We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cappabhaile House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cappabhaile House to your Saves list
Cappabhaile House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Newtown, Ballyvaughan NA, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Ballyvaughan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2006

As a customer service professional, I have prettty high standards. The folks at Cappabhaile house exceeded even my expectations. The building itself is very nice, cozy and clean surrounded by lovely Irish country side. The staff couldn't do enough to help us and tried to anticipate our needs as much as possible. The rooms are bright and spacious, each with an ensuite bathroom and multiple bedding options, hardwood floors and lovely antique furnishings. The breakfasts were excellent, served by wonderful, attentive staff who were quite cheerful and pleasant. Although we arrived early in the morning (before check in time) they sat us down for a nice refreshing breakfast until our room was serviced and allowed us to retire for a nap. What a wonderful change from a typical large hotel chain that only seems to care about payment! If you are looking for real value in a rural environment of county clare, this is it. For me an excellent antidote for the crazy, hectic lives we live is this charming, peaceful home, being served by a genuinely warm staff. Although it is in the countryside, it is relatively central to most of the major attractions on the western coast of Ireland. And even if it isn't convenient to the attraction you are looking for, the hospitality at the Cappabhaile house is an attraction unto itself!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    37
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
108
120
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2006

Lovely Cappabhaile House is my favorite place to stay in all of Ireland. The rooms are spacious, spotless, and splendid, the breakfasts are excellent, and the Fahy family is friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. But the experience of staying at this B and B is different than any other. Cappabhaile House is surrounded by some of the most extraordianry scenery I've ever seen, and the views from every room are worth a good long sit just to take in the beauty of the location. This spring was my fifth stay at Cappabhaile House, and I love it more each time I go. With advice, help, and information from Margaret and Conor, I've spent many happy days walking in the Burren exploring the ancient sites and magical out of the way places that few visitors see. If you're looking to tour by car, by foot, or any other way, you will find advice, books, extensive local knowledge, and, if you're very lucky, a traditional music session by the talented Fahys as well! Your stay will be as unforgettable as mine have been. I am so glad to have discovered this "home" in Ireland where I always feel welcomed. I will continue to return each year for such priceless memories.

Susan Buckingham
Maryland, US

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2005

After recently returning from a most enjoyable holiday in Ireland (despite so much rain) I feel compelled to tell the world about one exceptional bed and breakfast we found on our trip... Cappabhaile House was supreme in a group of 8 Bed and breakfast and 2 Hotels. Everything about this Guesthouse were perfect, the rooms were very large and very comfortable and very nicely furnished.. The breakfast had everything you would wish for and twice as much food as we got in any other place. The owners were wonderful; they made our holiday, we wished we could have stayed longer.. So if you are going to Shannon or Clare, you must go to the Burren which is really wonderful, AND you should stay at this Bed and Breakfast. If it is raining, they have a very large galery which has the most wonderful pictures of the local area showing the flowers, the animals and so many pictures of nice rocks.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2005

We took a break in Ireland last week and found a real Gem of a Bed and Breakfast (3Star Guesthouse)and wish to use your site to spread the message.. We had booked Cappabhaile House on the basis of their web site but my goodness the surprise, the site does not do them justice. The room was way better than most hotels I use and I travel extensively throughout England, the size, the furnishing the bathroom were far superior. The breakfast was outstanding and the service was really very warm and friendly. AND all for only 74euro a night. I will be advising my friend and realtion not to miss this one and readers of this site would be well advised to check it out.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2005

Well done tripadvisor, I have found your service very useful and want to offer what I consider a very useful tip. We took a vacation in the West of Ireland lately and had a particularly great time in the Burren. The main reason for this was our choice of accommodation that being a guesthouse call Cappabhaile House. The rooms were very very big and very well furnished with excellent decoration. In fact every aspect of the Guesthouse was exceptional, the view were great, the breakfasts was more like a banquet and whole surroundings were just so peaceful and pleasant. When we were planning the trip we had certain romantic views of what Ireland might be like and this came closest, the man of the house was a fantastic conversationalist and his wife Margaret was great fun and so very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

Simply the best. Great setting in the Burren. Spacious, well appointed rooms and bathrooms; fabulous breakfasts - a cut above, but still at value price. Best of all though is the warm Clare welcome from Conor and Margaret, very accomodating and helpful. If your lucky you may hear the family play traditional music but if not there is usally great craic in town. We've been there several times and will continue to return.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2005

We are a group of 7 nature lovers who went to Clare for a 4-day trip as bagpackers, trying to find out the best of this region's lovely nature. We spent our last night in Cappabhaile House. What a delightful stay it was !
For sure, we had never seen such spacious rooms, so well furnished, decorated and so clean too. And not to mention breakfast, as if your mother has accompanied you and prepared it herself !
Above all, Conor and Margaret are excellent at making you feel at home, at advising you about what to visit, where to go, and how to get there.
They even managed to find a travel arrangement for us to go back to Shannon Airport, which enabled us to take full advantage of our last day.
They actually took our 7 bags from one place to another, in order for us not to have to come back to the B&B to take them before leaving !!!
That's what I call service ! Enjoy !

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cappabhaile House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappabhaile House

Address: Newtown, Ballyvaughan NA, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cappabhaile House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a large, spacious B&B in the Burren Hills, we offer great rooms and a very extensive breakfast, coupled with peace, quiet and a warm family welcome in a rural environment. We are situated right in the middle of the Burren region, which is a mountainous terrain in North Clare, famous for its flowers, rocks and scenery. The accommodation at Cappabhaile House is unique, with fantastic views of the Burren Hills. We have built on our own 12-acre site, where you can mingle amongst the cattle and take a stroll at your leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cappabhaile House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappabhaile House Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cappabhaile House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.