We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gregans Castle Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gregans Castle Hotel to your Saves list
Gregans Castle Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   on the N67, Gragan East, Ballyvaughan 01, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“I didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

An amazing hotel, one of the nicest I've ever stayed in. Arrived to the smell of a peat fire and clam chowder which made my mouth water. Its location is handy for allthe sights of Clare - the Burren, the Aillwee caves, the dolmen, the Cliffs of Moher. Our room was lovely, and the shower amazing although it did steam up the bathroom quite considerably. Had dinner in the hotel - incredibly inventive menu, I'd highly recommend it. Steven Spielberg ate here last week apparently. Spent the evening in the hotel bar by the fire playing Cluedo! Staff were exceptionally courteous and friendly. Ordered breakfast in bed which was a wonderful treat - again the food was incredible. It's an expensive place to stay and luckily we had a voucher to use as part payment. So we'll be saving up again for our next visit. Only one thing I would say, is that it's not exactly a "castle" more like an exceptional country house. But other than that, I wish I was still there!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    45
    16
    11
    6
See reviews for
29
159
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Room was very nice. The hotel was very comfortable and relaxing. Staff were friendly and accommodating. The food was very good - though there is too much reliance on foams and jellies - also, the menu was identical on consecutive nights which made it a little less interesting for us because we don't eat meat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We drove through the burren and the whole experience was breathtaking as Ireland is got to be one of the most stunning places in the world.The sea, the greenery, etc and when we got to Gregans and I saw the exterior I was absolutely glad that my fiance had picked this place(was my first trip to Ireland and he picked Gregans castle as wanted me to have a great experience) but that didnt last very long.

The reception area was abit deserted and someone popped out from the back office when we arrived. Started off well as we had some drinks served to us (my fiance's parents were with us shortly as they had driven us there ) and all was well till that point.

We went to our room and I must say it was a really good and clean with stunningn views of the burren so no complains.The service at dinner time was great(as the lady serving was the only member of staff that seemed genuinely interested and attentive,and I wish I remember her name).Great food in some fine dining set up.

The one place that holds utmost disssapointment is the corkscrew bar and for such a great place it loses all meaning and value for money as you'd be lucky to get a drink in 30min.absolutely shocking as the staff would walk in and out of the bar counter,look over and see your empty glasses and simply walk away without a bother. And yes that includes the guy who I think was the manager or something!!!! Even more shocking was when we asked one lady (dont know her position as she wasnt in uniform but was sometimes in the reception and restaurant)if we could get a drink and the answer was she didnt handle the bar so would have someone else come serve us(even though she was right there at the bar).Another long wait before the person responsible for the bar finally showed up!!!!!!!

I was so glad to leave the next morning and spend a day out in doonbeg golf club which was amazing and great service.unfortunately later that evening we had to head back to Gregans for the night since we had already booked a two nights stay(big mistake). They asked us what time we wanted to have dinner and since we werent that hungry we asked if we could have a salad or some sandwitches later on but was shocked to be told that wasnt available and the only thing we could have was dessert.Had to pass on that as what an option for someone who wanted something light for dinner???

We decided to hang around the bar there after and for the nearly 2hrs that we were there we only got couple of drinks each and had to literally call for someone to come and attend to us as the staff were either so busy chattiing up with some other preffered guests at the expense of everyone else hoping to be served,or just couldnt be bothered. Looked like an absolute extreme where you either get all the attention or get completely ignored even though you are paying the same exact amount of money.

Time came to leave the next morning and I had nothing to look back and wish for there.Absolute regret coz for the amount you pay for this place, its not worth it at all. At least for us it wasnt and this was just our experience at Gregans.Having breakfast in our room both days wasnt exactly what we had planned for but was by far much better for us than having it at the restaurant and have to endure any further disappointment.You never know if you ever found yourself there you might be one of the lucky ones to get some better service.Good luck!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

If you want somewhere to get away from it all - including TV! - in a beautiful location with outstanding food; this is your place

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Just back from this fantastic hotel. We had an amazing dinner overlooking the Atlantic ocean and went for the tasting menu. Every course was incredible and I am a VERY fussy eater. Thoroughly recommend it for a romantic dinner or if touring in the west of Ireland. The staff were all very friendly and the whole place is absolutely beautiful. Room had lovely 4 poster bed and very quiet and comfortable. Looking forward to the next time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

The staff was very kind and accomodating. The room was perfect, the free breakfast was fresh and great overlooking the burren. This is probably the cutest/nicest/sweetest place I've stayed.

We had a flat tire and they not only put on the spare but gave us very detailed directions on where to get a new tired in the nearest town without us even asking for help. They also mapped out a beautiful tour/drive through the burren.

If you are staying in this area in ireland, i would highly recommend it for its cute and charming factor.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

This was our third time staying at this hotel. We went for the Easter long weekend on every trip, taking advantage of their special offer of 3 night's bed & breakfast plus 2 dinners in their restaurant.

On this trip we stayed in one of the Junior Suites, The Burren Room, and greatly enjoyed having the little sitting room that looked over the gardens.

Everything about this hotel is just wonderful, the staff are friendly, helpful and efficent, the food is magnificent and you couldn't ask for a more beautiful setting than that of the Burren.

The dining room has a breathtaking view, whatever the weather and it's nice to be able to watch the sea in the morning and the falling dusk in the evening.

The breakfast selection is excellent, there are various breads to choose from including croissants as well as fruit, cerals, smoked salmon, meat and cheese all from a buffet. On top of that you can also order hot food such as an Irish breakfast or pancakes. We loved the little touch of having Easter eggs for the guests staying on Sunday morning.

We found the dinners to maintain the same high standard of cooking that the breakfast does. If you are there in the spring, I would totally recommend the lamb on the menu, it tastes so succlent and delicious I was tempted to order it both nights. I also liked that where possible, the ingredients are ordered from producers in the locality.

All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend, there are wood fires to sit next to when the weather is bad and amazing landscape to walk through when the weather is fine. In fact, we were incredibly annoyed that we couldn't go aagain this year due to personal circumstances. The only thing I would mention is that you do need a car to get there and to get around the Burren in general.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gregans Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gregans Castle Hotel

Address: on the N67, Gragan East, Ballyvaughan 01, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Ballyvaughan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ballyvaughan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gregans Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With breathtaking views across Galway Bay and idyllically situated overlooking the unique Burren landscape, this is the ultimate luxury and gourmet hideaway. Simon and Frederieke manage this oasis of comfort and offer genuine Irish hospitality, award winning innovative cooking and elegant bedrooms free from the intrusion of televisions. Antiques, modern art, turf fires, candlelight and garden flowers add to the indulgently relaxing atmosphere. The ideal location from which to enjoy the Burren, Cliffs of Moher, Walking, Cycling, Aran Islands, Horse Riding, Surfing, Sea Angling and Golf. Awards include: Best Country House Award 2013, AA Hotel of the Year 2012, AA 3 Rosettes 2014. Recommended by Andrew Harper, Georgina Campbell, Fodors, Frommers, Alastair Sawday among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Gregans Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregans Castle Ballyvaughan
Hotel Gregans Castle
Gregans Castle Hotel Ballyvaughan, Ireland - The Burren

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gregans Castle Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.