We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real country house hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Grove Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Grove Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramelton Road R245 | Ballymaleel, Letterkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Real country house hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a true country house hotel, large private grounds and very private and secluded. Very relaxing and comfortable, we had a large room and onsuite bathroom with bath and seperate shower, very nice, lovely views towards the lough. The food is excellent, we had a fabulous evening meal, lovely wine list and breakfasts are really nice, local produce,really tasty . A big thank you to Mary and all the staff, who are so friendly and attentive for a lovely long weekend stay during our trip around Co. Donegal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    23
    4
    0
    8
See reviews for
18
67
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Kiwis on Tour
When we arrived at this hotel, it was noticeable and surprising how run down it was. The outside furniture was lying around everywhere and the conservatory was a disgrace. The furniture was badly water stained and the whole area looked very uninviting. We were shown to a room, which although large, was very outdated, had badly uneven floors and smelt old and damp. When trying WIFI I found that reception was non-existent and was told that it was available in the public areas although it was advertised as being available throughout the hotel. Unfortunately that was the final straw and we checked out immediately without staying the night. This was the most expensive hotel that I had booked throughout Ireland and I was expecting something very special. I assure you it was not. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. 4 Stars is ridiculous for this hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PWLLHELI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

What a superb place this is! You almost feel like saying, to all first time visitors to Ireland, "start here"! There were elements that I felt are long forgotten in many hotels these days. Instant relaxation is the term that springs to mind. The old ways are often the best and so it is here. Comfort, care and the desire to look after guests, were readily apparent from the moment we arrived, for our few days stay. This is building which is many years old has furniture which is in keeping with it's age. Our room was spacious and well appointed. Within minutes, when I needed a chair to work at the computer, it was there. A member of staff overheard my wife, in conversation with another guest. mention it was a cold morning. On returning to our room the central heating had been supplemented by an oil radiator. There are several places you can sit and relax - I counted three sitting rooms and an old breakfast room. As a bonus the sitting rooms had real fires ablaze in them! But what about the food? I remain amazed that a country hotel in the west of Ireland can retain a chef of such outstanding quality. The whole eating experience needs to be experienced to be believed, it really is that good. I struggle to recall another breakfast menu with three fish options on offer. The star for me has to be Owen who makes the dining experience such a pleasure. We will return.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all good. We overlooked the farm but it was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 nights and had dinner there every night. The food was very good. Our cocktail and dinner waiter, Owen, was outstanding. His dry sense of humor, together with his evident desire to please, was one of the highlights of our stay. Also, Mrs. Mary, the owner, was helpful in giving advise about day trips to places to visit during our stay. However, on our last night, there was a party of 43 ladies occuping the two lovely common rooms where we normally had our quiet cocktail time and, later they had dinner with us in the dining room. They were very noisy which was distracting to the point that several of the overnight guests got up and left in disgust. We loved the setting and location and the lovely walks the estate offered with cows, sheep, horses. Also, there are three large dogs that stay out of site in the back by the service entrance which Ms. Mary let us meet. Our large, upstairs room with king sized bed overlooked the pasture then the lake. It was very quiet except for the 3rd night the noisy local ladies had their party... and it went on until about 11:30pm.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the pasture and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Old world charm and incredible food. Spacious bedrooms. A great place for a quiet escape.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co.donegal
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This hotel is the most romantic and wonderful hotel we have stayed in, ever! We got married here last year and went back for our anniversary this weekend. It is a beautiful old hotel with amazing rooms and wonderfully funished.The drawing rooms have big open fires burning and the warmth and ambiance of this hotel is perfect. The bedrooms have gorgeous beds and antique furniture with beautiful drapes and carpets. The gardens look down on the water and there are lovely old trees all around. The staff are so professional with a great sense of humour-happy to make your stay comfortable and memorable.And then there is the food- all i can say is that the food was fantastic! -and very good value.The flavours and combinations truely divine- i was in a little bit of heaven. Castle Grove is a magical place- to be enjoyed like a good wine-without haste.I can definately recommend it too for a dream wedding-like something from a film set.Thankyou to all the staff and especially the owner Mary for the terrific hospitality and attention to detail.

Room Tip: all the rooms are unique with a differant writer's name on them
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

Myself and my family ( 11 adults 6 children ) had the pleasure of a dinner in this fab location on the 1st march. The food was unreal, and very well priced. If you are looking for a weekend away or a great meal Castlegrove House is a must. ( this is the 1st time I've left a review for anything, I was that impressed !)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Grove Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Grove Country House Hotel

Address: Ramelton Road R245 | Ballymaleel, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Grove Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Grove House is a 4 star hotel (Georgian house) and award winning restaurant which overlooks Lough Swilly and welcomes you into a relaxed atmosphere of comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castle Grove Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Grove Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Grove Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.