We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay & will be back again very soon.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leixlip House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Leixlip House Hotel to your Saves list
Leixlip House Hotel
Captain's Hill, Leixlip, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Leixlip
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay & will be back again very soon.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night & we wish we never had to leave. We were told about this hotel by a friend. We are used to staying in big branded hotels, that you get the same mediocre service but Leixlip house hotel is every bit different! The staff are fantastic & done so much for us especially since I'm so fussy! From the receptionist, to the bar staff to the breakfast staff, they were all so friendly & couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are in keeping with the hotel building. Very elegant & very comfortable. We slept like logs. The town is a short walk down hill where the Liffey runs through. Some great wildlife along the shore including a big heron(picture to follow). Also some great pubs.
Over all we had a fantastic stay here, we felt like we were made part of a big family & would definitely recommend to anyone!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    14
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
27
39
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We arrived friday 28 of june to stay one night , we got this night stay as a gift , we were all really looking forward to going and to our horror there was nothing nice about this place at all ,we had three rooms booked 301 303 and 304 , the smell of must in the rooms was really bad i no that its an old house , room 303 had a bad smell of sewage which meant we could not use it and the ladies had to use camp beds in other two rooms , room 304 was filthy valance sheet was not ironed and very badly stained have never seen anything like in any hotel i have stayed in , the bathroom tiles were cracked paint coming of ceiling , bar man was very rude , ladies that served breakfast were very pleasant that is the only good comment i would have to say about this hotel and i use the word hotel loosely , breakfast was not good , great hotel across the road we had dinner there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Just booked our wedding here for next June. From my first email to booking the wedding I found this hotel to be friendly and very efficient. We met with Stuart and from the moment we met him we found him to be very friendly and approachable. He explained everything to us in detail and showed us around. He definitely sold it for us with his honesty and friendliness. We had our show around and cake back 2 hours later to sign the contracts cause we loved the place and did not want to miss out as the package we booked is being snapped up.
Can't wait for the day cause I can tell it's going to be perfect with Stuart looking after us.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent one night here for our anniversary. Was absolutely lovely, very warm and the staff could not do enough. Had dinner and drinks and they were excellent. I'm a fussy eater and am always nervous about asking for things as sometimes staff can get a bit rude about it, had no problems here the staff were so nice and made every effort they could to accommodate me. Have booked my wedding here for 2015 and cannot wait for it, have heard nothing but great things about this hotel. Our wedding planner Stuart has been so accommodating and helpful to assist with every detail of our wedding. Couldn't fault this hotel at all... Role on 2015 :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was there for 4 nights in May, 2013 on business. The facilities are rather old and some modern amenities are lacking, but the staff was responsive to my requests and the breakfast was great. There is no elevator, and only a tiny TV in the room. The bathroom only has a shower but no bathtub, and the sink has separate hot and cold water faucets, which made it rather difficult to get water at a decent temperature for washing. My biggest issue was that there are no temperature controls in the room. and there was no heat at night even though it got rather chilly. One night I woke up really cold and had to call the front desk to have them turn it on, which they did. The free wifi access came in handy, but it was very slow.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the hotel on a business trip and we had a great time. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 205 which was large and comfortable - apart from a big bed there was enough space for a desk to do work and a couple of arm chairs plus coffee table. Breakfast was plentiful - I couldn't manage a full breakfast but I enjoyed scrambled eggs with smoked salmon and a bowl of fresh fruit salad.
There is a comfortable lounge which serves afternoon tea.
The hotel has a restaurant which was full every evening - a good sign. It is frequented by people from the town as well as residents of the hotel. They offered a two course meal plus wine for less than Euro 20.00 - there was a good choice, the portions were generous (no space for a dessert).
This is not a luxury hotel - it is clean, it is comfortable, the staff cannot do enough for you - it is the place you look forward to come back to after a day in the office.
It takes less than 15 minutes by taxi to get to the technology park - no stress re: traffic jams !
There is a bus stop close by (less than 10 mins walk) which offers a frequent bus service into Dublin (it takes about 50 mins). We would come back anytime.
Just one consideration: we had to climb stairs to get to our room - which was no problem for us, it may be difficult if you have problems walking.

Room Tip: Room 205 is great - enough space to do work, plus two arm chairs to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

one of the best wedding receptions i was ever at
the staff were very friendly really nice very helpful the food was superb any amount you wanted
not one complaint from start to finish would really go back again especially for a wedding
small hotel but class shows

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leixlip House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leixlip House Hotel

Address: Captain's Hill, Leixlip, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Leixlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leixlip House Hotel is a masterfully transformed Georgian home dating back to 1772. Overlooking Leixlip Village, the hotel is just eight miles from Dublin City Centre and easily accessible by bus and train. Enjoy our intimate surroundings where one can relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Leixlip House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leixlip House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.