We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for shoppers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clanree Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clanree Hotel to your Saves list
Clanree Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Letterkenny
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good for shoppers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Situated on the edge of Letterkenny - a bustling commercial town with loads of commercial outlets. Very impressive entrance hall and helpful staff. Large rooms with very comfortable beds, good for stopover and for a short break. Breakfast usual fairly standard buffet fare. Decent leisure centre which is free for guests

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    180
    113
    67
    31
See reviews for
153
214
19
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
brussels
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

You see pictures of that "Titanic" grand staircase, and you think "oh what a palace" !!!! Well, the place may have been great but now it's on the low side. Old & shabby furniture everywhere, looks like "Flog it" or "Bargain Hunt". The room we had was a nightmare : a few steps form the busy road (speed limit : 100 km/h), and the dubble glazing wouldn't help at all : it was just as if we were in the middle of a "grand prix" F1 track. Thank Heaven I had my ear plugs ! We were with a large group of tourists, so other people were located at the back of the building and didn't have that problem; because of the groups, no other room was available. The problem came from the window frame coming off the wall, as was the bathroom sink, the shower... holes in the carpet and a general feeling of "this place needs a re-do" ! Rooms quite spacious. Food : we had buffet for the groups, not bad and the warm breakfast was ok. Try the wonderful irish brown bread !

Room Tip: Do not take a room facing the main road, even for free !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived at the hotel for the wedding reception of a friend and it was a great event. From the very smooth checking in process, to the pre-game drinks in Oscar's Pub, to the actual reception in the MacGrianna Suite the entire day went without a hitch. The food at the reception was absolutely awesome and the staff were very pleasant and could not have been more helpful. The only thing keeping our rating from being a five is that the room furniture was pretty well used up. Everything was functional, but the room could definitely use and updating. Would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Stick with the Executive Suites which appear to have been updated much more recently than the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed at the Clanree Hotel for three nights in May with my wife and four month old baby.

The hotel was very clean. The room we had was large. The breakfast was good.

Well located on the road into Letterkenny and is a good location for driving either into Letterkenny itself or onwards to other tourist locations.

Not well placed to walk into the town though as there it is on a dual carriageway and I am not sure if the footpath goes all the way.

I would have no problem recommending this hotel or staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The outside of the hotel looks fab but the bedrooms leave a lot to be desired. The room had a damp feeling about it, the ceiling had lots of damp stains and paint was peeling off it. The bathroom was much worse with paint peeling, chips out of the bath and the shower could not be regulated.

The hotel staff were very friendly and the breakfast was ok. They used egg powder to make scrambled egg and the smell was making me sick.

I most certainly will not be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gortin, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed overnight following a wedding at another hotel. Room wasn't ready when we arrived, it was clean but needs some refurbishment. No residents bar upon our return to HOTEL that night. Good comfortable clean beds. Some fixings in bathroom rusted and needing replaced. Breakfast staff very good but orange juice watered down. Don't think I would book again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

While everyone we met from staff in the Clanree Hotel was very friendly and helpful - the overall experience in the hotel was not great and I wouldn't go back. As soon as I went into the bedroom - I started coughing and I don't know whether it was dust or damp as there was condensation on the inside of the windows which was strange. I think the rooms need a thorough cleaning to ensure there is no problem with dust or damp.

The breakfast was fine - although you see tinned fruit very rarely these days. Dinner was basic but again fine in terms of presentation and taste - although chips seemed to be heated up - as they were "tough" and weren't tasty. Small things - but all can take from the overall experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clanree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clanree Hotel

Address: Derry Road, Letterkenny, Ireland (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Letterkenny
#6 Family Hotel in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clanree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you could want in a getaway...Plus More!!The Family Friendly Clanree Hotel, Letterkenny, the ideal place to relax and revive. The Clanree Hotel Letterkenny is ideally located for exploring beautiful Donegal and the Northwest of Ireland. Located only a few minutes drive from the bustling town centre of Letterkenny, the hotels accommodation boasts 120 luxurious en-suite rooms. The Aileach restaurant in the Clanree Hotel offers Award Winning food, while McGettigans Bar offers an extensive Bar Food Menu & live entertainment. Visitors can't fail to be impressed by its grand interior and wide range of facilities. The hotel boasts a fully equipped health and fitness club with a heated indoor 20m pool and children's pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steamroom, solarium and fully-equipped gym. There is an in-house beauty salon providing a full range of treatments and special 'pamper packages' are available throughout the year. What is there to do?....You will not be short of activities in the area from the many coastal drives to mapped walks, horse riding, surfing, fishing, golfing, karting, clay pigeon shooting plus more! Letterkenny town offers great shopping facilities, cinema, theatre and kids jungle gym & bowling. So, I am sure you will agree that the Clanree is the perfect location for midweek breaks, weekend breaks, family breaks, & golden year's breaks...The team at the Clanree Hotel look forward to welcoming you to Donegal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clanree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clanree Hotel Letterkenny
Holiday Inn Letterkenny

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clanree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.