We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Errigal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Errigal Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Errigal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Coatbridge, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HIGHLY RECOMMENDED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

My husband and I stayed in Mount Errigal Hotel for 5 nights midweek as part of a coach trip. Our experience was of great service, fantastic food and very attentive staff who went out of their way to be helpful. The bar had a relaxing atmosphere also. I will certainly return to stay at Mount Errigal again and wouln't hesitate in recommending it to friends and family. We saw some fantastic scenery i.e Giants Causeway and also managed some shopping, dining and also were able to visit some family members in a nearby village.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynneHarrison, Carolynne, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on The Mount Errigal Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and had the chance to enjoy the ambience of our popular Cafe Renaissance Bar.
I am also happy that you had the chance to visit the remarkable Giants Causeway however that is only the 'tip of the iceberg' when it comes to natural beauty in Ireland. On your next visit I would be happy to tell you about some of our other breathtaking treasures in the North West of Ireland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    239
    119
    79
    71
See reviews for
317
320
19
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limavady
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Was promised a disabled room but it was not ready when we arrived so we toke another room which was in need of decorating and cleaning. When we tried to shower it wouldnt work and we had to change rooms this was not very convienent as my husband has a disability. How ever a nice enough hotel from the front and the food was good in the resturant and the front bar was lovely although it could have been doing with a good clean as it was very dirty and dusty. A little to far out of Letterkenny for night life. would not stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Mid week break...quiet hotel during the week except for traffic noise to the front. Lacked atmosphere. Reception staff were not that welcoming but other staff in the hotel were nice and friendly. Rooms are old fashioned decor but clean and comfortable. Noise on first floor from bar beneath. Smell in corridor on way to rooms was most unpleasant. Leisure facilities good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynneHarrison, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry that you did not feel properly welcomed by our reception team, this is not a common complaint but one that we will certainly take seriously because we like to make sure all our guests feel extremely welcome. I apologise that you experienced noise during your stay however unless we know the date of your stay we cannot investigate the issue.

As regards the smell in the coridor we have not had any complaints of this nature and we have since investigated this to find that the corridors are very fresh.

I am delighted you enjoyed our leisure facilities and would encourange you to contact me directly should you wish to return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

I stayed in this hotel with several members and friends of my family after the wedding of my daughter and I was delighted with the welcome and service provided to us. i spoke with several others who stayed some from England who were also complementing their stay at the hotel. Even with large numbers we were made to feel like spoilt Individuals which I felt was important, the hotel team were really friendly and made our stay so relaxed I wanted to acknowledge their good work. The wedding was handled very well which was the icing on the cake !! well done to the hotel and I definately would be happy to return there, the food was first class, plenty of it, good quality and hot !! which i personally look for when I m eating my dinner, an-mhaith ar fad !!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynneHarrison, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted we made your daughter's day special and happy that everyone involved enjoyed the warmth of our management and staff.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

This hotel is a complete dump, hasn't seen a lick of paint in years. Bathrooms are not cleaned properly - especially the toilet!!!!! Food thrown at you by members of staff in the restaurant (food is not that great) and then leaving you with the mess in your lap. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone - stay well away and do not go by the pictures they have on their website, rooms do not look like that at all

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynneHarrison, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write your second review of the Mount Errigal Hotel.
We apologise profusely as regards an accident which occurred in our restaurant which resulted in one of your party having food spilt on them, however when this happened our management dealt with it promptly and sent two rounds of complimentary drinks, we also refunded the balance on the bill.

We understand how frustrated you might be because the first review you wrote highlighted the effort made by management to apologise and it did not highlight any issue with cleanliness or other standards in the hotel.
As regards images of the hotel, all the pictures on our website are actual pictures taken recently of the hotel and are a true representation of the standard of bedrooms.

I do hope you visit us again in the future and would encourage you to contact me if there is anything else we can do for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding , lovely hotel stayed here few times before , but after this experience will nevr stay again . checked into our room with our 4 month old son , non smoking , attending the wedding during the day , Arrived back to our room around 01.00 , terrible smell of smoke ,tried to ring reception 4 times , no answer . put towel at door and opened window . still smelled of cigarette smoke . complained in am about smoke , receptionist just said " sorry about that " . will never stay here again . is non smoking not supposed to be that

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynneHarrison, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Mount Errigal Hotel.

We apologise that you had the smell of smoke coming into your bedroom. Unless I have the room number and date you stayed I cannot investigate this incident. If you requested a non smoking room you should have had no problem with the smell of smoke in your room.

I would encourage you to contact me directly so we can resolve this issue because we would be very eager to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundalk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

Stayed here on business for three nights. About 1.5 kms from town centre but really a taxi back out at night. Letterkenny good enough town with plenty of pubs, restaurants, shops etc. I walked over to the cinema one night and they had good selection of new releases on show. Another evening we met up at Arena 7 for a few beers and some bowling and pool.
My room was spacious, clean and the staff were friendly and useful for finding out about the layout of the town and what was on. Free wifi in the hotel was a pleasant surprise. The hotel has a swimming pool etc which I used only once but it seemed to have all the usual stuff sauna etc. Just ate once in the bar and it was grand. Overall good hotel in a lively town.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolynneHarrison, Sales & Marketing Manager at Mount Errigal Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Mount Errigal Hotel.

We do receive many compliments from business travellers and I am glad that you found the hotel to be in an excellent location, close to town centre, cinema and local bowling.
Thank you also for commenting on how spacious and clean our bedrooms are and that our staff are eager to help with any queries you may have on Letterkenny's layout and facilities available.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#3 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi.The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Errigal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.