We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gregans Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gregans Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Gregans Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on the N67, Gragan East, Ballyvaughan 01, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed here in August 2009. This Hotel has a number of drawbacks:
* it has no grounds of its own to walk in.
* it fronts onto a road that is so narrow and in such bad condition that it is dangerous to drive on, never mind walk.
* food is 'over the top' neuvelle cuisine..tiny portions, strange mix of ingredients, etc. No 'ordinary' food options. Very expensive ...€65 per person! As an alternative I can recommended either Vasco in Fanore or Monks in Ballyvaughan.
* one previous reviewer referred to stunning Atlantic views. All I can say is that you need to bring your binoculars if you want to be able to see the sea from the dining room.
* hotel is cold and damp. Musky damp smell ,particularly in the corridors. Heating is totally inadequate. Not surprisingly, the hotel closes between November and March.
* miserable fires. One or two briquettes (Irish form of mechanised peat). sitting in a big empty fireplace. No logs. IN a countrty house Hotel you expect a nice log fire.
* an incredible €14 service charge for breakfast in bed! Staff seemed to be expecting a top on top!

Some good points:

* the room we had was very nice and large.
* easy accesss to the Burren area.
* vary quiet. No TVs' so no blaring TV from room next door, which seems to be the scurge of modern hotels.

Overall, this Hotel is vastly overpriced and that's saying something in Ireland! Sorry, but we wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    49
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
31
171
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Overall a very good experience. Food was excellent and service was very personal and helpful. It is right beside the burrn so the location is fantastic if you want to be away from it all. Only slight issue was the menu on the second night was the same as the first but with two courses removed leaving a choice of three starters and three mains. At over €60 a head excl wine I would expect a bit more variety. However the food was gorgeous and well presented.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

we knew when we booked this place it was very expencive,but we said a four star hotel on the outskirts of lisdoonvarna should be amazing. It wasent. Its not a castle its just a big old house with very narrow walkways and low cellings.When we got to our room i noticed there was no t.v. { i need a t.v} but when i asked about it i was told that televisions spoil the atmosphere. I PAID 470 EURO FOR THE WEEKEND SO I SHOULD GET TO SET WHATEVER ATMOSPHERE I WANT... The bar food stops at 2pm and the diner menu is far too extravigant. cream de le min chou and so on.Whats wrong with regular tried and tested food. I mean have the posh menu if you want but have an alternate menu for normal people. Iv stayed in worse places but for that price you expect a standered that just wasent met, like forteen euro for roomservice is just not acceptable and the open fires what are a nice touch but fill the place with smoke and NO T.V

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

very disappointed..we booked this hotel for our 30th wedding anniversary and found it did not come up to the standard we are used to in 4/5 star hotels.
No lemon for gin and tonics. Food too "twee..neuveau quisine...very pretty but insufficient after a days hard walking.
The hotel smelled very damp and musty along the corridors to our bedroom.
We paid £280.00 per person per night and just didn't feel it was value for money. We had booked a superior room but didn't feel it was particularly superior..unlike the other 4 hotels we stayed at during our visit to Ireland.
The hairdryer provided was about 30 years out of date ..the type that are attached to the room....just in case one wanted to "take"it..and one had to keep a finger on the button whilst drying one's hair.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

An amazing hotel, one of the nicest I've ever stayed in. Arrived to the smell of a peat fire and clam chowder which made my mouth water. Its location is handy for allthe sights of Clare - the Burren, the Aillwee caves, the dolmen, the Cliffs of Moher. Our room was lovely, and the shower amazing although it did steam up the bathroom quite considerably. Had dinner in the hotel - incredibly inventive menu, I'd highly recommend it. Steven Spielberg ate here last week apparently. Spent the evening in the hotel bar by the fire playing Cluedo! Staff were exceptionally courteous and friendly. Ordered breakfast in bed which was a wonderful treat - again the food was incredible. It's an expensive place to stay and luckily we had a voucher to use as part payment. So we'll be saving up again for our next visit. Only one thing I would say, is that it's not exactly a "castle" more like an exceptional country house. But other than that, I wish I was still there!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Room was very nice. The hotel was very comfortable and relaxing. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The food was very good - though there is too much reliance on foams and jellies - also, the menu was identical on consecutive nights which made it a little less interesting for us because we don't eat meat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We drove through the burren and the whole experience was breathtaking as Ireland is got to be one of the most stunning places in the world.The sea, the greenery, etc and when we got to Gregans and I saw the exterior I was absolutely glad that my fiance had picked this place(was my first trip to Ireland and he picked Gregans castle as wanted me to have a great experience) but that didnt last very long.

The reception area was abit deserted and someone popped out from the back office when we arrived. Started off well as we had some drinks served to us (my fiance's parents were with us shortly as they had driven us there ) and all was well till that point.

We went to our room and I must say it was a really good and clean with stunningn views of the burren so no complains.The service at dinner time was great(as the lady serving was the only member of staff that seemed genuinely interested and attentive,and I wish I remember her name).Great food in some fine dining set up.

The one place that holds utmost disssapointment is the corkscrew bar and for such a great place it loses all meaning and value for money as you'd be lucky to get a drink in 30min.absolutely shocking as the staff would walk in and out of the bar counter,look over and see your empty glasses and simply walk away without a bother. And yes that includes the guy who I think was the manager or something!!!! Even more shocking was when we asked one lady (dont know her position as she wasnt in uniform but was sometimes in the reception and restaurant)if we could get a drink and the answer was she didnt handle the bar so would have someone else come serve us(even though she was right there at the bar).Another long wait before the person responsible for the bar finally showed up!!!!!!!

I was so glad to leave the next morning and spend a day out in doonbeg golf club which was amazing and great service.unfortunately later that evening we had to head back to Gregans for the night since we had already booked a two nights stay(big mistake). They asked us what time we wanted to have dinner and since we werent that hungry we asked if we could have a salad or some sandwitches later on but was shocked to be told that wasnt available and the only thing we could have was dessert.Had to pass on that as what an option for someone who wanted something light for dinner???

We decided to hang around the bar there after and for the nearly 2hrs that we were there we only got couple of drinks each and had to literally call for someone to come and attend to us as the staff were either so busy chattiing up with some other preffered guests at the expense of everyone else hoping to be served,or just couldnt be bothered. Looked like an absolute extreme where you either get all the attention or get completely ignored even though you are paying the same exact amount of money.

Time came to leave the next morning and I had nothing to look back and wish for there.Absolute regret coz for the amount you pay for this place, its not worth it at all. At least for us it wasnt and this was just our experience at Gregans.Having breakfast in our room both days wasnt exactly what we had planned for but was by far much better for us than having it at the restaurant and have to endure any further disappointment.You never know if you ever found yourself there you might be one of the lucky ones to get some better service.Good luck!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gregans Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregans Castle Hotel

Address: on the N67, Gragan East, Ballyvaughan 01, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregans Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views across Galway Bay and idyllically situated overlooking the unique Burren landscape, this is the ultimate luxury and gourmet hideaway. Simon and Frederieke manage this oasis of comfort and offer genuine Irish hospitality, award winning innovative cooking and elegant bedrooms free from the intrusion of televisions. Antiques, modern art, turf fires, candlelight and garden flowers add to the indulgently relaxing atmosphere. The ideal location from which to enjoy the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Walking, Cycling, Aran Islands, Horse Riding, Surfing, Sea Angling and Golf. Awards include: Best Country House Award 2013, AA Hotel of the Year 2012, AA 3 Rosettes 2014. Recommended by Andrew Harper, Georgina Campbell, Fodors, Frommers, Alastair Sawday among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Travelocity so you can book your Gregans Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregans Castle Ballyvaughan
Hotel Gregans Castle
Gregans Castle Hotel Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gregans Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.