We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tea and Garden Rooms

Tea and Garden Rooms
Pier Road, Ballyvaughan, Ireland
353 65 7077157
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Ballyvaughan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Reservations
Dublin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Maybe we got to this restaurant on a bad day...the food was good but we waited a full hour for any food to be served. Not great when there are three hungry children at the table!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    40
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stephen Spielberg got here first!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Amazing cakes and tea. The setting is just lovely - in a little cottage facing the pier in Ballyvaughan. Sadly Stephen Spielbery had eaten the last of the rapsberry cheesecake before we got there! But there were plenty of other delicious treats.......yumm!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful old style tea room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I had heard the story about a certain Mr Spielberg going out of his way to visit An Fear Gorta for a slice of cheesecake, and I decided no trip to Ballyvaughan would be complete without a pit stop here. And I'm so glad that we did. Walking into the little cottage on the waterfront felt a little bit like stepping back in time. Big old dining room table as you walk in laden down with beautiful cakes and treats, so hard to decide on just one! The big roaring fire on a dark grey day was a welcome sight indeed. Settling in on the sofa with a big pot of tea and a slice of truly delicious baked berry cheesecake, I could have easily stayed there for the whole afternoon! I lovely way to spend a lazy afternoon.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Ballyvaughan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great food & desserts to "die for". We had a Quiche Lorraine special for lunch and it was wonderful. Great staff and good value.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I visited the Tea rooms on the weekend with my mother and sister. What a lovely place. The tea rooms is like a cosy cottage. The staff were so welcoming. Alan was very professional and the reviews don't lie he really does have lovely blue eyes!
The food was delicious, I had a toastie and a big slice of moist carrot cake. Hmmm! We also got to meet the lovely Jane who cooks the food. Everything was so tasty, I bought a jar of the apricot jam (to die for). I am very sad I did not buy a piece of carrot cake to bring home with me. It was really that good.
Cant wait for my next visit. Thanks to all at The Tea and Garden Rooms Ballyvaughan.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tea and Garden Rooms also viewed

Ballyvaughan, The Burren
Ballyvaughan, The Burren
 

Been to Tea and Garden Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tea and Garden Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.