We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible stay - worlds smallest room with smokers outside all night” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Errigal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mount Errigal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Errigal Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 hotels in Letterkenny
glasgow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“terrible stay - worlds smallest room with smokers outside all night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

I stayed in the hotel back in June 2008 for a friends wedding and our room was on the ground floor next to the fire exit used by smokers, and the room just fitted a bed & a rail for clothes & that was about it! It was a very hot day and we were melting in the room as there wasnt air conditioning and the window didnt open far.

We had noise all night from people outside smoking. Granted my friend's room was a much larger size on the 3rd floor but the fact we were charged the same was appalling. We had booke a 2 night deal with a meal online but ended up being charged for the meal (which wasnt worth the £50 we spent) as they didnt know of this deal despite the fact we had booked it through there website and had the print outs! The wedding was lovely and the banquet room a good size. But i certainly would make sure you dont get a pokey room on the ground floor and check any deal you booked online when you arrive at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    194
    99
    70
    64
See reviews for
256
280
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2009

I stayed in Mount Errigal Hotel for a weekend in January with my partner and we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The highlights for us would have to be the food and the leisure centre. We had a meal in the hotel restaurant, The Strawberry Garden and ordered from the A La Carte Menu which was divine. We used the leisure centre facilities during our stay which were excellent, a swim followed by a massage, very relaxing! The staff were friendly, helpful and not too intrusive. We were able to check the internet from the comfort of our room as they have wireless broadband throughout the hotel which was excellent as you normally have to trek to a lobby/business centre in most hotels. After looking up things to do in the area we ventured into Letterkenny to have a look around and we found it was very close by. We will return again and have recommended Mount Errigal to friends.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

quite a good stay, there was nothing bad in room, it was clean big enough room.
Dinner was lovely and I really enjoyed it.

  • Liked — high standard
  • Disliked — it is a big hotel - it is easy to be lost
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We had our wedding reception in the Mount Errigal on Tues 30 December 2008 and what a perfect day from start to finish.
The staff were more than helpful, the accommodation was excellent and the food was out of this world. Everyone is still talking about how excellent their day was.
We had alot of family and friends who stayed the night of the wedding and for New Years Eve and they were delighted with everything.
We are so glad we booked the Mount Errigal and would recommend it to anyone who is planning a wedding.

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — nothing it was perfect
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

I stayed at the Mount Errigal Hotel as part of a Tour at the beggining of November and I have to say I had a great stay.

My room was nice enough and the breakfast and dinner service was excellent. Mostly of the staff was lovely and try to help as much as they could.

The Leisure Centre was impressive.

I am sure I will get back as soon as I have the chance.

  • Liked — The nice Service
  • Disliked — The views
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundalk co louth Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

stayed in this hotel in october just for one night on entering our room we noticed it was wheelchair suitable which was fine except my partner is 6 foot 2 and the bathroom sink was just above his knees the view from the room was of a roof which was green with damp and covered in cigarette butts when we asked for our room to be changed the receptionist was nice enough but told us this was one of their executive rooms which had to be a joke. We then went into the bar where there was a wedding party and finally managed to get served when i got my coffee most of it was in the saucer i had to ask for napkins to clean up the mess then the sandwich arrived i have never seen such a thrown together mess in my life we complained and were told to take our complaint to receptionist again the receptionist was nice enough and refunded the cost of the sandwiches which we never touched . I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and would not stay there again it was overpriced and I have stayed in nicer b+b's.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — view and some of the staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

Huge hotel and leisure centre, free wireless throughout the hotel BUT no computer access for those of us who chose not to lug our laptops all over Ireland. I found this very disappointing and annoying as I needed to contact my family. This is a big oversite by a hotel who appears to want to offer every comfort.

Room was large but only 8 tv stations. No clock but lighting was sufficient for reading. Of course it had all the leisure centre features, jaccuzzi, huge pool, steam, sauna, plunge pool, kids pool. NOTE that bathing caps are required for everyone in the pool. They are available for sale.

Dinner was good but staff was disorganized. There also appears to be no wine steward on staff so if you wanted wine you had to wait until everyone was finished serving the meal.

  • Liked — large room
  • Disliked — no Internet access unless you brought your own computer
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mount Errigal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Errigal Hotel

Address: Ballyraine, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Letterkenny
#5 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Errigal Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a great central location, within walking distance of Letterkenny Town, this luxury 3 star hotel and state-of-the-art leisure centre is close to pubs, nightlife, shopping and theatres. Free parking and Wi-Fi.The Mount Errigal Hotel has a leisure centre with a 20-metre swimming pool, sauna, Jacuzzi, steam room, and fully equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mount Errigal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mount Errigal
Mount Errigal Letterkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Errigal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.