We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Loclainn's Pub

O'Loclainn's Pub
R477, Ballyvaughan, Ireland
+335 65 7077006
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Ballyvaughan
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Margaret and Owen offered a great experience of a traditional Irish pub with the most extensive range of whisheys available anywhere. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    10
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
santa fe, new mexico
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Go There”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Most friendly host/owner. Beautiful Pub, interesting conversations with fellow customers. great Irish Coffees.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely little nook”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

we dropped in for a look and a quick drink, real 'old mans' pub, it describes itself as a whiskey bar, and there are many many many varieties of whiskey available, the staff knew a lot about any bottle we enquired about. over all the staff were very friendly and very knowledgable about the area, delicious rioja too!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traverse city michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Great little bar in town - wonderful staff and selection. Conversation rules the day in O'Loclainn's

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming pub in a gorgeous location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I've been to this pub couple of times this Summer. It is a fantastic pub. Great charm and personality. It has the old authentic Irish bar feel to it, without indulging the "paddy-whackery" that some venues throw at tourists. The whisky menu is excellent, but so too are the other drinks. I drank red wine. There was a good selection of wines by the glass, poured from big bottles as opposed to serving those cheap, nasty snipes! I drank the MALBEC and it was really good. Others had Guinness and said it was very good also.
Service is excellent - mum and her 2 sons on the nights we were there.
The bar is beautifully maintained inside and out, and the toilets are immaculately clean.
The bar does not open until 8pm, and they do not serve food. This doesn't bother me!!...just a point of information!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Loclainn's Pub also viewed

Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to O'Loclainn's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Loclainn's Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.