We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great location but Outstanding Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Springfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Springfield Hotel to your Saves list
Springfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leixlip Road, Leixlip, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Leixlip
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great location but Outstanding Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just back from 2 nights at this hotel and based on my experience I would definitely recommend it. Had room service and ate in the restaurant over my two night and could not fault the quality or quantity of the food. The room was spacious, modern and clean. The highlight however was the welcome we got from all the staff with special mention to the gent on reception and the restaurant manager. The hotel is only a few minutes drive from Liffey Valley Shopping Centre and is served by several bus routes to Dublin City Centre the stops for which are only a very short walk from reception.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pardaig_Kennedy, General Manager at Springfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Tipperary Tourist.

We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay here at the Springfield Hotel.
I will pass your kind and honest comments on to all the staff.
Thank you and we all here look forward to welcoming you both back soon.
Kind Regards
Padraig Kennedy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    44
    30
    15
    9
See reviews for
47
64
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Cavan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Nice lobby to the hotel and receptionist was friendly. Even though four of us checked in we were put in a room with two beds??? The receptionist fixed this quickly enough and the room we were put in was much better than most family rooms. There was a weird glass divide in the room which was dangerous for young children and probably adults in the dark! Plenty of space, and clean however no heat in the room! We could have rang reception but it was late when we checked in and we were tired and wanted to go to sleep. No heat on in December isn't good enough. The breakfast the next day was adequate but was served by the grumpiest looking man I have encountered in a while. He should not be dealing with the public..he couldn't even manage a good morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Springfield is not unique as a hotel but as a family orientated hotel it surpasses all, The hotel is family owned and that is reflected in the quality of the welcome one gets, What makes the Springer is the quality of the staff, nothing is too much, just ask. The food in the restaurant is probably the best value in the greater Dublin area only surpassed by the service, prompt courteous and a great eye to see that the customer is happy, Where would you get not alone the general manager but the owner serving at table, that in my opinion is real customer service. and how they do the carvery in the bar for the price is very difficult to comprehend. Would I recommend the Springfield , yes I would and do so regularly, I would give it 100% for Its Warm friendly clean and more like a real home from Home. Free wifi in the bar and the lounge Great secure car park very handy for Dublin and Liffey valley shopping centre. Having stayed in many a hotel throughout Ireland and the UK, I rate the SpringField as my favourite because I always relax and feel well at home, Great Hotel

Room Tip: be welcomed as a "family" member and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

always enjoy the springer in leixlip.........clean neat and tidy.............food good.....prices fair...............drinks always good.............staff friendly..............nice easy car parking and plenty of space which is nice..................rooms good..................only downside...was there for food twice this summer when wedding on.............service in lounge goes to pot when wedding people sit down for meal.............everybody distracted and forget about poor sods in bar and lounge...plus put self closer on door leading to reception area from lounge....its freezing the lounge.....also some background music would be nice in lounge area......feels bad without it.....also i do not wish to listen to my next door people havin their chat...............overall good but few little jobs need attention..............get francis brennan up for a day.............

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here whilst at a wedding in a nearby venue . Excellent rates , great room , and great breakfast . Very happy with it, staff were friendly and helpful . Didnt have time to check out the restaurant , but I would stay Again if I was in the area ...

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Springfield hotel surpassed our expectations. We booked a 1 night stay, b&b plus evening meal for less than 100 euro...lets just say I wasn't expecting much. On arrival we were greeted by lovely receptionist who informed us we would have a great stay as we had been upgraded to the bridal suite. The room is fab. Large room, flat screen tv, jacuzzi! Off to the bar..staff were so nice, dressed in uniform very attentive also. Evening meal was superb. Entertainment in the bar (guy on guitar playing variety of songs) was so good people were up dancing. Breakfast the next morning was THE nicest breakfast I have ever had (and I have stayed in some 5 star hotels around the world!). Check out was perfect. Everything was seamless...nothing was a hassle and you really feel like the staff love their hotel and jobs. Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybofey, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Booked the Springfield for an overnight after travelling back from a family wedding in Scotland and as my husband works in Leixlip this seemed ideal. When we arrived we were checked in and the room looked perfectly fine, everything we needed and was really clean and spotless. Being really tired after a long days travel we looked forward to an early night but unfortunately there seemed to be no soundproofing what so ever between our room and next door! Also seemed to be a lot of road noise but maybe because our room was at the front of the building although the hotel is set quite a bit back from the road. Breakfast next morning was grand and all staff we dealt with were friendly and efficient. Maybe another room might have been better but definitely wouldn't want the same one as this time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Springfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Hotel

Address: Leixlip Road, Leixlip, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Leixlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Springfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Springfield Hotel we aim to make your stay as comfortable as possible. It starts as soon as you step inside the hotel and experience the facilities, from the welcoming bar atmosphere to the relaxed quality of our restaurant. All our 52 central heated bedrooms are en-suite, are tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard and designed to make your stay with us a comfortable as possible. Choose from a suite of rooms including Standard Guestrooms, Executive Guestrooms and Family Rooms for the perfect accommodation in Kildare. The following facilities are standard: Colour satellite/cable TV, Hair dryer, Tea/coffee courtesy tray, Direct dial telephone, Voice mail, Modem points, Personal safe, FREE broadband and wireless internet connections. We also have 10 executive mini suites decorated with a touch of elegance incorporating the same facilities as our bedrooms, extras include mini fridge and trouser press all designed to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible. Some of our bedrooms are designed for people with special needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Springfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leixlip Hotel Springfield
Springfield Hotel Leixlip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Springfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.