We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat here was wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Grove Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Grove Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramelton Road R245 | Ballymaleel, Letterkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat here was wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband took me here on 19th December for my birthday. We had not eaten here in a few years. It was simply wonderful the food was absolutely delicious and such good value. We had a delicious goats cheese salad starter followed by a gorgeous sorbet then turkey and ham simply divine and loads of it and a chocolate parfait for dessert gorgeous. We also had delicious homemade breads, a chefs appetiser and lovely tea and mince pies to finish all in all brillant. I would highly recommend and cannot wait to return. I was even serenaded by one of the waiters when told of my birthday. What a perfect birthday thank you to all.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene S, Manager at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
I would like to thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and of course I am thrilled our team was able to make you felt so special and welcome on your birthday.
I will be sure to let the chefs know how much you enjoyed the meal , we do work effortlessly to maintain high standards in the restaurant and throughout the hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Irene Sweeney
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    25
    4
    0
    8
See reviews for
20
68
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We visited this country house hotel and restaurant in mid-December for my wife's birthday. The last time that we visited was around 2 years ago. The restaurant has certainly maintained its very high standards with regards to the quality food, ambience and service. We were not disappointed. We chose from the four-course festive menu and every course was extremely tasty with so much attention to detail. All in all, a great dining experience, not to mention the competitively priced menu which represented real value for money.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eirene S, Manager at Castle Grove Country House Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2015
Hi Charlotte,
Happy New Year, hope 2015 will be kind to you.
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We, as a team, are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much, it's hard to top "best hotel stay ever" but we will continue to maintain and improve our services and always remain humble in doing so.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I had fhe great pleasure of celebrating my wedding here on December 14th. From the mulled wine reception to the elegant christmas decor and open fires it was truely a dream winter wonderland themed wedding. Staff were extremely attentive to detail and made all my guests feel very welcome and well looked after.
Food was exceptional and all my guests said it was the best wedding food they ever had. We went for fillet steak and hake. Little extra touches like the sorbet after the started all added to the meal experience.
As the whole hotel is exclusively hired out when you book your wedding, it feels like "your" house for the day/night. All our guests also commented on this saying they felt so relaxed throughout the day as there was such a homely feel throughout in our intimate venue.
We had a guest list of 95 people and the function room was full with a great atmosphere as no table was too far away from the main one. The acoustics for the band and Dj are excellent and the dancefloor always seems packed compared to a larger venue with the same guest numbers. This all adds to the buzz. Some of our non dancing guests were still able to soak up the atmosphere from the adjoining bar or drawing room so you felt the whole group always stayed together.
I can highly recommend Castle Grove Hotel as a top class intimate wedding venue for it's attention to detail, superb Michelin Recommend restaurant food, fantastic acoustics and above all it's warm, friendly and relaxed feel. 10/10!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked for a christening on a Saturday for 22 people and also booked 5 rooms that night.
The four course meal was simply gorgeous, they take their food serious here. My partner is a hard to please chef and he was delighted. All the guests had a great day. The wine was lovely and reasonable, we had a lot! The chef even baked a cake. The grounds are unspoiled and well kept. There is a Victorian old world charm to this place. It made the day feel very special and I would highly recommend, lovely staff ect.
I can find no fault with our wonderful visit.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We got a warm welcome, slept in lovely bedrooms, relaxed in front of big open fires in comfortable sitting rooms and enjoyed beautiful food.

The house is a genuine country manor in a beautiful setting close to Letterkenny. The decor and furnishings are lovely.

This really is a hidden gem and we look forward to returning.

This is the best of Irish hospitality, warm, unobtrusive and totally professional.

Excellent in every way.

We will certainly return.

Is there anything else you could want?

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed with my two children (one of whom is a very lively 9 year old boy) for two night during the October Half term holidays. What can I say? The hotel is beautiful. It feels like Downton Abbey, but the staff are so friendly and approachable, you feel at home straight away. The rooms are so comfortable, and elegant and the public areas are stunning with open wood fires and huge chanderliers.

The restaurant was closed when we were there, but I am reliable informed that is it very good indeed. If the breakfasts are anything to go by I have no difficulty believing that. I hope I will get the opportunity to visit again and eat dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We recently stayed at Castle Grove Manor House Hotel and found it delightful. The owner and her staff exhibit the utmost in hospitality. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and were delighted with our meal. Our room was comfortable and charming, with a canopied bed and wonderful antiques. Mary, the owner, couldn't have been more generous with answering our questions and providing helpful tips for that area of Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Grove Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Grove Country House Hotel

Address: Ramelton Road R245 | Ballymaleel, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Luxury Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Grove Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Grove House is a 4 star hotel (Georgian house) and award winning restaurant which overlooks Lough Swilly and welcomes you into a relaxed atmosphere of comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Castle Grove Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Grove Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Grove Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.