We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hosts, beautiful atmosphere, lovely breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oaklands B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Oaklands B&B to your Saves list
Oaklands B&B
Gortlee Road, Letterkenny, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Letterkenny B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Excellent Hosts, beautiful atmosphere, lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed a week at Oaklands B&B, Letterkenny,Donegal, in July 2012. From the moment I arrived I felt special & was made a lovely cup of tea straight away from the Owner, Majella.

The bedroom felt very homely & comfortable & the hot breakfasts were absolutely delicious. Majella also played Celtic music in the background while you're enjoying your breakfast & this makes you feel like you are in Ireland.

Majella's husband Carl is also a wonderful Host & if you are good, he will take you up to his homemade Bar & as the Irish say, talk Craic.

Andrew Gunn
Brisbane. Australia

Room Tip: All good. All rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Guest Relations Manager at Oaklands B&B, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Andrew,

Thank you so much for your warm review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you again should you venture to back to the North West of Ireland. Rest assured the same warm and friendly welcome will be extended upon your return.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
10
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fowey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

A very pleasant stay in a handily-placed house walking distance from the bus station hub that many people arrive at. Kept us a room on a very informal basis - 'see you when you arrive' - and gave us a comfortable, friendly stay which included a lift in to the throbbing centre of Saturday-night Letterkenny. Lovely breakfast - a perfect start to our cycling holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I called Majella( Owner) from India and booked the place for 14 nights. She was generous enough to provide us a 3 bed room without even asking. The place is as clean as any Five star facility and people are as warm as any family. Majella's husband is a treat to talk to. Great sense of humor and lively by nature. The breakfast was great and we were being provided options so that we shall not feel monotonous.
Its on a walking distance from the main busstation and city centre which saved our transport cost drastically.Its as good as a hotel as you have a private enterance,guest room and a kitchen with all the amenties.
I LOVED the stay there and couldnt ask for more. Fallen in love with the place and people of Letterkenny.
I wish best of luck to Majella and her husband ( I keep forgetting his name :P ) for their future endeavors.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, no matter what you choose. If you are sharing a room with anyone, ask for a bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Oaklands is a fantastic B&B. For the price you get exceptional care and treatment from the owners, comfortable sleeping quarters, and great help when your phone doesn't work and you're trying to get in contact with your family the day after a wedding. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Majella was great. Very helpful with getting laundry sent out. Room was small. Some of the guest were cold so the heat was turned off which made our room a sauna. No individual controls. 1st night was uncomfortable but we told Majella and the next night was great.

More of a hotel that a B&B something like 10 to 12 rooms.

My husband felt the eggs were cooked ahead of time then put in the microwave to heat them up. All the eggs were overcooked.

Close enough to walk to Letterkinny town center which was a big plus after so many days in the care.

Room Tip: Don't really know if any of the rooms are any better. I suggested new mattress are purchased
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dub
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and was made feel at home from the first minute. Very laid back family atmosphere, with a spacious en suite room to myself. Plenty of room to keep to yourself if you want, or else have a chat with the friendly owners or other guests. Guest kitchen also available with full range of amenities for making own food. Also close enough to Letterkenny town centre to visit restaurants if need be. Very much enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

It was very friendly and excellent service. the bed room was really clean, and de breakfast delcious !

from switzerland

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Front Office Manager at Oaklands B&B, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Good Morning Damien,

Thank you for your review. It is extremely rewarding to read your kind words and hope you will consider Oaklands B&B upon your next return to Letterkenny where the same warm welcome (+ Irish Breakfast) will be waiting.

Best Wishes

David Leonard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaklands B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklands B&B

Address: Gortlee Road, Letterkenny, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Letterkenny
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Letterkenny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Oaklands B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaklands B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.