We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ten out of Ten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Grove Country House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Grove Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramelton Road R245 | Ballymaleel, Letterkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Ballyshannon, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ten out of Ten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Just back from a night at Castle Grove & we had a lovely time. Once again the meal was fabulous. Without doubt the best food about. There is such a lovely homely feel to Castle Grove & a very relaxed atmosphere. Mary & staff are very friendly & make you feel at home.
The personal touch of Castle Grove shines through- Love it!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    22
    4
    0
    8
See reviews for
16
66
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We had a nice night at the hotel. Just had a snack which was well presented. Hard to find staff when you needed them. Took ages for food to arrive and then decided on dessert and that seemed to come from Dublin! Tea had then gone cold so bit dissapointing. Room was huge and bed was also! Mattress was firm and should have been good but our backs were 'in bits' in the morning - not sure why but something to do with mattress. Dining room has a very 'cold' feel with wooden floor and very large and impersonal for breakfast. Have got too used to modern hotels I suppose!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Our first stay at this place has been a real treat. The family run hotel really lets you relax and feel welcome. Some state that the place is run down. I guess it depends on whether you like the newest, fanciest facilities or enjoy the cosiness and comfort of huge old beds and plush carpets of a real country house.

Room Tip: We took a sneak peek into some of the other rooms. They looked just s charming as ours. However, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights in October. Loved this place. Service was fantastic and food was out of this world!

Room Tip: We booked a standard room, was far from standard, bed was huge and bathroom was massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

All in all this place is seriously run down. For example the en suites have carpets !! (what happens in a bathroom with carpet?) The bedrooms are seriously dated and I felt I was in a nursing home. There was just a 'smell' about it the whole time. Food was excellent but accommodation not worth the money at all. I'm not really sure where the previous reviewers have stayed before but their expectations can't have been too high.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed here in August as a family with a 7 yr old and could not fault the service in any way. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were always very pleasant.
The bedroom was very spacious and had one of the biggest beds we have ever slept in! Ffood was excellent and they were able to provide a good selection of vegetarian options for my wife and son,.
We will definitely return and hopefully be able to stay longer next time!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is our fourth weekend at Castle Grove. We found it three years ago, and are regular visitors. It's like no other place we have visited. You are treated like long lost relatives when you arrive. The owners and staff are magnificent, and will go out of their way to make the stay every bit as memorable as the one before.
The rooms are wonderful, and the food is out of this world, from the home made cookies to the fabulous dinners.
We have nothing but praise for Castle Grove, and would urge anyone wanting a break from the rigours of everyday life to try it.
You will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: It doesn't matter what room you have, they are all wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Grove Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Grove Country House Hotel

Address: Ramelton Road R245 | Ballymaleel, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
#2 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#4 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Grove Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Grove House is a 4 star hotel (Georgian house) and award winning restaurant which overlooks Lough Swilly and welcomes you into a relaxed atmosphere of comfort and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castle Grove Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Grove Country Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Grove Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.