We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting watching the sunset from our bedroom window.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanville House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballyvaughan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oceanville House Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Oceanville House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Coast Road, Ballyvaughan, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Dingle, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Enchanting watching the sunset from our bedroom window.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed in this wonderful Bed & Breakfast "Oceanville" located right on Galway Bay in the enchanting village of Ballyvaughan, Co Clare. Kathleen was an exceptional hostess as she made us an exquisite breakfast and she was so full of good humour, willing to spend time chatting with us like we were old friends. Her rooms are all spotless and excellent value.

If you want to experience Irish hospitality at it's best and also get the bonus gift of being right on the waterfront, next door to Monks Restaurant, which is a great place for food, music and a glimpse of the local scene, book into Oceanville B&B. Also we discovered the Ballyvaughan Tea Rooms along the waterfront are open again with a lovely selection of home baked goodies.

Room Tip: Room 7&8 with the ocean view round table
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

The view from our room was incredible. We had a really big room as well with a lovely little table by the window and pretty comforters and covers on the bed. You could really experience the Burren seeing the limestone and water as well as the lights of Galway across the bay from Ballyvaughan. Feeling the rain and wind when one of those West Clare storms blew through and then got sunny again 10 minutes later. ('If you don't like the weather in Ireland, wait a minute'). A big hardy, yummy breakfast that was easily made veggie friendly too. I was seeing that they have people having signed in as early as 1989 and wondered how it could be that I've missed them having stayed in Ballyvaughan since 1990 many times. It's a real gem of a B&B with lovely people and for 32 euro pp rate (it might have been 34 - must check that), it was a wonderful bargain. OH also I forgot to mention we were a bit long tours weary, so Oceanville in BallyV was a great place to rest too. We did want to take a nice walk to get up close and personal with the Burren and Kathleen not only had an amazing map but talked with us about distances and how long different walks would be and she ended up giving us a lift so that we could do the portion of the loop that was very scenic while not ending up wrecked. :) And it was a BEAUTIFUL walk. We loved every minute of our stay here and our time in the Ballyvaughan & the Burren. Another great factor about this B&B is that it's not far from the town so we were able to stay here without a car and still have access to the bus stop or a taxi. Check out Monks Pub next door and L'Arco, the Italian restaurant near Quinn's Shop (great crafts shop) in town. Both Monks and L'Arco had delicious food at a very reasonable price. We didn't get to try Hyland's because we didn't see many veggie options on the menu but years ago I ate there and they had delicious food and wonderful service.

Room Tip: Email Kathleen and ask for a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

I stayed at the Oceanville B&B at the beginning of May with my parents and we had a very pleasant experience. The room was quite big, the bathroom was maybe a little bit small but with a very good shower. The greatest thing was the view from our room, we were at the first floor facing the ocean, absolutely amazing! The B&B is less than one minute walk from Monks pub, which serves very good food.

Room Tip: Ask for room at the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

This was our 1st night stay in Ireland. It is a great place to be, it's between Galway and the Cliffs. Kathleen the hostess was wonderful. We had a family room with a beautiful view and breakfast was fabulous. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We stayed at "Katie's Cottage", a self catering cottage on the property of the Oceanvelle B & B. It was a spacious, clean and well stocked 3 bedroom cottage. We even had an outdoor table facing the bay where we ate breakfast each morning. The cottage could be rented for short stays (we stayed 3 nights). Kathleen, the hostess, was pleasant and helpful. We could not habve been happier with our choice.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Oceanville House is within easy walking distance of the small town of Ballyvaughan. It overlooks the water and in a quiet location. Kathleen looked after us very well. Tea & coffee making facilities were provided in the sunroom at the front of the house & there was also a comfortable loungeroom where guests can relax. The B&B is next door to Monk's pub which is convenient for dinner but we were not worried by any noise even though we stayed at the weekend.
We stayed at Oceanville House in order to visit the Cliffs of Moher. Ballyvaughan is only a tiny village so don't think one would want to stay more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

I stayed here one night with my mother - our first night in Ireland. The B&B is right on the water, which makes for a lovely spot to watch the sunset. It is right next to Monk's Pub, where we ate a delicious and huge dinner - something we really needed after taking a red eye flight, then spending all day site-seeing in County Clare. The room was nothing fancy, but it served its purpose. We slept like babies.

Kathleen was incredibly nice. I think we were the only guests the night we stayed, but she put out a full continental buffet and made us Irish Breakfasts, just as if others had been staying there too. Also, the Irish breakfast was delicious - maybe the best I had the whole time I was in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanville House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanville House Bed & Breakfast

Address: Coast Road, Ballyvaughan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Oceanville House Bed & Breakfast Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanville House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.