We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lemon Tree

The Lemon Tree
39 Lower Main Street, Letterkenny, Ireland
+353(0)74 9125788
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Letterkenny
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Lemon tree is a Letterkenny owned family run restaurant opened in 1999. The three brothers in the kitchen have a unique style with a mixture of traditional Irish and French classic, influenced by country house cooking which was collected by their many years experience all over Irleand. All meats are Irish sourced and fresh fish is a special feature. Everthing is made freshly on site including all breads, pastries, pastas and desserts. The Wine list is ever growing and includes something for all tastes. The restaurant offers a Early bird menu 7 days available from 5 - 7 pm and a full A la carte menu from 5 - 10 PM. Lunch is available from 1 - 2:30 PM on Sunday
Letterkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

been here a few times you won,t be disappointed the food is brilliant. the steak is like an angel dancing on your tongue and a lovely glass of wine or 2.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    53
    14
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Still as Good as Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Great service and fine food - disappointed that the early bird menu was suspended over the christmas and new year period - even though my visit was well into the new year, but have been advised that it is to be brought back again soon

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Ate here last weekend with 3 friends. The food was great...a lot of choice on the menu and everyone loved what they got. I had scallops for starters followed by a great duck dish. Side orders were tasty and plentiful. Service was good and we will definetly be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Five Stars *****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Well unlike the evaporated sauce in The Brewery in the same town of Letterkenny nothing disappeared here in The Lemon Tree.
Both of us had soup as it was a cold evening and while I am not a soup fanatic even I was going to lick the bowl after my soup disappeared to the pit of my stomach. The boss lady declared the best soup she has ever eaten outside and believe me she is a real soup-head! The accompanying guinness bread and the sundried tomato and fennel was delicious.
I had the monkfish with pork belly and boss lady had the pork fillet. Unbelievably good both dishes, as were the sides of garlic potatoes for me and potatoes and vegetables for Mrs. Boss.
We tackled desserts with the better half having the baileys and white chocolate chip cheesecake. I had the chocolate mousse and honeycomb ice-cream and frankly I was tempted to lick the plate after I finished as was My Lady going to do the same.
I had a glass of sauvignon blanc and a qtr bottle of prosecco and the lady had a big glass of pure orange and all was just 76 euro for the lot.
Coupled with pleasant staff and great service it was great value. If this restaurant was in Belfast it would easily hold its' own with Cayenne, Deanes, James Street South, Zen and all the rest.
Great food and staff and thanks guys - was a great treat on our weekend break!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is one of Letterkennys best restaurants, excellent service and hospitality, i have dined in the restaurant many times on my visits to LK and have always enjoyed the food, service and ambience in the restaurant. Slightly pricer than other venues in town but it shows in the quality of the food

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lemon Tree also viewed

Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 
Letterkenny, County Donegal
Letterkenny, County Donegal
 

Been to The Lemon Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lemon Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.