.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the Carnegie Suite to be amazing, the room was only refurbished in 2012 and really is a stunning room especially with the spectacular chandeliers.

Thank you for your wonderful and kind words about the team in the hotel, you really have made our day. We love what we do and weddings is something that we understand is very special and each wedding is given a very personal service to ensure each wedding couple has a day filled with memories they and their guests will cherish forever.

Thank you once again for your excellent feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times I the last 2 years. The last time was September 2012.

It is a perfect base to explore Letterkenny and Co. Donegal.

The hotel is located directly over the road from a shopping area (River Island, etc) and about a 10 min walk to the main street where all the pubs, restaurants and other shops are.

It is a modern hotel and the rooms are very comfortable with king size beds.
The views are not great from the rooms, either overlooking the carpark or other buildings, but really you don't spend a lot of time in the rooms anyway.
Had a couple of drinks in the bar down stairs, and the atmosphere was nice.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to all who are visiting Donegal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review following your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted you enjoyed each of your stays with us over the past two years and greatly appreciate your support in return to the hotel each time you are in Letterkenny.

We are so pleased that you find the hotels location to be perfect to explore Letterkenny along with your wonderful comments about the hotels amenities, we really are delighted with your feedback.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst working in Derry. Was glad that accommodation in Derry was full up because this hotel was well worth the drive. Business Class room was v comfortable with everything you could need. The food in the bar was delicious with quick service. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read such a wonderful review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny. Thank you for your wonderful feedback from all of the team.

The hotel is ideally located for those wishing to explore Derry and enjoy many of the events and activities taking place in the year of City of Culture 2013.

Thank you once again for your wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed there three nights, the room was really nice and clean, although the windows were facing the side-yard so the view was not special.
I loved the toiletries there, they have Anne Semonin products: all over shampoo, hair conditioner! and body lotion with fresh citrus scent.
The diverter for the shower was broken, I announced the cleaning lady, she was really nice. They could not fix it completely, so I think they offered a room-switch.
For breakfast there was a large variety of quality food.
Their chowder and cheese-cake was divine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time for posting a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel along with the hotels amenities, staff and food.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We checked in on Friday 9th August as part of a Bridal Party!Where to begin.....the service upon arrival was amazing with check in made extremely easy!Food at the wedding was outstanding with superior service!Our bedroom was gorgeous with plenty space. We remained on Saturday night also with more fantastic food!I must say the staff went beyond the call of duty. A special word of thanks to the wonderful night porters on Saturday 10th they were outstanding and nothing was a problem.Breakfast was amazing both mornings and we were not under any pressure to leave the dining room. The only disappointing thing about the weekend was having to check out on Sunday as we had the most amazing weekend!Thank you to all the staff at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing such an excellent review following your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are overjoyed with your comments and your feedback has really made our day. We are delighted that you found everything from your arrival to departure to be amazing.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny in the near future.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Wicklow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Arrived at the Radisson on Tuesday 6th August, booked in and got to our room. It was fine but the bathroom was a bit of a let down. Floor tiles were cracked, shower was not secure to the wall and the toilet bowl could do with some bleach and a scrub with a toilet brush to shift the green limescale stains. We returned to our room on Wednesday evening at approx 4.30pm to find the room had not been serviced. Some one did come by at 5.30pm or so as we were showering etc. Food in the bar was disappointing too. On leaving this morning we informed reception and we did receive an apology. All in all not a hotel i would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena O, Director of Sales at Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny.

We are very disappointment to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that the standards and service lacking on this occasion. As you will see from other reviews on Trip Advisor the Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny delivers high standard in quality and service throughout the hotel.

If you wish to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 074 919 4444.

Kind regards,

Helena O’Brien
Director of Sales & Marketing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny

Address: Paddy Harte Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny is designed in a contemporary Irish style, with the comfort of both business and leisure guests in mind. The superior 4-star hotel features 114 modern, bright bedrooms, a restaurant, bar, grill, leisure centre, ample parking and complimentary high speed internet access. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Letterkenny town, within walking distance of shopping areas, cinema, theatre, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny Hotel Letterkenny
Radisson Hotel Letterkenny
Radisson Letterkenny
Radisson Sas Letterkenny
Letterkenny Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.