We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenveagh Castle

Glenveagh Castle
Churchill, Letterkenny, Ireland
353 74 9137090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Letterkenny
Attraction details
Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Stunning scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a walk today & a visit to the Cafe. Felt compelled to review the excellent service in the cafe. We arrived in just as it was about to close. We were a noisy party of 7...2 adults & 5 kids. Most places ready to finish for the day would have given a frosty reception particularly with so many kids or turned you away. The young man serving us couldn't have been more pleasant. He went out of his way to accommodate our needs even though they were tidying up & preparing for home. He appreciated our custom and nothing was a bother to him. He was cheerful & professional and Glenveagh Castle are lucky to have such an excellent member of staff. The food is all home baked on site.....just delicious !!

The scenery is just breathtaking. Definatelty worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    94
    16
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Donegal, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A gem in Donegal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Really lovely place to visit. Great walks with amazing scenery. Gardens at the castle are beautiful. Many events planned throughout the year so worth checking their website. I've never visited the castle so can't comment on that but can comment on the great home baking in the cafe. Yum, yum

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A great castle and Garden visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a must see for thoise who like castles and are gardening enthusiasts.Both the property and castle are well maintained .and located on a fabulous piece of property and contain interesting furnishings and species in a gorgeous setting.Time permitting take a tour.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What a Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Beautiful gardens and castle. Great views from up behind the castle overlooking the lake.Nice coffee house at castle.Take a look around the glenveagh visitor centre first to learn about the history of the castle and about the wildlife around the region.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“What a walk..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Well we didnt realise how far it was to walk so didnt come prepared with hats and gloves.. Was a beautiful walk mind you but my ears were killing me by the time we got to the castle. castle was amazing and the little guy that served us our Tea and Snickers cake (yummy) was a delight, so friendly. Needless to say we got the bus back..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenveagh Castle also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Glenveagh Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenveagh Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.