We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family function” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leixlip House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Leixlip House Hotel to your Saves list
Leixlip House Hotel
Captain's Hill, Leixlip, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Leixlip
Westport, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place for a family function”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed as part of a wedding anniversary party. Staff were very helpful and friendly. room was spacious and clean. breakfast had a good selection available. The whole group thoroughly enjoyed themselves. It was a great night and the hotel really helped make it happen. They provided a projector and allowed us play our own music till our dj arrived. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    15
    14
    3
    8
See reviews for
32
41
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Stayed here last night and was very impressed with the hotel, the only quibble would be that they would need a larger tv mounted on the wall as the distance from tv to position in bed was to far. Room was fab, nice big bed, lovely ensuite. Breakfast was waitress served which I found unusual, I love the waitress served for the hot section, but for cereal, breads etc it would make sence to have self service. Overall I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We had our wedding here and all of our guests said it was the best wedding they had been at. The food, staff, atmosphere, rooms and breakfast are all incredible. Just so freindly and relaxed. They have amazing special offers on like girls nite on a tuesday! We will definately be back for meals and weekend getaways. Not one person disappointed...and my gang are fussy!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We had our wedding in the Leixlip House Hotel in September 2010 and couldn't have asked for more (except from the weather!). From the moment we booked our date, the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We were really impressed with how all the staff seemed to know the locals well and enquired about their families etc, which meant that they cared about what they do and about making their guests feel welcome. Both Christian and Sheila were fantastic help in organising the day, even down to meeting us early to make sure we were ok before Sheila went on holiday, and making sure there was cover with other staff should we need anything in her absence. The cosy living room style reception area was welcomed by all guests escaping the rain on the day and the food was the most remarked on piece of the whole day!! The rooms are really cosy and well laid out, with a four poster bed in our chosen bridal suite. Fantastic experience, would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilkenny
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

My husband and myself spend 2 nights there. We were attending a wedding at the hotel,so we decided to make it a short break,as we have 2 children and we dont often get a chance.
If you are booking a room here,make sure you clear over the phone where will you be staying! We were brought to the back of the hotel,to another building. Then,up some stairs and "voila"!! Here is the dump!!
I can say most B&B in Ireland are 100 times better than the room we got. It was tiny,very old looking,the T.V. was ancient and the 2 of us couldnt fit in the bathroom at once! Only shower,no bath.
My husband went to complain to the reception and told them our room had nothing to do with the rooms they advertise in the website. Receptionist said the had no more rooms available,but the morning after,went for breakfast around 9.30,and we were the only people in the breakfast room!!!
The night after,I went to see the room of another guest at the wedding,and this was beautiful. This one in the main building...
The thing is that they were paying the same money than us,€100 per night.
On check out,they told us we would be charge ONLY €85 per night,but they never even apologised.
I could have booked a beautiful B&B for that money,and with a bath!!
All in all,it completely spoiled the romantic escape we were hoping for...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

I had my wedding recently at the Leixlip House Hotel. The main thing that drew me to this charming Georgian house was the food which we've had on numerous occasions and always loved. They did not disappoint on the day. Everybody raved about it which made us very happy as the bride and groom. But it wasnt just that. From the outset we found the staff to be fantastic. Always friendly and professional with a can-do attitude. From working in the hotel industry at a high level this hotel really knows how to look after people. Whilst it is a small hotel we felt like it was our's exclusively for the day. This place is also fantastic at Christmas with roaring fires and tasteful Christmas decorations. Perfect for a beautiful meal with a relaxing drink by the fire afterwards. Thanks again to all for a fantastic day.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed here for one night. Never again. Charged me 85 Euro, even though i had no breakfast. Someone should tell them theres a recession on. Its more like a B&B than a Hotel. Noise from nightclubbers coming home kept me awake all night. Situated beside a housing estate. Poor Service from Staff. Bed was uncomfortable and checking out was a joke. No one at front desk.

Can't beleive this place stays in business

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leixlip House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leixlip House Hotel

Address: Captain's Hill, Leixlip, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Leixlip
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Leixlip
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leixlip House Hotel is a masterfully transformed Georgian home dating back to 1772. Overlooking Leixlip Village, the hotel is just eight miles from Dublin City Centre and easily accessible by bus and train. Enjoy our intimate surroundings where one can relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Leixlip House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leixlip House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.