We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burren Birds of Prey Centre

Burren Birds of Prey Centre
Aillwee Cave, Ballyvaughan, Ireland
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: DYNAMIC FLYING DISPLAYS where the visitor can interact and get up close and personal to the birds as they fly overhead and through the audience. A HOME to Eagles, Falcons, Hawks, and Owls from all over the world.EDUCATION into the amazing world of Raptors, their biology, conservation and the ancient art of Falconry.HAWK WALKS which are a once in a life time opportunity to interact with some of nature's top predators. Guided and instructed by experienced Falconers, this hour long 'Walk with a Hawk' through hazel woodland and across Burren limestone pavement is tailor made for anybody seeking a totally unique experience.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“An unexpected gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip around Clare and Galway. We, unexpectedly, spent hours at this location.

The birds of prey centre is awesome. Such good fun, and educational in a great way. I was particularly excited to see a snowy owl that looked like Hedwig from Harry Potter!!!

The demonstrators are so knowledgeable, engaging and entertaining. I really enjoyed the display and would highly recommend.

The farm shop is definitely worth a visit too!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    32
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience for everyone; participation suggested”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Birds of Prey exhibition. Each demonstration will involve different birds of prey; our demonstration included an African eagle, an owl, and a falcon. The handlers were great and the live narrative was informative. The center is doing a great job of rehabilitating animals and releasing them into the wild.

Be prepared to volunteer to get the most from the presentation. The birds will come to you and don't be grossed out by what they are fed; they are predators. This would have been a five-star if there had been a few more birds in the demo.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hawk Walk AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Originally thought Hawk walk was priced a bit steep but after doing it I can't extol it enough. The guide was fantastic. Very friendly and animated. The birds were incredible. Truly a once in a lifetime experience. It doesn't matter if you can't afford the extra cash, get a loan! Delighted with our experience!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We thought the centre was very educational and it was great to get so close to the birds. The presentations were professional and honest. It was good to read basic information about the birds prior to the flying displays. The range of birds to see was also good. Highly recommended and very interactive for all age groups.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went to both of the bird shows and did the hawk walk with my 14 year old and 9 year old. We loved every minute. The Birds of Prey Centre is a great place and all of the staff were very friendly. The bird shows are thoroughly entertaining and educational. The hawk walk is worth every penny and is an experience my kids will never forget. As soon as it was over my daughter wanted to go again. Our guide was James and he was fantastic. Definitely one of the peak experiences on our trip to Ireland. It would be a peak experience on a trip anywhere.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burren Birds of Prey Centre also viewed

Ballyvaughan, The Burren
Doolin, The Burren
 
County Clare, Province of Munster
 

Been to Burren Birds of Prey Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burren Birds of Prey Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.